• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 134

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    One of my favorite "spy" shows ever, and the first season is absolutely fantastic. First of all, the cast is fantastic. Maggie Q and Lyndsy Fonseca are both as stunning as they are talented and believable in their dramatic and intense roles. Shane West plays the brooding and conflicted male lead flawlessly as well. The supporting cast fills out the rest of the roles well making the acting in this show, in my opinion, top notch. The way the characters and the plot are developed works well for the show as well. It blends the iterative TV show format with the carry-over format perfectly. The special effects aren't great but it's not a high budget show so I don't hold that against it at all. They do well enough to get by. The only real negative for me was how the season ended. The twists they threw in felt a bit too forced and certain elements just didn't feel genuine. That's the only thing holding this show back from a 10. Great show. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    What a wonderful show! Exciting, intriguing, fun, and so addictive! And I love maggie q here. She is insanely beautiful, and cool- she even does her own stunts. There's amazing chemistry between the cast members, and each actor seems to fall into place so perfectly. This is my second favourite tv show of all time, right after Friends. It definitely explores stronger issues and emotions, but this way, it creates more aspirational feelings than just feel-good humor, not entirely a worse thing. As a female, I find maggie q/nikita a great role model in terms of imparting strength, courage, wits, natural beauty, all traits that can and should change a girl into a woman. Maggie q brings to nikita all the toughness and courage of any man, but demonstrates it with such feminity and grace that is astounding. She does not have to hide behind thick makeup or dumbed down princess-in-a-castle pretence, which is refreshing and greatly welcomed. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    i find it entertaining and enjoyable to watch and it doesn't piss me of like some other series on CW! and for those of you who say it is nothing new, of course it isn't something new it's a remake and i believe it to be better than its predecessors (La Femme Nikita (1990) La Femme Nikita (TV Series 1997–2001) I say give it a shot it will grow on you!
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I'd say that this is the most underrated show on TV ever! I wouldn't even venture on the sexism and racism that I hear online about why the ratings of Nikita don't soar even if it's filled with the best effects, best scenes, and the deepest of human emotions. YES! The best thing about Nikita is how we judge her judgements. Watching the show since it started, it is still the best TV show ever! For me. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Believable acting, great writing, good action, not so much original but better then the others. I compare this to movies like Salt, Columbiana, Hanna because the females are the action stars. However Maggie Q gives the most believablility out of them all. Not only can she act and fight but she is pretty. This show is nothing but in my opinion the best show on TV certainly better then the so-called number one show Breaking Bad. Expand
  6. May 13, 2012
    3
    Note: I'm reviewing the entire series, up to May 2012, rather than just season 1.

    Nikita is in a genre that I enjoy, and as such, I watch it. Unfortunately, it's really bad in terms of plot, acting, writing, and other areas, and relies heavily on "sexiness" for most of its appeal, so I consider it a very "guilty pleasure." (I'm not referring to the sex specifically by that term, so much
    as the quality of the show.) Here's why:

