• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 319

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    After a slow start with the first episode, this show quickly became one of my favorites. I watched the first two seasons quite quickly on Netflix, and it's great to see the characters actually grow and change. It's quirky and fun, and quite funny.
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I only watched because I like Ms. Deschanel---rescue her from this inane unfunny mess! An unmitigated disaster on a par with the Titanic, the Hindenburg and BP oil spill.
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A lot of the reviews of this show seem to hinge on where you stand in relation to Zooey Deschanel's unique brand of hipster adorability. Fans of Zooey either love the show because she's so cute in it, or hate the show because her interminable cuteness can't save it from banality. Those who can't stand Zooey Deschanel hate the show because they can't stand Zooey Deschanel. Before watching "New Girl" I was completely ambivalent to Zooey Deschanel, and I still am - this show is successful because of the chemistry between its ensemble cast including Jake Johnson, Max Greenfield and Lamorne Morris as new girl Jess's room-mates. These three provide the comedy, and Jess's adorkability is satirised rather than celebrated. Jake Johnson is hilarious and immensely likeable as Nick, the guy you laugh AT, not WITH; Lamorne Morris's Winston is witty, flawed and endearing, and Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is wickedly funny, a compelling blend of madness and mania: think Tom Cruise when he's jumping on couches or talking about Scientology. Jess is exactly what you expect her to be; an eccentric, creative, doe-eyed, hair-twirling ingénue whom the boys instinctively protect and nurture. Jess sort of mothers them in return, and there are some genuinely heart-warming moments among the four, five if you include the beautiful Hannah Simone as Jess's best friend Cecilia. I actually can't stand Zooey's haircut, and I wish she wouldn't wear so many tiny skirts and high-waisted shorts. I find some of her interactions too eccentric to be credible - at times she seems to go out of her way to be quirky and unconventional - but I did find myself liking Jess, largely because of the way she seemed to electrically charge the group dynamic. Regardless of how you feel about Zooey Deschanel, the best thing about this show is that it's funny. I haven't laughed out loud so much since Arrested Development, and I don't often laugh out loud watching sitcoms. But this is no standard sitcom rehash. It's witty, modern, sharply edited and well paced. It's quality comedy. At the very least, you can't not laugh at Schmidt. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love Zooey Deschanel? This show took a little time to find its footing, but once it did, it turned into a charming comedy with a few laughs here and there. Hopefully people will watch it.
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I have been looking forward to this show for quite some time. And I have to say - it did not disappoint. I enjoyed Zooey immensely, and her interaction with the guys in the cast. I also really enjoyed Hannah Simone's character, and they really underused her in the pilot episode. It has potential, and I'm intrigued to see where they will take it from here.
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    ya i agree with both the low raters.I am a Zooey maniac,but only Zooey cant really pull off such bad writing.But the most important point is zooeys increased quirkiness and cuteness,she is great in the show!coach is pretty decent,but the other two arent much close to funny.Also,it just follows in line with other sitcoms too much.The story is weak and i dont get why men will hate Zooey(maybe 500 days of summer got me too prejudiced).But lets however give the show some time its just the first episode people. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    I'm not a hardcore Zooey fan but I love this show so far. Yes, she is super dorky in this show but after a bit into the pilot it actually started to work. I was actually laughing out loud. The other characters add a nice balance and I'm looking forward to seeing more. I think those who weren't too keen on the pilot should give this show a couple more episodes before they quit it.
  9. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Probably the best new comedy pilot of the season, I like the concept, the leads do a good job and the jokes actually had me laughing! I am definitely rooting for this sitcom!
  10. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Not as good as Raising Hope (which it airs immediately before) or Parks and Recreation (the best show on TV) but it is miles than Glee (which it airs immediately after) and is probably the best new show of the season. Zooey Deschanel is adorable.
