NCIS : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2003
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 101
  2. Negative: 10 out of 101

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    My review goes out to the whole show this is definitely one of my favorite series it provides a fair amount of dramatic episodes to keep the attention of viewers. the cast all show great acting skills on the portrayal of their characters and there backgrounds and i will definitely carry on watching and would recommend it to all crime drama fans
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Great start to a wonderful show.
    Many of the characters in this series are deeper and more complex than their competition, and offer an almost unlimited direction and scope to grow into.
    Unlike other procedural crime shows, this one mixes the serious and the funny with quirky humor and enlightened gags. Many of the story arcs are short, but they are introducing many others that are proving
    Great start to a wonderful show.
    Many of the characters in this series are deeper and more complex than their competition, and offer an almost unlimited direction and scope to grow into.
    Unlike other procedural crime shows, this one mixes the serious and the funny with quirky humor and enlightened gags.
    Many of the story arcs are short, but they are introducing many others that are proving interesting and should provide viewers some fun.
    The writing is done well, and the acting is even better.
    I would like to see some more of the back-story of some of the leads, and maybe a bit more action; not necessarily shooting or car chases, but more mental or in-depth action.
    Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    I'm completely lost as to why this has such a poor Metascore from critics. It's always interesting, the team have amazing chemistry and I genuinely care about all of the main characters.
  4. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    This program typifies why the "professional" critics should be ignored. They are more interested in satisfying their own egos than honestly reviewing a program. The ratings clearly demonstrate that the viewers know better than the "professionals" as is usual. The only thing regretable is the lack of a more or less permanent "love interest" for Gibbs. There are a lot of interesting twistsThis program typifies why the "professional" critics should be ignored. They are more interested in satisfying their own egos than honestly reviewing a program. The ratings clearly demonstrate that the viewers know better than the "professionals" as is usual. The only thing regretable is the lack of a more or less permanent "love interest" for Gibbs. There are a lot of interesting twists that could be possible with Gibbs dealing with mixed feelings for the lawyer, the madam and the Coast Guard Investigative Service woman. A running gag about "which Abby" left a message would work well. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Entertaining but without any real hook to keep you watching. There's no personal story-lines for the characters. We get a snippet of info at most. No long-term plots. The episode begins and the story is wrapped up by the end.
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    5
    This show is not original, has boring situations, & not the best setting per episode but, you know what makes this show work it's the characters they are just so quirky and fun that it's infectious, the chemistry of the cast they have so much chemistry that you turn that chemistry into pure energy it would have enough power to cause a continental explosion, and the nice but slow characterThis show is not original, has boring situations, & not the best setting per episode but, you know what makes this show work it's the characters they are just so quirky and fun that it's infectious, the chemistry of the cast they have so much chemistry that you turn that chemistry into pure energy it would have enough power to cause a continental explosion, and the nice but slow character development. The characters are also very intricate and extremely strong in personality but, I guess they have to to compensate for the show's bland nature and this show does still bore you in the first 8 min. of an episode though. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2014
    2
    I love, love, love this show but please get rid of Bishop. She is very cute but pulling this show down. She will never make it. I'm not comparing her to Ziva but the poor thing is boring. She will never be a Kate or ZIVA.
  8. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    Entertaining show and a very diverse cast. It is always fun to watch Gibbs to see if he will smack someone in the back of the head and wait for Ziva to mess up some American slang. No real hook from episode to episode so new viewers can catch up quick. Long term viewers stick around for the dynamic between the characters.
  9. CRL
    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    NCIS has everything you could ever want. It's suspenseful and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. The characters are some of the most compelling I've ever seen, each with their own flaws and storylines that are explored at some time or another, and each of the actors fits their role perfectly. The episodes are exciting and (the more serious ones) almost painfully honest. Round that out withNCIS has everything you could ever want. It's suspenseful and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. The characters are some of the most compelling I've ever seen, each with their own flaws and storylines that are explored at some time or another, and each of the actors fits their role perfectly. The episodes are exciting and (the more serious ones) almost painfully honest. Round that out with amazing writing and a great soundtrack, this is one of the best series on TV. //// Season 1 wasn't the best, but it started the show off well and began the formula of drama mixed with humor. It also contains one of my favorite episodes (The Truth is Out There). Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    After ten seasons, this show is still as entertaining as ever!! Whether you're a Kate or a Ziva fan, or if you wish McGee and Abby will ever go out, one thing is for certain - you get pulled into each character's personality!! And Gibbs is the best boss on TV!! Although I have never watched the two-part episode of "JAG" that introduced us to the characters - something I'm going toAfter ten seasons, this show is still as entertaining as ever!! Whether you're a Kate or a Ziva fan, or if you wish McGee and Abby will ever go out, one thing is for certain - you get pulled into each character's personality!! And Gibbs is the best boss on TV!! Although I have never watched the two-part episode of "JAG" that introduced us to the characters - something I'm going to remedy soon - I have seen every episode more than once and I still enjoy it!! I cried when Kate got killed, shocked when Ducky had a heart attack, and laugh at every movie reference Tony makes; I'll never tire of this show!! Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    I am thrilled to give this tv show a 10 out of 10. This show has great cast/character chemistry. To think this was a spin off from the show JAG and has been a successful show for the past 9 years is an astonishing feat. Drama, comedy, suspense and action all rolled into one awesome show. If you love cop dramas with hints of dysfunctional family, then please watch this.