    1) Only one character is at all believable to me: Percy. The actor actually manages to make me forget and think that the guy is really a sociopathic genius. Partly, this is due to the writing of this character, but I attribute it more to the way the actor portrays him--especially since the writing is so bad, elsewhere.
    2) The plot and premise are about as recycled as they can get. Nikita is based on the French film by a similar name, which has had at least 4 remakes in movie and TV format (for a total of 5 extremely similar productions). Not one of the main themes in the show are original, and nearly all of them had become hackneyed before the first episode of this recent series was released. In point of fact, Steig Larsson's famous Millenium series of novels (starting with The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) features an intelligence-agency-gone-rogue called Division that does basically all the same things as the one in Nikita does (but without the fancy training facility). In summary, this series is not only extremely unoriginal, but it's also an especially BAD rendition of unoriginal material and themes.
    3) The acting and script writing are horrible! As above, the characters are entirely unbelievable (with one exception), which means that either the actors are really, really bad, or the writers/director(s) are really, really bad at giving them good impetus (material, coaching ,etc.) to act well. Not a single character in the show, but Percy, gives me the impression that the actor has any comprehension at all of the kind of life that the character lives. They're all far to clean-and-pampered-seeming to be believable--except for those who are supposed to be clean and pampered, who aren't quite clean-and-pampered-seeming enough. It doesn't help that none of them actually know how to aim or shoot a gun (see below).
    4) Rampant, stupid lack of "technical" knowledge. Most TV shows demonstrate a "status quo" of stupidity about just what a computer can do, and how a gun should be handled, but Nikita takes it to a whole new level of stupidity. The main computer hacker of the show uses a graphical user interface (GUI) for basically everything. Most of the real hackers/hardcore programmers (nearly the same thing) I talk to shun GUIs for anything but the sorts of things a layman would use a desktop for: word processing, image editing, etc. People who want to "break" the security of a system--whether to find "holes" to plug or to exploit such holes--spend months discovering and coding exploits, working at privilege elevation, tricking employees, etc. before actually being able to attempt something worth doing. Nikita's hackers and techies routinely do this "on-the-fly" in a way that would make even "script kiddies" feel ashamed for the lack of technical know-how and abundance of pre-made "hacks" that it implies.
    5) Complete lack of knowledge about how gunplay, raids, and related issues "work." Actors (specifically for main characters) are routinely allowed to get away with firing guns that are held so badly that their line of fire would obviously hit the floor before they reached their target--yet the main characters are shown to be amazing shots. Professional gun-combatants routinely "sweep" the muzzle of their weapons at each other, step into each other's line of fire (violating the principle of "fire zones"), step out of cover stupidly (and sometimes get shot for it--about every 10th episode, it seems), etc. Raiding parties typically don't properly cover exits before moving in "half-cocked" unless the main characters are supposed to be "out of luck"--but even so, the attacking force almost always does something stupid in order for the main characters to be able to progress the plot line by escaping. Likewise, when a person clearly holds the advantage--such as holding the enemy at gunpoint--they always do something stupid, like approach within arm's reach when verbally goaded, so the enemy can take the weapon and use it against its most recent owner. That this is so often used to advance the plot is utterly shameful.
    6) Finally, the show suffers from "Stupid Main Character Syndrom." They rarely think (intelligently) before acting, and this is used as a crutch for bad plot writing.

    In short, the show sucks, but since the action is fun, I watch it anyway.
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2012
    10
    Best TV Show ever. It's a great show. The plot is always interesting, the chemistry between the cast is great, and the characters are all likable. This would have to be one of my favorite TV shows.
  8. May 4, 2012
    10
    Best TV show ever. Nikita have a great cast and a great production, and a great history (even being a re-make). Maggie Q, as example, deserves so many awards for her acting, she rocks!
  9. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    This show is in many ways very unique it boast a number of spectacular Film-Quality sets with realistic action that comes forth exponentially only due to the extreme dedication of its crew and quality costume designs although lacking in personal color. The show's true strength lies in its cast acting ability and uncommon chemistry that it it was a gas it would make an explosion of nuclear magnitude. Maggie Q, Shane West, Melinda Clarke, Xander Berkeley, Devon Sawa, Noah Bean, Ashton Holmes, and Tiffany Hines all radiate talent from Shane's intensity, to Lyndsy's depth, to Melinda's Psychological intuition, and Maggie's striking revenge-filled raw power and vulnerability easily noticed through her eyes that cut into you like diamond bladed daggers. This show is much darker and more involved than the past Nikita incarnations and through the this show's dark nature establishes this version of Nikita in a well done way. The show is also very notable for utilizing it guest stars in truly amazing ways and casting truly talented guest stars but, a true disappointment was that that stopped after the show's first season. The fantastic use of the weaponry in the show and the knowledge utilized is just pure greatness. The amazing use of its budget. The clever use of speediness on the show. The only criticisms I have was the casting of Aaron Stanford who doesn't seem to fit his role as Birkhoff a nerd/ego-centric maniac, The extreme shift of the show's premise throughout the show that at the end of the season Nikita became a completely different show entirely, The choice of Nikita's weapon of choice the Walther P99 a truly god-awful gun, Michael's backstory for being a little too pat/done before but that doesn't mean Shane West doesn't play it extremely well with true talent, The lack of recurring characters, The show needs a little more subplots and somewhat stand-alone episodes, and Killing off the characters Thom & Jaden before there time because these characters had true potential for many great storylines. All in All this show is Exceptional and I recommend it to any&everyone. Expand
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Very nice show despite of some technical errors. Nothing really new but interesting story and characters. I'm waiting for season 2!
  11. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    This show is just AWFUL!!!!!!!!! pathetic and booooooriiiiing. The lines, the wardrobe,..The cast !! is horrible, and the bad acting ...?!!! God!! they're imposible to watch. They look like children trying to imitate adults stuff. ( the adults would be the original LFN's cast.). So,please live this story alone! it was already beautifully and perfectly done.... don´t destroy it... Do something new, create...!! WB... be original and don´t be disrespectful with your own products. How you dare to do this with the original show, , LA FEMME NIKITA was an AMAZING series, ahead of its time where everything was perfect and was also precursor and an example and inspiration for many others shows... So why you do this, with this terrible new version??? Shame on you!! LFN is a cult series , should be respected and preserve as one!!! The new "thing " is just a joke. Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Meh, this series is a blatant rip off and insult to the original series (adapted from Besson's darn near incomparable Nikita) La Femme Nikita. LFN was ahead of the times in so many ways and one of the strong points of the series (aside from the insanely good acting, music!!!, deliciously gorgeous clothes, and awesome location sets) was the relationship between Michael and Nikita. LFN took Besson's 'Bob' and made him uber cool and collected, hot as hell with Roy Dupuis' portrayal of Michael. I've seen several episodes of this bastardization and I have to say I am not impressed. I wanted to see it and enjoy it as a reboot, but I'm not convinced of either Maggie Q's performance as a pixie Nikita (really do we believe she can kick butt?) or Shane West's overacting of Michael compared to Roy Dupuis' minimalist and economical Michael. HE had mystery. This 'new' Michael? I can see right through him. The reboots have ZERO chemistry. I laughed at the 'romantic' scenes. Where's Walter? How can you have a series set in that world without the lovable Walter? A humanizing force inside Section. *shakes head* Shame on you, WB, writers, producers, and directors, as well as the idiot who cast the series (must have been smoking something). Fans of the cult hit deserve something better than a cheap knock off. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    This show is nothing more than Warner Brothers remake of the La Femme Nikita TV Show on Cable starring Peta Wilson and Roy Dupuis. If it wasn't they would not have used the characters Michael and Birkhoff who was killed off in our version of La Femme Nikita. Warner Brothers should be ashamed since they created both shows for abusing our version (LFN with Peta Wilson as Nikita). Yes CW is an off shoot of Warner Brothers Studios and yes Warner Brothers had something to do with bringing Nikita to TV. Nothing like Stabbing someone in the Back is there Warner Brothers. Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    I care not to watch it and that is my choosing. No rating or actor/actress will have any influence on my view of this show...I just don't plain like it ok!
  15. May 9, 2011
    8
    My God. I first watched the pilot of Nikita full of promise. With Maggie Q, Shane West, and (the breakout role for) Lyndsy Fonseca leading the cast I had a certain standard that I demanded. Which was for the most part met in the Pilot. But as we went out of the genesis episode (all the way through the holiday break in December) it became more generic and boring at times. But what this show has taught me is to not give up on mediocrity. For when I tuned on the first episode back in January, I felt this little heart beat of confidence I had yet to feel before. With each episode that followed I began to be pulled into the plot lines and story's and really enjoy myself. Then came the second break when the show took off the whole month of March. Now, When it came back in April what do you think happened?... IT WAS EVEN MORE AWESOME! With each episode beginning to take shape into the show I knew Nikita could become. But wait, now its time to get down to business. I mean REALLY get down to business! Last Thursday (May 5th)........ This show completely blew me out of the water! Not only was it the best hour of television Ive seen as of yet on The CW, but the balls this show grew in one week(!) amazed me! It has now become must see TV and has renewed my hope in the network. Those that are not watching but could, are missing-the-hell-out! Jump on this KICK-ASS band wagon before it reaches its final destination! Collapse
  16. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    The pilot episode of Nikita was very entertaining. It was fast-paced, action packed and had a really interesting concept. Perhaps what's most exciting is that I haven't felt this excited about a TV show since the Lost pilot. *UPDATE* As the series has progressed, it's grown in almost every way. The writing is great, the action is brilliant and the whole production makes Nikita one of the most entertaining and intriguing shows in recent memory. Expand
  17. Mar 2, 2011
    0
    I couldn't get the whole way through the pilot and had tuned in thinking I would like it. I run into it here and there but it just does not hold my interest.
  18. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    es una serie que promete al publico mucha acción y drama, es muy buena y entretiene a las personas que buscan algo diferente.
    ademas es una de las mas entretenidas del publico y genera mucha emoción y entretenimiento para distraer al publico en general y disfrutar de sus capítulos día a día puede mejorar en algunas escenas
  19. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Pilot episode was great, but compared to all the newer episodes, it does not live up to it's potential. The whole series - characters, action, story, etc - is amazing! My only criticism that every episode is almost the same thing. Something happens at Division, something happens to Nikita. Alex tells her what Division is doing, Nikita stops them. But it has enough in the middle to drive it to become better. I hope this goes far, I love it! Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Great show. Love the action and storyline. I really like how they're FINALLY allowing an Asian woman play a lead role. Keep up with the awesome work!!
  21. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    It's a great show. The plot is always interesting, the chemistry between the cast is great, and the characters are all likable. This would have to be one of my favorite TV shows.
  22. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    At first i really didn't pay attention to this show (i did record it just to watch it when i was doing nothing) because when i heard about it the story sounded like a lot of other revenge story's.But when I saw the pilot I thought it was one of the best shows i watched in a while. the action scenes are great and its not just random violence either it makes sense and goes with the story. And I love the story and am always shocked and surprised when the twist come and its not like other shows were its Corney or predictable that's another thing i love about this show you just don't know whats going to happen!!! My only complaint is that I think some of the characters could use some more depth but i still like most them and the cast is great!!! So all in all I have to say this is a REALLY EXCELLENT show and i love it and definitely recommend it (except well first you'll have to get caught up because then you wont really see just how awesome this show is if you haven't watched it from the beginning) Expand
  23. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Maggie Q has been nothing short of entertaining. She's no Jack Bauer but she gives enough to make me want to watch another episode. The first few episodes weren't so special but the show has slowly grown into one of the more solid shows on Monday nights.
  24. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    I've followed the USA La Femme Nikita and loved Peta Wilson as Nikita. I had my doubts about the CW Nikita, but I must say, this Nikita is refreshing. The storyline is different and the action sequences are amazing. I love the show and Maggie Q is perfect for the role. I'm definitely looking forward to watching Nikita.
  25. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    I love watching this show. The flashbacks are great. They fill in the storyline perfectly and help you understand why she is doing the things she does. Awesome action scenes. Love watching her take down guys over twice her size. She is so fearless in what she is doing.
  26. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Show has been amazingly average, compared to the Showtime original. Michael lacks any depth, and Nikita is only slightly better. Birchoff lacks the humor of the original series. La Femme Nikita originally was great escapism and had palpable (and a foretelling, in hindsight) storyline. Nikita unfortunately lacks either at the moment.
  27. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Not bad so far, glad to see that we do not have to sit through how Nikita was created again. New angle is nice. It seems the women are the stronger characters these days and that is nice, but at the same time gets old and repetitive. The story has to get stronger as to why I should care about Nikita and Amanda. As of right now, I think the underground organization is pretty cool, and I want it to stick around even though they are not exactly working in the best interest of anyone but themselves. Expand
  28. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    http://tvtastic.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/nikita-the-cw-thursday-900-p-m/ This is the second attempt by American television to bring the French film La Femme Nikita (which was turned into the 1993 American film, Point of No Return starring Bridget Fonda) to the small screen and it is the most ambitious and best written and performed yet. That doesn't mean that it's great or that I love it.

