• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Everything about New Girl, from her goofy costars to the distinctively quirky writing, is irresistible.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 20, 2011
    83
    It's the best new comedy of the fall season, and the only new show I genuinely enjoyed from start to finish, rather than having to squint real hard and try to picture what it might look like once the producers figure out what to do with their stars.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 19, 2011
    88
    Girl sets up a viable premise and introduces a strong set of supporting characters, which is just what you want from fall's most promising new series.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 19, 2011
    83
    Fox seems to be on the right track, though, with a lead character who has ample potential to gawkily bloom and grow.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This fall sitcom is a hit entirely because of Deschanel's performance as Jess. [7 Nov 2011, p.41]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This show is getting better every week since its debut. And when it is good, it is amazing, hilarious, well-acted and well written. The actorThis show is getting better every week since its debut. And when it is good, it is amazing, hilarious, well-acted and well written. The actor that plays Schmidt, Max Greenfield, is proving to be a break-out star. His scenes alone are worth watching the show for. The problem with the show is the cheesy tie-up scene that they always have at the end! Are these cheesy, "adorkable" scenes really necessary? The writers must think so, because week in and week out I am cringing at the ending of this show! Please, New Girl writers, get rid of these cheesy tie up scenes! Then the show would be perfect. Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    1
    I'm a big Deschanel fan, so I really wanted to like this show, but it's a train-wreck. I know Zooey loves the part, but she's so dweeby in NewI'm a big Deschanel fan, so I really wanted to like this show, but it's a train-wreck. I know Zooey loves the part, but she's so dweeby in New Girl, she makes the cast of Big Bang Theory look hip. And I don't mean she's her normal adorably quirky, goofy self---no, her character Jess is such a painfully awkward nerd that it's hard to watch. Worse, the supporting cast doesn't prop her up, because not one of them can act. That actually turns out to be a good thing because it directs attention away from their superficial, one-dimensional characters. For example, there's the sensitive metrosexual d-bag, the personal trainer with 24/7 Tourette's, and finally a recently jilted nice guy with no other interesting qualities... who will certainly propose marriage to Deschanel in the early series finale in season 2 (I'm feeling generous). But all of this might be forgivable if the series was the least bit funny. It isn't. Unless you think teabag and cold nipple jokes are funny when you can see them coming whole minutes in advance. And while you should never expect sitcom characters to model real world behavior, the idea of three macho guys leaving a **** party to cheer up their stood-up roommate by singing song lyrics from Dirty Dancing screams past plausibility into the realm of pure cheese. The writing was so bad, I found myself wishing they had bothered to include a laugh track, just to dupe myself into some sort of amusement. To top it all off, it felt like every scene was pieced together from 30 separate takes, or that chunks were cut from an hour long show to fit a 30 minute time slot. Whether this was the fault of the photography direction or bad editing, there's no telling, but I wouldn't be surprised if the jerky, almost surreal shots were intentional. 1/10 for casting Zooey, but she can't save this show by herself. Full Review »
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After oneyou've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Full Review »