• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11 , 12
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Mark Harmon, Mark Harmon, Michael Weatherly
  • Summary: From Donald P. Bellisario comes NCIS, a show bringing us the inner workings of the government agency that investigates all crimes involving Navy and Marine Corps personnel, regardless of rank or position. From murder and espionage to terrorism and stolen submarines, these special agentsFrom Donald P. Bellisario comes NCIS, a show bringing us the inner workings of the government agency that investigates all crimes involving Navy and Marine Corps personnel, regardless of rank or position. From murder and espionage to terrorism and stolen submarines, these special agents traverse the globe to investigate all crimes with Navy or Marine Corps ties.

    Leading this team that operates outside of the military chain of command is Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs (Mark Harmon), a skilled investigator and interrogator who is smart, tough and willing to bend the rules to get the job done. Working under Gibbs is Special Agent Tony DiNozzo (Michael Weatherly), a former homicide detective who has instincts that can come only from working on the streets.

    Joining them is Abby Sciuto (Pauley Perrette), a gifted forensics specialist whose dark wit matches her goth-style hair and clothes, and Dr. Donald "Ducky" Mallard (David McCallum), a medical examiner.

    Through season one a new character has been introduced -- special agent Tim McGee (Sean Murray, "The Random Years") whose computer skills will be a very big part of the NCIS team.

    Special Agent Caitlin "Kate" Todd (Sasha Alexander, "Dawson's Creek"), a former United States Secret Service agent, has brought her intelligence and gutsy personality to the team through first 2 seasons, until during her duty in season two finale, when she was murdered by a terrorist.

    In season three, the NCIS team welcomed Mossad Agent Ziva David (Cote de Pablo), who took Kate's place in the team, and the NCIS team got a new director, Jenny Shepard (Lauren Holly). After Holly's departure at the end of Season 5, the position of the NCIS director was taken over by Leon Vance (Rocky Carroll).
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Donald P. Bellisario, Don McGill
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: May 6, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Mar 3, 2013
    80
    NCIS is going to succeed first and foremost because of Harmon. His character is more or less the same quietly confident, genial guy he played when he was Allison Janney's ill-fated love interest on "The West Wing." He's essentially playing himself, and he's very good at it. [23 Sept 2003, p.B02]
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 3, 2013
    70
    It's a competent clone, one that features a promising ensemble cast led by Mark Harmon and David McCallum - that's right folks, Illya Kuryakin from "The Man from U.N.C.L.E." If you have a taste for procedurals and a liking for Harmon's quiet charm, you'll find the show engaging enough. [23 Sept 2003, p.D14]
  3. Reviewed by: Virginia Heffernan
    Mar 3, 2013
    70
    Another well-plotted show by Donald P. Bellisario.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Mar 3, 2013
    50
    You'll never regret missing Navy NCIS if you forget to watch. [23 Sept 2003, p.1F]
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 3, 2013
    50
    Harmon brings a light touch to this schizophrenic show. He's a sensitive cowboy who does his job and then goes home to work on a boat he's building. [23 Sept 2003, p.B1]
  6. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Mar 3, 2013
    40
    Harmon gives the show a serious injection of star power, and David McCallum plays a colorful medical examiner named Donald "Ducky" Mallard -- Bellisario went wacky with the names. This average crime procedural needs Ducky and every bit of personality it can muster. [23 Sept 2003, p.E1]
  7. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Feb 28, 2013
    30
    As slow-witted as its redundant title would have you believe. [22 Sept 2003, p.3]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    My review goes out to the whole show this is definitely one of my favorite series it provides a fair amount of dramatic episodes to keep theMy review goes out to the whole show this is definitely one of my favorite series it provides a fair amount of dramatic episodes to keep the attention of viewers. the cast all show great acting skills on the portrayal of their characters and there backgrounds and i will definitely carry on watching and would recommend it to all crime drama fans Collapse
  2. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    I'm completely lost as to why this has such a poor Metascore from critics. It's always interesting, the team have amazing chemistry and II'm completely lost as to why this has such a poor Metascore from critics. It's always interesting, the team have amazing chemistry and I genuinely care about all of the main characters. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    This program typifies why the "professional" critics should be ignored. They are more interested in satisfying their own egos than honestlyThis program typifies why the "professional" critics should be ignored. They are more interested in satisfying their own egos than honestly reviewing a program. The ratings clearly demonstrate that the viewers know better than the "professionals" as is usual. The only thing regretable is the lack of a more or less permanent "love interest" for Gibbs. There are a lot of interesting twists that could be possible with Gibbs dealing with mixed feelings for the lawyer, the madam and the Coast Guard Investigative Service woman. A running gag about "which Abby" left a message would work well. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    Entertaining show and a very diverse cast. It is always fun to watch Gibbs to see if he will smack someone in the back of the head and waitEntertaining show and a very diverse cast. It is always fun to watch Gibbs to see if he will smack someone in the back of the head and wait for Ziva to mess up some American slang. No real hook from episode to episode so new viewers can catch up quick. Long term viewers stick around for the dynamic between the characters. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    8
    I've watched this show for a long time and I've always enjoyed it. Even though I'm not an avid follower of it like I was for some other showsI've watched this show for a long time and I've always enjoyed it. Even though I'm not an avid follower of it like I was for some other shows (House MD for example) meaning I wait for the new episodes to show and am sure to watch them etc.... but I watch it whenever it's on and even if it's not in order it's enjoyable. I like it and I own a few seasons on DVD. Gibbs is a hardass, Ziva is a badass, Tony is funny, Abby is great, Ducky is awesome.....all of the characters are pretty amazing. The cases are done well I think and overall it's quite enjoyable.... there are a number of reasons throughout the seasons that prevent me from giving it a ten (errors I've caught, things I didn't like, etc) but I still enjoy it. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    I give this show a low score because it is one of many with strong military themes. It also fails to use themes that show how vulnerable theI give this show a low score because it is one of many with strong military themes. It also fails to use themes that show how vulnerable the internet is to people who want to create trouble. I had an email bounced back today after it was rejected for no reason by the receiver domain-and when I resent it to a alternate email address I checked the sent copy & there were mistakes in it that I had already corrected...I would call that a problem-it makes you sound like you can't speak your own language. Good Job. In this show I don't like how a 25 year old woman dresses like a 12 year old. In real life that isn't cute. It is the show makers soft selling the ridiculous idea that people are still children in their twenties-an idea backed by quack psychologists everywhere also. There is enough of war in the real world-althogh the show is not about war specifically, it seeks to make war an accepted part of life when it is a last resort. The older pathologist saves the show from being a complete failure. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2014
    2
    I love, love, love this show but please get rid of Bishop. She is very cute but pulling this show down. She will never make it. I'm notI love, love, love this show but please get rid of Bishop. She is very cute but pulling this show down. She will never make it. I'm not comparing her to Ziva but the poor thing is boring. She will never be a Kate or ZIVA. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers