• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 311

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This show is getting better every week since its debut. And when it is good, it is amazing, hilarious, well-acted and well written. The actor that plays Schmidt, Max Greenfield, is proving to be a break-out star. His scenes alone are worth watching the show for. The problem with the show is the cheesy tie-up scene that they always have at the end! Are these cheesy, "adorkable" scenes really necessary? The writers must think so, because week in and week out I am cringing at the ending of this show! Please, New Girl writers, get rid of these cheesy tie up scenes! Then the show would be perfect. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    1
    I'm a big Deschanel fan, so I really wanted to like this show, but it's a train-wreck. I know Zooey loves the part, but she's so dweeby in New Girl, she makes the cast of Big Bang Theory look hip. And I don't mean she's her normal adorably quirky, goofy self---no, her character Jess is such a painfully awkward nerd that it's hard to watch. Worse, the supporting cast doesn't prop her up, because not one of them can act. That actually turns out to be a good thing because it directs attention away from their superficial, one-dimensional characters. For example, there's the sensitive metrosexual d-bag, the personal trainer with 24/7 Tourette's, and finally a recently jilted nice guy with no other interesting qualities... who will certainly propose marriage to Deschanel in the early series finale in season 2 (I'm feeling generous). But all of this might be forgivable if the series was the least bit funny. It isn't. Unless you think teabag and cold nipple jokes are funny when you can see them coming whole minutes in advance. And while you should never expect sitcom characters to model real world behavior, the idea of three macho guys leaving a **** party to cheer up their stood-up roommate by singing song lyrics from Dirty Dancing screams past plausibility into the realm of pure cheese. The writing was so bad, I found myself wishing they had bothered to include a laugh track, just to dupe myself into some sort of amusement. To top it all off, it felt like every scene was pieced together from 30 separate takes, or that chunks were cut from an hour long show to fit a 30 minute time slot. Whether this was the fault of the photography direction or bad editing, there's no telling, but I wouldn't be surprised if the jerky, almost surreal shots were intentional. 1/10 for casting Zooey, but she can't save this show by herself. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I have been looking forward to this show for quite some time. And I have to say - it did not disappoint. I enjoyed Zooey immensely, and her interaction with the guys in the cast. I also really enjoyed Hannah Simone's character, and they really underused her in the pilot episode. It has potential, and I'm intrigued to see where they will take it from here.
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    I mostly agree with LP68CA about this show. I love Zooey Deschanel, but this was just terrible. The show felt stilted and poorly edited/directed in general. Zooey's character is far too beautiful to be believable as a girl that has a hard time with men. And seriously, that Lord of the Rings crack? Are we back in the 80s where the world is divided into nerds and jocks? We do realize that most guys that love Deschanel do not typically fall into the "jock" category right? The guys are okay in hindsight, but the douchebag one was just plain corny. The only one whose name I remember is Coach, and he was just okay too. Also, why does Douchebag go with the other two to save Zooey at the end? Are two of them not enough? The show just reeks of lazy writing. Everything is cookie-cutter hoping that Zooey's adorability will save the show - but it won't. As great as she is, she's got a terribly unrelatable character to portray with one-dimensional characters to interact with. The 2 points my review grants are for 1) casting Zooey and 2) the douchebag jar - the one good joke. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    I've watched two episodes of this show and didn't even laugh once. Normally I enjoy Deschanel but her acting in this show is so.... dull. Her quirkiness is just annoying. I can't even say I enjoyed any of the supporting cast. A bomb if there ever was one.
