• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
New Girl Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a breakup, Jess Day (Zooey Deschanel) moves into an apartment shared by three single guys named Nick (Jake Johnson), Schmidt (Max Greenfield), and Coach (Damon Wayans Jr.).
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Everything about New Girl, from her goofy costars to the distinctively quirky writing, is irresistible.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 20, 2011
    83
    It's the best new comedy of the fall season, and the only new show I genuinely enjoyed from start to finish, rather than having to squint real hard and try to picture what it might look like once the producers figure out what to do with their stars.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 20, 2011
    80
    One of the new season's potentially best sitcoms is born.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    New Girl possesses ample energy, even if it almost instantly violates "Seinfeld's" old "No hugging, no learning" rule. Then again, heart is part of its DNA.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's funny and cute.
  6. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 31, 2011
    63
    Despite growing out of a plot conceit that involves Craigslist, New Girl--from its characters to the Felix the Cat-like predicaments in which they land--doesn't seem rooted in reality of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Boy, has she pulled the bangs over everyone's eyes with this atrociously cutesy sitcom.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 67
  2. Negative: 11 out of 67
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    you've got to be kidding me. This show is hilarious and strongly character-driven by Zooey. I can't get enough of her quirkiness. After one episode I can tell something special is happening here....I can see Zooey ranked up there with strong female leads such as Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett, and their hasn't been any strong female leads since. Zooey is unstoppable and the 1st episode shows a huge range of comedy that i'm dying to see where she can take this. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This is a comedy that's actually funny, something that's kinda hard to accomplish. I'm sure if you watch this show, you'll agree with me. I disagree with the negative reviews! Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I have been looking forward to this show for quite some time. And I have to say - it did not disappoint. I enjoyed Zooey immensely, and her interaction with the guys in the cast. I also really enjoyed Hannah Simone's character, and they really underused her in the pilot episode. It has potential, and I'm intrigued to see where they will take it from here. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    New Girl is a fresh comedy that focuses on the tragedy that is Jess. Jess a young teacher has a bad break up with her boyfriend and the show focuses on her trials and tribulations living with three new male room mates who all provide some great comedic relief. Something the show has done very well is provide a diverse cast who compliment each other well and makes for some great laughs and a few of those awwwwwww moments. Though at times it can lack some substance and plot it is a great show that hopefully will run for a few seasons. Its a strong 8/10 and worth a watch this season. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Amazing Zoey , good story , funny and .......Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey Amazing Zoey ! New girl will be one of the top show in this season . It could go long because it has really funny characters . Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2012
    6
    Now this is the kind of comedy that was destined to win my heart from the very first watch and it did. The only reason i was excited about watching this show was Zooey Deschannel and didn't quite cared for anything else but i found out how sweet and well written show it turned out. Very funny with sweet, cute moments and Zooey performs amazing, Jess is such a great character. A lovely quirky, goofy and innocent comedy is one the best new TV comedy of 2011 and i am lovin' it. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    VERY disappointing. The characters have absolutely no depth, there is almost zero plot, and the comedy are unoriginal. Attempts of joke after joke falls flat while there is little, if any, character development between episodes. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.