  11. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I haven't been this satisfied and entertained by a sitcom in a long time. Its so original and hilarious and well-written, I have watched the pilot episode 4 times and I am still noticing new jokes and am not sick of it. I didn't really like how they wrote Coach's character out on the second episode, but I realize the actor is probably busy filming Happy Endings, I just hope they develop the actor who replaced him better (though I am SO glad they replaced him with a new character, not just used the same character and cast a new actor, but they totally could have with how alike they are). I've seen Zooey in a few things, and I am so glad she is finally starring in her own show, she is so charming and funny, she can really carry the show well. It's about a girl who is going through a breakup and a big change in her life, she's the new girl, so of course its not going to be just basically a show like Curb Your Enthusiasm, where you are basically taking the actor and their real life selves and pasting them into situations. Jess is a character, a funny and original one at that. And I loved some of the supporting characters as well, especially the d-bag Schmidt. Its a person everyone knows, but they are dealing with the character in a fresh and entertaining way. I am so excited to see new episodes, I really look forward to it each week. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    When I heard Zooey Deschanel was doing TV, I was a little bit surprised. She's a pretty successful film actor, although not a true A lister, but I figured I would check out her sitcom as friends told me it reminded them of early How I Met Your Mother. I really liked the first couple seasons of HIMYM (and still watch it just because it gives me something to do on a monday night) but I have to say I think New Girl might even be better. First off, if you're a Zooey fan, this show is a must. She's hilarious, cute, adorable, quirky and geeky and I love it... Jess is awesome. But its not just Jess that makes the show awesome, its the three guys she lives with that really elevate this show. Nick is hilarious, while very damaged in early episodes, now he's like that typical shutoff manly man who doesn't like to show emotions, yet clearly has an emotional side; Nick is highly likeable and quiet funny. Winston gets a little bit less airtime than the rest but is equally funny and plays off Nick and Schmidt really well. Schmidt is hilarious, definitely one of the main reasons to watch this show; he's such a d-bag so often that you just can't help but laugh at his ridiculousness; he's like Barney Stinson, but much more metrosexual and effeminate. Schmidt is definitely the source of a lot of this shows humor. Better than all of them alone though is the interplay between all of them, as well as with Jess's best friend Cece, the five of them play off one another so perfectly they are a perfect ensemble cast and their interplay is definitely the reason why this show is great. Its the way they interact with one another that makes this show so funny. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This show is extremely hilarious, the actors are great, especially Schmidt, who is perfect in his freak-guy part. The plot is getting thicker after each episode, and we are discovering new characters who are added to the series. All in all, I can't wait to see what's coming up !
  14. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Look forward to this show every week. Jess (Zooey Deschanel) is hilarious in her Quarky but cute way that makes her loveable and relateable to everyone. She is surrounded by an awesopme cast. Nick (Jake M. Johnson) is the more negative than the other characters but finds himself liking Jess and possibly more than the others.... The show is hinting the attraction between the two but nothing yet.. Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is an overly **** and a hopeless romantic. He talks a big game but masses things up and thats when you see his true self, which you will love. His romantic intrest is Jess's best friend Cece (Hannah Simone). She is a model and is there for Jess and to pretect her. She cares for Jess but is still a little self involved and is hinting to schmidt that she likes him but just enough to keep his ego high but she keeps him in check. The show is hilarious and is a success in every way!!! New Girl makes the Geek in all of us Proud!! Expand
  15. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I love Fox Tuesday lineup with New Girl followed by Raising Hope. Back to back laugh out loud funny. Way to go Fox, I almost gave up on you after you cancelled Sarah Connors Chronicles.
  16. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    New girl is a show i look forward to watch every week. The characters, specially "Schmitt" are funny and interesting. I am also happy its not a typically (and boring) romance sitcom. This show makes me laugh a lot. I love Zooey and when her happy world collides with the real world view of the others. Its hilarious.
  17. jrb
    Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent writing, quirky, extremely likable characters all add up to a hit led by the talented Zooey. Would any of them survive without the others? I think not. I can see this show being watched in syndication 10-15 years from now and still getting a following. The casts' nerdiness, fragility, and vulnerability and their refusal to admit to it is what makes their story so successful. I look forward to each episode and identify a bit with each. JRB Expand
  18. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favourite new TV series. If you like 30 Rock then you'll love New Girl. The show is witty and fast paced, filled with many short punchy silly jokes.
  19. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    This show is great! The quirky humor throws so many creative curve balls that it just has us bent over laughing. And Zooey Deschanel is just so darned cute!