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    2
    Badly written show with little sense of narrative flow or character development--and, for a so-called comedy, it's surprisingly unfunny. Zooey Deschanel has charm but her two costars (whose names I don't want to bother to learn or remember) are untalented and unattractive shlubs (the actors and the characters they play)--who I think the writers want us to find quirky and charming, as opposed to annoying, shallow, and all-too-familiar. The show seems to be written by and for adolescent boys (ones who don't want to grow up)--like much else on the TV and film landscape. It seems like a terrible waste of Zooey's charm and talents to put her in this tired, forgettable show. I can't believe any professional critics or even amateur reviewers think it's one of the best new shows of the fall. What low expectations they must have! For quirky charm and some actual humor, watch "Raising Hope" or "The Middle." How about no more shows about cute girls living with dweeby boys--or about dweeby boys living with each other?? Collapse
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A lot of the reviews of this show seem to hinge on where you stand in relation to Zooey Deschanel's unique brand of hipster adorability. Fans of Zooey either love the show because she's so cute in it, or hate the show because her interminable cuteness can't save it from banality. Those who can't stand Zooey Deschanel hate the show because they can't stand Zooey Deschanel. Before watching "New Girl" I was completely ambivalent to Zooey Deschanel, and I still am - this show is successful because of the chemistry between its ensemble cast including Jake Johnson, Max Greenfield and Lamorne Morris as new girl Jess's room-mates. These three provide the comedy, and Jess's adorkability is satirised rather than celebrated. Jake Johnson is hilarious and immensely likeable as Nick, the guy you laugh AT, not WITH; Lamorne Morris's Winston is witty, flawed and endearing, and Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is wickedly funny, a compelling blend of madness and mania: think Tom Cruise when he's jumping on couches or talking about Scientology. Jess is exactly what you expect her to be; an eccentric, creative, doe-eyed, hair-twirling ingénue whom the boys instinctively protect and nurture. Jess sort of mothers them in return, and there are some genuinely heart-warming moments among the four, five if you include the beautiful Hannah Simone as Jess's best friend Cecilia. I actually can't stand Zooey's haircut, and I wish she wouldn't wear so many tiny skirts and high-waisted shorts. I find some of her interactions too eccentric to be credible - at times she seems to go out of her way to be quirky and unconventional - but I did find myself liking Jess, largely because of the way she seemed to electrically charge the group dynamic. Regardless of how you feel about Zooey Deschanel, the best thing about this show is that it's funny. I haven't laughed out loud so much since Arrested Development, and I don't often laugh out loud watching sitcoms. But this is no standard sitcom rehash. It's witty, modern, sharply edited and well paced. It's quality comedy. At the very least, you can't not laugh at Schmidt. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    I'm sorry I really wanted to like this show. But it is horrible! It's not funny and the guys are just stereotypes of the stupid guys on every other show. I have watched every episode and it is not getting any better. Itâ
  10. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    As a single het guy who lived with two single het women, platonically, as roommates for three years, I have to say the female character on this show probably has a better deal than I had. It's a great learning experience, and if the show can resist making two of the primary characters hook up, then there are a good many situational opportunities for comedy. I repeat, the secret to this show staying fresh is to not have her fall in love with any of her roommates. As soon as the writers break that rule, the show will get predictable. Also, don't dumb down the male characters, smart men are funny.
    A tentative 6/10 because I'm hoping the arc is on an upward trajectory.
    Expand
  11. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    A few smiles. A few groans. Have the feeling the title character may bug the hell out of me before too long though. But my biggest problem with the pilot was the totally forced "happy" ending. The guys ditching the party to support "the new girl" who'd just been stood up and the lengths they went to cheer her up were completely unearned, story-wise. Up to that point, they mostly just seemed annoyed with her. To sum up, it's another average sitcom pilot that could go either way. Expand
  12. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I only watched because I like Ms. Deschanel---rescue her from this inane unfunny mess! An unmitigated disaster on a par with the Titanic, the Hindenburg and BP oil spill.
  13. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Amazing Zoey , good story , funny and .......Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey ! New girl will be one of the top show in this season . It could go long because it has really funny characters .
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I found it really funny!! Dechanel IS INCREDIBLY FUNNY!! This goofie and innocent kind of comedy is the one that is ruling this days... No need to be dirty o unbelievably potty-mouthed!! And this has really good potential..!! I think this will go far...! I'm sure of it!
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    2
    Well, this is just another sad sitcom, and NO Zooey Deschanel is not good enough to make a bad sitcom look descent (she's not Christina Applegate or Julia Louis-Dreyfus). You'd think people would get tired of these "This is how men work, and this is how women work" sitcoms, but apparently they're not.
