Neverland

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 4, 2011
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 1, 2011
    40
    As constructed, it amounts to a Peter Pan prequel lacquered up with a revisionist space-age paint job.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 5, 2011
    40
    Everything in Neverland is a quest as characters run from one large set piece to another without much character development except in minor strokes that are predictable and rudimentary.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 2, 2011
    60
    Neverland, a new prequel to the beloved story of Peter Pan, weaves a complex, often disturbing tale demanding considerably more of its audience than the breezy musical versions.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Dec 2, 2011
    80
    Neverland adds clever new twists to the origin story of Peter Pan and Captain Hook while remaining unpretentiously faithful to the adventurous spirit of the original.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Dec 1, 2011
    75
    The overly blended result may be as much Dickens, Tolkien and J.K. Rowling as it is J.M. Barrie, but it's still an appealing one.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 2, 2011
    42
    When you spend all your time and energy explaining how the trick works, there's precious little left to entertain the audience.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 2, 2011
    50
    It makes for a mildly enjoyable story and it's probably best not to overthink things.
  8. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 2, 2011
    75
    This Victorian-era prequel to Peter Pan works. [12 Dec 2011, p.48]
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 2, 2011
    60
    A cleverly conceived, at times visually lovely, but criminally long imagining of how Peter became Pan.
  10. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Nov 30, 2011
    91
    You can see Neverland as sly philosophical discourse, or you can see it as fantastically produced adventure. Just make sure you see it.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 2, 2011
    40
    Explain it does, at great length but with very little wonder.
  12. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Dec 2, 2011
    70
    The story occasionally gets convoluted, or slightly exhausting....But the cast is so strong that there is always something to marvel at.
  13. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Dec 2, 2011
    50
    By pulling the curtain back on the magic of Neverland, Willing has stripped all the fun from a marvelous classic.
  14. Reviewed by: John Young
    Nov 30, 2011
    50
    Instead of soaring, Neverland barely hovers.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    I'm not saying this was an instant classic but i really enjoyed this. thought it was wel thought out and awfully fun to watch. a Great lazy day watch.
  2. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    A great two episode miniseries event from SyFy. Striking sets, wonderfully cast. If I had one complain is that it might have benefited fromA great two episode miniseries event from SyFy. Striking sets, wonderfully cast. If I had one complain is that it might have benefited from another two episodes or so... But it's still a series worth looking into. Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is a great show. I' m hoping to see more of this show. I wonder when will peter be flying. That is what i wanna see. It was too bad thatThis is a great show. I' m hoping to see more of this show. I wonder when will peter be flying. That is what i wanna see. It was too bad that one of Peter friend end up dying. Full Review »