  20. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i cant wait until the 2nd season because it is so funny i love how she just breaks out into song at any given moment and when i saw her on bones i thought she was so funny and now both very talented sisters have there own show on the same channel makes it even better
  21. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Deschanel's new show is a hit! The interaction among the cast is what makes this comedy so attractive since it premiered. Love the show, love the cheesy moments, love the guys and, of course, love Zoey's Jess Day, an awkward teacher and her irreverent personality which, I think, creates the show's adorable and hilarious atmosphere.
  22. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This is a comedy that's actually funny, something that's kinda hard to accomplish. I'm sure if you watch this show, you'll agree with me. I disagree with the negative reviews!
  23. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    I love this show. I truly can't wait to watch it every week! At times it can be extremely awkward and I feel almost embarrassed to watch it but they do make up for it later! Deschanel is perfect for the part she adds that little extra boost the show needs, but I really wish she would change her hair!!
  24. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. me la veo una y otra vez y no paro de reir me gusta muchisimo son muy divertidos todos los personajes, ademas estan muy actualizados. son muy cheveres Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This show has caught me off guard--completely. The pilot episode was not a WOW factor but when Damon Wayans left and his replacement stepped in things felt more natural and in sync. The whole gang is just hilarious. The acting, the writing and the comedic timing is pitch perfect. Its warm, funny, and Jess is so deliciously adorable---she can wear on you but she her quirkiness and unique individuality is refreshing and charming. I am not easy going when it comes to comedy but this show has stole my attention completely. This show IS the best, for me that is for so many reasons but mostly because it speaks to me. The language of Jess and her very entertaining yet endearing roommates is familiar to me. Kudos to the writers of this show!!!! Expand
  26. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I believe this show is brilliant! I adore Zooey Deschanel, she is absolutely talented and adorable, as well as the other actors... I think there couldn't possibly be a better choice of cast for these roles. Most people hear "New Girl" and they immediately assume that it's a chick flick show but that is not the case It expresses a feeling of friendliness and companionship with spontaneous jokes which can really make your day. There's only one problem... There are not nearly enough episodes. Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    PURE MAGIC Zooey Deschannel is perfect for this show. The humour is simple but yet so funny and memorable one of those shows that needs more recognition...I just love the way it is written and it follows a good story TOP KNOTCH
  28. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. New Girl is a very very funny show. I find my self laughing out loud literally. The break-out star of the show is the character Schmidt played by Max Greenfield he keeps me laughing during the entire show. Also, like the chemistry between characters Nick and Jess. The character Winston is great also I want to see the writers give him more screen time. But over all a good solid show that should stay around very long Expand
  29. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    the show is funny but sometimes i dont understand their joke. but i love the characters. and the show is getting better every week. i love how they built jess and nick's relationship, and love the friendship as well.
  30. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best show currently on air. The way they talk to/argue with eachother is so chaotic and funny. Schmidt is the ultimate loveable douchebag and Winston is just creepy funny.
    Just watch this show and you'll love it!
  31. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    This show is hilarious. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes comedies. Not only is it funny, it's heartwarming, and the characters are likable, and seem real. In a few days, I've already watched over 30 episodes. Watch this show!

    Overall score: 95/100
  32. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This show is hilarious! The superb acting and writing make up for any of this show's faults. I have seen seasons 1-2 and it seems to be getting better and better. I find myself enjoying New Girl more than other highly rated sit-coms like the Big Bang Theory and even Friends. I highly recommend this show to anyone looking for a funny sit-com that reaches and goes beyond the standards of its competition. Expand
  33. May 28, 2014
    9
    New Girl is super funny, quirky, and laugh out loud hilarious! Each character has a unique personality and their interactions with one another are adorable. Zooey's acting really brings the show to life and she is perfect for the role of Jess. It is well-scripted and each episode highlights the different characters. I love New Girl because it listens to what the viewers want. There is some offensive language but it only makes the show more up to date. New Girl has my vote and is definitely worth the watch! Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This fall sitcom is a hit entirely because of Deschanel's performance as Jess. [7 Nov 2011, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.