Neverland

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 4, 2011
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 2, 2011
    60
    A cleverly conceived, at times visually lovely, but criminally long imagining of how Peter became Pan.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 2, 2011
    60
    Neverland, a new prequel to the beloved story of Peter Pan, weaves a complex, often disturbing tale demanding considerably more of its audience than the breezy musical versions.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Dec 2, 2011
    50
    By pulling the curtain back on the magic of Neverland, Willing has stripped all the fun from a marvelous classic.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 2, 2011
    50
    It makes for a mildly enjoyable story and it's probably best not to overthink things.
  5. Reviewed by: John Young
    Nov 30, 2011
    50
    Instead of soaring, Neverland barely hovers.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 2, 2011
    42
    When you spend all your time and energy explaining how the trick works, there's precious little left to entertain the audience.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 5, 2011
    40
    Everything in Neverland is a quest as characters run from one large set piece to another without much character development except in minor strokes that are predictable and rudimentary.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 2, 2011
    40
    Explain it does, at great length but with very little wonder.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 1, 2011
    40
    As constructed, it amounts to a Peter Pan prequel lacquered up with a revisionist space-age paint job.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    I'm not saying this was an instant classic but i really enjoyed this. thought it was wel thought out and awfully fun to watch. a Great lazy day watch.
  2. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    A great two episode miniseries event from SyFy. Striking sets, wonderfully cast. If I had one complain is that it might have benefited fromA great two episode miniseries event from SyFy. Striking sets, wonderfully cast. If I had one complain is that it might have benefited from another two episodes or so... But it's still a series worth looking into. Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is a great show. I' m hoping to see more of this show. I wonder when will peter be flying. That is what i wanna see. It was too bad thatThis is a great show. I' m hoping to see more of this show. I wonder when will peter be flying. That is what i wanna see. It was too bad that one of Peter friend end up dying. Full Review »