  12. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    Not bad for a cop drama that doesn't remember what happened last episode.
  13. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    I give this show a low score because it is one of many with strong military themes. It also fails to use themes that show how vulnerable the internet is to people who want to create trouble. I had an email bounced back today after it was rejected for no reason by the receiver domain-and when I resent it to a alternate email address I checked the sent copy & there were mistakes in it that II give this show a low score because it is one of many with strong military themes. It also fails to use themes that show how vulnerable the internet is to people who want to create trouble. I had an email bounced back today after it was rejected for no reason by the receiver domain-and when I resent it to a alternate email address I checked the sent copy & there were mistakes in it that I had already corrected...I would call that a problem-it makes you sound like you can't speak your own language. Good Job. In this show I don't like how a 25 year old woman dresses like a 12 year old. In real life that isn't cute. It is the show makers soft selling the ridiculous idea that people are still children in their twenties-an idea backed by quack psychologists everywhere also. There is enough of war in the real world-althogh the show is not about war specifically, it seeks to make war an accepted part of life when it is a last resort. The older pathologist saves the show from being a complete failure. Expand
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Perfectly defined characters with a very interesting take on the actual NCIS agency. FBI agents led under Leroy Jethro Gibbs (Mark Harmon) solve mainly murders that relate to the military. Actors such as David McCallum, Cote DePablo, Michael Weatherly and Pauley Perrette are amongst the cast.
  15. Jun 24, 2014
    4
    The show actually had a rocky start, but the show got better as it aged. A lot of shows are doing that now. Show is somewhat funny and not that all serious
  16. May 19, 2013
    7
    Good show, it's a sequel to the Jag series which I find interesting as well.The show leaves you on edge in just about every episode. The one liners are never expected but make you laugh in times of serious situations. The storyline continues through each episode with small little details in each. The military background makes for more interesting cases. Good theories in each case that haveGood show, it's a sequel to the Jag series which I find interesting as well.The show leaves you on edge in just about every episode. The one liners are never expected but make you laugh in times of serious situations. The storyline continues through each episode with small little details in each. The military background makes for more interesting cases. Good theories in each case that have the average person questioning scenarios. Expand
  17. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I can't believe how badly the Critics review this show. Just the fact that it is very popular in its 11th season proves the show has developed great characters (the only way a scripted show can stay compelling for over 100 episodes). I have watch the whole series up to this point and still thoroughly enjoy watching it. It might not have the deepest plots or grand statements but the II can't believe how badly the Critics review this show. Just the fact that it is very popular in its 11th season proves the show has developed great characters (the only way a scripted show can stay compelling for over 100 episodes). I have watch the whole series up to this point and still thoroughly enjoy watching it. It might not have the deepest plots or grand statements but the I love all of the main characters (past and present). At times it is extremely funny, suspenseful, touching (especially the holiday shows) and always fun. No other show has ever kept me this interested for this long. Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2014
    8
    I've watched this show for a long time and I've always enjoyed it. Even though I'm not an avid follower of it like I was for some other shows (House MD for example) meaning I wait for the new episodes to show and am sure to watch them etc.... but I watch it whenever it's on and even if it's not in order it's enjoyable. I like it and I own a few seasons on DVD. Gibbs is a hardass, Ziva is aI've watched this show for a long time and I've always enjoyed it. Even though I'm not an avid follower of it like I was for some other shows (House MD for example) meaning I wait for the new episodes to show and am sure to watch them etc.... but I watch it whenever it's on and even if it's not in order it's enjoyable. I like it and I own a few seasons on DVD. Gibbs is a hardass, Ziva is a badass, Tony is funny, Abby is great, Ducky is awesome.....all of the characters are pretty amazing. The cases are done well I think and overall it's quite enjoyable.... there are a number of reasons throughout the seasons that prevent me from giving it a ten (errors I've caught, things I didn't like, etc) but I still enjoy it. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    This is a formulaic but fairly competent series with delusions of grandeur.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 3, 2013
    30
    Navy NCIS may not be ghastly, but it's a mutation, gratuitous and clunky. We don't need another criminal investigation show and we don't need another military justice show, and this series is those two, two, two shows in one.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 3, 2013
    50
    Unfortunately for CBS, one tiny flaw slipped into its otherwise masterful plan: The network let JAG's Don Bellisario do the clone-off rather than the folks at CSI. That may not affect the ratings, but in terms of quality, it's a deal breaker.