  16. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    I'm not a hardcore Zooey fan but I love this show so far. Yes, she is super dorky in this show but after a bit into the pilot it actually started to work. I was actually laughing out loud. The other characters add a nice balance and I'm looking forward to seeing more. I think those who weren't too keen on the pilot should give this show a couple more episodes before they quit it.
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Probably the best new comedy pilot of the season, I like the concept, the leads do a good job and the jokes actually had me laughing! I am definitely rooting for this sitcom!
  18. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    it's an ok show. sadly they replaced the black guy from the pilot, who pretty much owned the scene. but its one of the few 30min shows without stupid background laughter like in every other sitcom. also they picked really beautiful girls, not just zooey
  19. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Not as good as Raising Hope (which it airs immediately before) or Parks and Recreation (the best show on TV) but it is miles than Glee (which it airs immediately after) and is probably the best new show of the season. Zooey Deschanel is adorable.
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    New Girl is a fresh comedy that focuses on the tragedy that is Jess. Jess a young teacher has a bad break up with her boyfriend and the show focuses on her trials and tribulations living with three new male room mates who all provide some great comedic relief. Something the show has done very well is provide a diverse cast who compliment each other well and makes for some great laughs and a few of those awwwwwww moments. Though at times it can lack some substance and plot it is a great show that hopefully will run for a few seasons. Its a strong 8/10 and worth a watch this season. Expand
  21. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I love Fox Tuesday lineup with New Girl followed by Raising Hope. Back to back laugh out loud funny. Way to go Fox, I almost gave up on you after you cancelled Sarah Connors Chronicles.
  22. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Deschanel's new show is a hit! The interaction among the cast is what makes this comedy so attractive since it premiered. Love the show, love the cheesy moments, love the guys and, of course, love Zoey's Jess Day, an awkward teacher and her irreverent personality which, I think, creates the show's adorable and hilarious atmosphere.
  23. Nov 12, 2012
    1
    This show is simply terrible. After hearing so many good things about this show, I tried it out. I couldn't stand it, but I didn't want to judge it on one episode. I got through half of the season, and it was just unbearable to watch; I couldn't take it anymore. Zooey Deshanel plays the worn out "cute dorky girl" persona -- the same thing she plays in just about every role she's ever been in. The rest of the cast are even worse characters than she is. This show is not funny, it's not witty, and the writing sucks. I would rather watch Jersey Shore. Expand
  24. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    After a slow start with the first episode, this show quickly became one of my favorites. I watched the first two seasons quite quickly on Netflix, and it's great to see the characters actually grow and change. It's quirky and fun, and quite funny.
  25. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    All the talk about this show always is about Deschanels, but the truth is her character has more of a supporting role. The real main character is Nick, and Jess (Deschanels) is more like the goofy roomate. It's a pretty standard sitcom, minus the fake laughs (which is a good thing). The happy endings are sometimes forced, and it's not always hilarious, but you always have a smile. Not a great show, but it's ok. Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    Have just split from her long term boyfriend Jess (Zooey Deschanel) answers an internet ad from three guys looking for a new roommate. The opening couple of episodes are passable, doing a good job of introducing the different characters as well as being fairly humorous in places. From then on much of your enjoyment of the show will largely depend on how you feel about Deschanel
  27. May 22, 2012
    7
    The show is good but not great. There are scenes that are great, there are scenes that are too cheesy, there are scenes that are very connective and there are scenes that are too lousy. Zooey Deschanel really did act great in the show, but sometimes she's too goofy. Not the best sitcom, but it's good.
  28. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love Zooey Deschanel? This show took a little time to find its footing, but once it did, it turned into a charming comedy with a few laughs here and there. Hopefully people will watch it.
  29. Dec 15, 2011
    5
    When its not funny its charming but the humor has really waned since the second episode. While the show has promise, its so far lacking direction, and the quirks of the characters have already lost their impact. The show hasn't found its groove yet, and the episodes feel like the writers have writers block, which shouldn't be happening in the first season...
  30. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    New Girl is one of the brightest spots on TV. Zooey Deschanel is utterly charming and completely irresistible! I've truly loved the episodes so far because of the writing, directing, editing, and wonderful supporting cast. Keep up the good work!
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    This fall sitcom is a hit entirely because of Deschanel's performance as Jess. [7 Nov 2011, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.