• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Max Greenfield, Zooey Deschanel, Hannah Simone
  • Summary: After a breakup, Jess Day (Zooey Deschanel) moves into an apartment shared by three single guys named Nick (Jake Johnson), Schmidt (Max Greenfield), and Coach (Damon Wayans Jr.).
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Liz Meriwether, Elizabeth Meriwether
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Everything about New Girl, from her goofy costars to the distinctively quirky writing, is irresistible.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 20, 2011
    83
    It's the best new comedy of the fall season, and the only new show I genuinely enjoyed from start to finish, rather than having to squint real hard and try to picture what it might look like once the producers figure out what to do with their stars.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 20, 2011
    80
    One of the new season's potentially best sitcoms is born.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    New Girl possesses ample energy, even if it almost instantly violates "Seinfeld's" old "No hugging, no learning" rule. Then again, heart is part of its DNA.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.
  6. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Boy, has she pulled the bangs over everyone's eyes with this atrociously cutesy sitcom.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Look forward to this show every week. Jess (Zooey Deschanel) is hilarious in her Quarky but cute way that makes her loveable and relateable toLook forward to this show every week. Jess (Zooey Deschanel) is hilarious in her Quarky but cute way that makes her loveable and relateable to everyone. She is surrounded by an awesopme cast. Nick (Jake M. Johnson) is the more negative than the other characters but finds himself liking Jess and possibly more than the others.... The show is hinting the attraction between the two but nothing yet.. Schmidt (Max Greenfield) is an overly **** and a hopeless romantic. He talks a big game but masses things up and thats when you see his true self, which you will love. His romantic intrest is Jess's best friend Cece (Hannah Simone). She is a model and is there for Jess and to pretect her. She cares for Jess but is still a little self involved and is hinting to schmidt that she likes him but just enough to keep his ego high but she keeps him in check. The show is hilarious and is a success in every way!!! New Girl makes the Geek in all of us Proud!! Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This is one of the few TV shows that makes me laugh out loud, for real. The smart jokes and the just plain goofiness is enchanting. You areThis is one of the few TV shows that makes me laugh out loud, for real. The smart jokes and the just plain goofiness is enchanting. You are hooked with the differences in the characters but the chemistry they all have. The plot is awesome and dynamic, constantly changing without loosing its essence. I recommend it for someone who wants a good show with a good, simple and funny theme. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After oneyou've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Who doesn't love Zooey Deschanel? This show took a little time to find its footing, but once it did, it turned into a charming comedy with aWho doesn't love Zooey Deschanel? This show took a little time to find its footing, but once it did, it turned into a charming comedy with a few laughs here and there. Hopefully people will watch it. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    New Girl is one of the brightest spots on TV. Zooey Deschanel is utterly charming and completely irresistible! I've truly loved the episodesNew Girl is one of the brightest spots on TV. Zooey Deschanel is utterly charming and completely irresistible! I've truly loved the episodes so far because of the writing, directing, editing, and wonderful supporting cast. Keep up the good work! Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    I don't know if 7 is too low but I know I could never rate it lower. I would've given it a 7.5 but you can't really do that. This show isI don't know if 7 is too low but I know I could never rate it lower. I would've given it a 7.5 but you can't really do that. This show is good, not great, despite my rating. I cannot imagine not watching the show, but at the same time it is not the most original show I've ever watched. Schmidt and Jess are the funniest characters in the show and motivate me to tune in every week. This show is not original, but its light-hearted, will make the viewer chuckle, and its cute and quirky. No real complaints other than hope for it to develop a lot more in terms of story, characters, originality and maybe even humour. It has potential to be a great show, and I look forward to more episodes. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    VERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke afterVERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke after joke falls flat while there is little, if any, character development between episodes. Collapse

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.