• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 333

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    I mostly agree with LP68CA about this show. I love Zooey Deschanel, but this was just terrible. The show felt stilted and poorly edited/directed in general. Zooey's character is far too beautiful to be believable as a girl that has a hard time with men. And seriously, that Lord of the Rings crack? Are we back in the 80s where the world is divided into nerds and jocks? We do realize that most guys that love Deschanel do not typically fall into the "jock" category right? The guys are okay in hindsight, but the douchebag one was just plain corny. The only one whose name I remember is Coach, and he was just okay too. Also, why does Douchebag go with the other two to save Zooey at the end? Are two of them not enough? The show just reeks of lazy writing. Everything is cookie-cutter hoping that Zooey's adorability will save the show - but it won't. As great as she is, she's got a terribly unrelatable character to portray with one-dimensional characters to interact with. The 2 points my review grants are for 1) casting Zooey and 2) the douchebag jar - the one good joke. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    I'm sorry I really wanted to like this show. But it is horrible! It's not funny and the guys are just stereotypes of the stupid guys on every other show. I have watched every episode and it is not getting any better. Itâ
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    I've watched two episodes of this show and didn't even laugh once. Normally I enjoy Deschanel but her acting in this show is so.... dull. Her quirkiness is just annoying. I can't even say I enjoyed any of the supporting cast. A bomb if there ever was one.
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    Badly written show with little sense of narrative flow or character development--and, for a so-called comedy, it's surprisingly unfunny. Zooey Deschanel has charm but her two costars (whose names I don't want to bother to learn or remember) are untalented and unattractive shlubs (the actors and the characters they play)--who I think the writers want us to find quirky and charming, as opposed to annoying, shallow, and all-too-familiar. The show seems to be written by and for adolescent boys (ones who don't want to grow up)--like much else on the TV and film landscape. It seems like a terrible waste of Zooey's charm and talents to put her in this tired, forgettable show. I can't believe any professional critics or even amateur reviewers think it's one of the best new shows of the fall. What low expectations they must have! For quirky charm and some actual humor, watch "Raising Hope" or "The Middle." How about no more shows about cute girls living with dweeby boys--or about dweeby boys living with each other?? Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    1
    I'm a big Deschanel fan, so I really wanted to like this show, but it's a train-wreck. I know Zooey loves the part, but she's so dweeby in New Girl, she makes the cast of Big Bang Theory look hip. And I don't mean she's her normal adorably quirky, goofy self---no, her character Jess is such a painfully awkward nerd that it's hard to watch. Worse, the supporting cast doesn't prop her up, because not one of them can act. That actually turns out to be a good thing because it directs attention away from their superficial, one-dimensional characters. For example, there's the sensitive metrosexual d-bag, the personal trainer with 24/7 Tourette's, and finally a recently jilted nice guy with no other interesting qualities... who will certainly propose marriage to Deschanel in the early series finale in season 2 (I'm feeling generous). But all of this might be forgivable if the series was the least bit funny. It isn't. Unless you think teabag and cold nipple jokes are funny when you can see them coming whole minutes in advance. And while you should never expect sitcom characters to model real world behavior, the idea of three macho guys leaving a **** party to cheer up their stood-up roommate by singing song lyrics from Dirty Dancing screams past plausibility into the realm of pure cheese. The writing was so bad, I found myself wishing they had bothered to include a laugh track, just to dupe myself into some sort of amusement. To top it all off, it felt like every scene was pieced together from 30 separate takes, or that chunks were cut from an hour long show to fit a 30 minute time slot. Whether this was the fault of the photography direction or bad editing, there's no telling, but I wouldn't be surprised if the jerky, almost surreal shots were intentional. 1/10 for casting Zooey, but she can't save this show by herself. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    2
    Well, this is just another sad sitcom, and NO Zooey Deschanel is not good enough to make a bad sitcom look descent (she's not Christina Applegate or Julia Louis-Dreyfus). You'd think people would get tired of these "This is how men work, and this is how women work" sitcoms, but apparently they're not.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I forced myself to watch this show once because the girl was so cute in the promos, but after sitting through a full episode I realized the promos were the only thing going for it. The laughs were forced, the characters were cliche and dull. Future episodes will follow a predictable pattern: someone falls in love with someone else, it's awkward, but everyone eventually accepts it. The End.
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    VERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke after joke falls flat while there is little, if any, character development between episodes.
  9. Nov 12, 2012
    1
    This show is simply terrible. After hearing so many good things about this show, I tried it out. I couldn't stand it, but I didn't want to judge it on one episode. I got through half of the season, and it was just unbearable to watch; I couldn't take it anymore. Zooey Deshanel plays the worn out "cute dorky girl" persona -- the same thing she plays in just about every role she's ever been in. The rest of the cast are even worse characters than she is. This show is not funny, it's not witty, and the writing sucks. I would rather watch Jersey Shore. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The show has had some very funny episodes. Unfortunately, the writers decided to hook up Jess and Nick last season. Every episode after that has revolved around their relationship. That horse was beat to death by the 2nd episode of it. The season 3 premiere was so ridiculous that it gave me a headache. In Mexico, Nick decides to shred his passport....so he never has to go back to the U.S.? Beyond stupid and rationality. This one is off the DVR. It'll be showing up on Friday nights soon enough to finish out its punishment to viewers who may or may not have committed egregious sins. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This fall sitcom is a hit entirely because of Deschanel's performance as Jess. [7 Nov 2011, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.