• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Necessary Roughness Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A newly single mom restarts her career as a sport therapist.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Sins of fathers and mothers not only visit each of the characters, but infest them; the show shimmers with an inner core of volcanic anger that makes it far more interesting than your average family soap.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jun 24, 2011
    75
    Thankfully, Thorne's feisty charm mostly overcomes the show's familiar-feeling concept. [1 Jul 2011, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Thomas
    Jun 29, 2011
    75
    Despite some cliched dialogue and scenes (she tosses her lecherous husband's designer duds and pricey suitcase out their bedroom window--fresh!), her presence is reason enough to watch--and reason enough to hope this series turns out to be something worth watching week after week.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Written by Liz Kruger and Craig Shapiro and directed by Kevin Dowling, Roughness smoothly exploits the winning combination of Thorne--who practically oozes sex appeal, while still conveying an approachable vulnerability--with the macho NFL setting.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 28, 2011
    60
    Like all mothers on TV dramas, Angela starts out annoying. That means we can probably count on her to say something wise at just the moment we least expect it. In the end, though, this is Thorne's show, and she carries the lead well. Now the writers and Dr. Donna have to find enough interesting places she can go.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 29, 2011
    50
    My heart tells me that any show that revolves around an honest-to-goodness native of Commack deserves an A+. My head tells me this one deserves a C.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 28, 2011
    25
    Created by Liz Kruger and Craig Shapiro ("Miami Medical"), the writing is amateurish, the premise as thin as watery gruel, the emotions generally inauthentic, and the cast only minimally engaging.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    I like the lead and have seen her in other things of course. Overall I thought it was good. Some things were forced and that shows me that this is going to get worse, not better, but I can hope. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    5
    While I really like Callie Thorne, I had a lot of trouble with this show. The premise seemed very contrived and the show just does not "work" for me.
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    I was looking forward to this show, because I loved Callie Thorne on "Rescue Me" but after watching the first episode, I'm very "meh" on the whole thing. The show itself isn't that interesting...wow, rich famous people have problems and she helps them...so what? It doesn't have the same comedy as "Royal Pains" which is essentially the same show, except the characters on that show are more likable. I'm going to give it a couple more episodes, and if it doesn't get better, then I'm done. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    Necessary Roughness is a pretty interesting show, but it doesn't seem to steer clear of usual TV and movie story lines. An example being getting divorced and starting a new life. I don't know if there are any people like this, but TK seems like a larger than life character, I don't really think anyone actually acts like that... I agree with the others, Callie Thorne isn't a very good therapist, but I do like how each show has a different case come in. (I'm a huge fan of medical dramas, crime dramas, I've never seen a show where a psychologist solves cases.) Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    I only watched the premiere. The characters were shallow. The acting seemed stiff. The dialogue sounded contrived. The acting was probably stiff because of the lousy writing. There is just so much you do do with a part. These folks have done much better on other shows. Unless the writing team is changed it is hard to imagine this getting better. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    We have to be honest with ourselves here. Yes, we all love Callie Thorne (from Homcide, The Wire, Rescue Me), but the writing on this show is atrocious. And yes, I watch just about every other USA summer show, so I gave it 2 episodes before pulling the plug on this. It's really too bad. If you really need your therapist fix, go for HBO's In Treatment - start with Season 1. And if you want more light USA fare, try Covert Affairs, Suits, or Royals Pains. I know you're already watching Burn Notice, so there's no need to make that argument. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    saw one episode and it was dumb....shameful how they misrepresent poker as all shows do. and ill tell you one more thing i want holyfield, i want holyfield. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews