New Girl : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
New Girl Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a breakup, Jess Day (Zooey Deschanel) moves into an apartment shared by three single guys named Nick (Jake Johnson), Schmidt (Max Greenfield), and Coach (Damon Wayans Jr.).
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Everything about New Girl, from her goofy costars to the distinctively quirky writing, is irresistible.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 20, 2011
    83
    It's the best new comedy of the fall season, and the only new show I genuinely enjoyed from start to finish, rather than having to squint real hard and try to picture what it might look like once the producers figure out what to do with their stars.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 20, 2011
    80
    Viewers will come to see Deschanel but they'll stay for the whole package because smart writing, confident timing and characters that are both familiar yet surprisingly fresh make New Girl the most promising comedy, and one of the most promising shows, of the season.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    New Girl possesses ample energy, even if it almost instantly violates "Seinfeld's" old "No hugging, no learning" rule. Then again, heart is part of its DNA.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.
  6. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Boy, has she pulled the bangs over everyone's eyes with this atrociously cutesy sitcom.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 73
  2. Negative: 10 out of 73
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This show is extremely hilarious, the actors are great, especially Schmidt, who is perfect in his freak-guy part. The plot is getting thickerThis show is extremely hilarious, the actors are great, especially Schmidt, who is perfect in his freak-guy part. The plot is getting thicker after each episode, and we are discovering new characters who are added to the series. All in all, I can't wait to see what's coming up ! Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This is one of the few TV shows that makes me laugh out loud, for real. The smart jokes and the just plain goofiness is enchanting. You areThis is one of the few TV shows that makes me laugh out loud, for real. The smart jokes and the just plain goofiness is enchanting. You are hooked with the differences in the characters but the chemistry they all have. The plot is awesome and dynamic, constantly changing without loosing its essence. I recommend it for someone who wants a good show with a good, simple and funny theme. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After oneyou've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  4. jrb
    Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent writing, quirky, extremely likable characters all add up to a hit led by the talented Zooey. Would any of them survive without theExcellent writing, quirky, extremely likable characters all add up to a hit led by the talented Zooey. Would any of them survive without the others? I think not. I can see this show being watched in syndication 10-15 years from now and still getting a following. The casts' nerdiness, fragility, and vulnerability and their refusal to admit to it is what makes their story so successful. I look forward to each episode and identify a bit with each. JRB Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    The cast are genuinely charming and the scripts are genuinely funny. Although the constant attempts to make the male trio seem jovial andThe cast are genuinely charming and the scripts are genuinely funny. Although the constant attempts to make the male trio seem jovial and laddish start to grate fairly quickly, this is enjoyable and fresh. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    A few smiles. A few groans. Have the feeling the title character may bug the hell out of me before too long though. But my biggest problemA few smiles. A few groans. Have the feeling the title character may bug the hell out of me before too long though. But my biggest problem with the pilot was the totally forced "happy" ending. The guys ditching the party to support "the new girl" who'd just been stood up and the lengths they went to cheer her up were completely unearned, story-wise. Up to that point, they mostly just seemed annoyed with her. To sum up, it's another average sitcom pilot that could go either way. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    VERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke afterVERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke after joke falls flat while there is little, if any, character development between episodes. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 22, 2017
    Is your favorite TV show coming back next season? We survey a variety of industry experts to get the latest renewal odds.
  2. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 10, 2016
    Get the latest renew/cancel predictions for 40 TV shows still on the bubble, including Agent Carter, The X-Files, Elementary, Grimm, iZombie, Nashville, American Crime, and more.
  3. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.