    This is a pretty short review because there's not much to say about it. The premise is exactly what the show description says it is and Maggie Q brings sexy to a whole new level here and the violence and action is on par with the best of any action show of the last decade.

    The plot is pretty compelling, if not that original but the supporting cast is doing nothing for this show except for Nikita's protegé Alex who is a plant in Division to bring it down. The only problem with Alex is the ridiculously convoluted way that she was able to infiltrate Division to begin with.

    It's very well shot and is pretty visually stunning and I'm actually pretty impressed with the music arrangement.

    At the end of the day, it's a decent show but I'm not sure how much patience audiences will have for it but I expect to personally give it until at least mid-season.

    http://tvtastic.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/nikita-the-cw-thursday-900-p-m/
    Expand
  29. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    i mean COME ON! this is formulaic drivel of the highest order and im sick of people saying "it's an easy watch and i just need to relax when i get home blah blah blah" this is absolute crap! This follows the same old play, purpose built off the production line to fog our brains and turn us all into happy apathetic drones. They roll 'em out year on year for our amusement - GIVE US SOMETHING NEW EXITING AND THOUGHT PROVOKING!! Rubicon sits on the face of Nikita! Expand
  30. Sep 18, 2010
    7
    As an action show goes, it delivers. As a sexy show goes, it delivers.
    To me, it's basically a female variation of the Bourne series with some twists.
    It's too early to see how the show pans out, but if they plan their stories right, it might work.
  31. Sep 18, 2010
    6
    The pilot episode left me thinking as to whether this show can really keep up or has the potential to stay or go . Judging by the performances, I say it's a long shot . I seemed more interested at staring at young Lyndsey Fonseca & the ever-stunning drop-dead-gorgeous Maggie Q who looks perfect for the " Nikita " role . The writing could be better & not to mention character development as well as both are essential for this show to get better received & improve on ratings . Expand
  32. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    I think the season holds promise. Bit of a slow start and not sure what was happening and who was who, although at the end it is made clear, based on the end I can say there might be a chance it will go for maybe 3 seasons? Any longer than that it might be dragged out. I've only watched the first episode about to watch the second maybe that will improve the rating. The reason for the 8 out of 10 is im not sure if
    the season will go the distance, only time will tell.

    Definitely worth a watch to see for yourself as its getting very mixed reviews all proving excellent points.
    Expand
  33. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    Nothing new, nothing awesome, but still a perfectly enjoyable show. I enjoy the plot lines and the action, but it's nothing too substantial. I wish Nikita was more of a complex character, not written as any other generic female assassin. The characters and backstories create an interesting structure, but it's starting to be cliche with the whole Michael/Nikita relationship. Right now, this series only has potential. In later seasons, it can be potentially good or potentially bad. In my opinion, character development is essential for the future of this series. Nikita needs to be more unique, and Michael just needs to be totally rewritten to give him some depth. As of right now, I enjoy the show, but I don't think it's going to have a big life span if it follows its current direction. Expand
  34. Sep 15, 2010
    3
    This is just plain bad. All the usual lazy clichés and conventions of this type of program. Nothing new , no new twist or angle. Still reading so many positive reviews of such an obviously bad program is a good way of figuring out, whose opinions not to listen to.
  35. Sep 13, 2010
    4
    Meh, the season premiere was ok but its no Alias. It may develop further in the season but they need to give us characters we actually care about. All the kung fu and guns is pretty meaninless without strong characters.
  36. Sep 13, 2010
    7
    Much more fun and involved than I thought it would be. I pictured a cross between Le Femme NIkita and The Dollhouse, but this should be able to stand on its own. Maggie Q is great, and I like the twist of jumping into the story after she's extricated herself from the system and following her partner in crime through the "school" portion of things. One episode down - I'll keep watching.
  37. Sep 13, 2010
    4
    This show didn't catch my attention and I failed to watch the entire episode. I can't say if it's because it's a bad show. I have watched it because of all the talking around it but I know that I'm not a huge fan of that kind of show. So maybe it's not that bad and this show deserves better than a 4 but for me, according to my tastes in tv, it doesn't worth better than 4. But maybe I will change my mind because sometimes you need to watch several episodes to be addicted to a show.... so we'll wait and see... Expand
  38. Sep 11, 2010
    0
    I want to go less than "0", but I can't. I have to say that at least she is trying, Maggie is trying, she does look like a skeleton out from a closet with a pretty face, does not convince me at all that she can actually hold a gun, or kick some big guy ass, but like I said she is trying. But Michael, oh my gosh... this guys is just awful... how is he acting at all, he talks to much for a spy, he make so many awful expressions. They are supposed to be the best of the best, and they still get catch by surprise!! I miss so much Peta and Roy, she was gorgeous and in great shape, and Roy was a man you want to see on TV. This other guy is like that annoying dude you said hi as a courtesy and just keep talking... I just wanted to scream, shut up dude...please shut up...!! Hope does not get to far, and they actually create a good version of this popular series. Expand
  39. Sep 10, 2010
    5
    I'm inclined to agree with Slate's review. I also thought the pilot episode was characterized by a weak script and a frantic effort to establish the backgrounds of all the principal players ASAP. The ambivalent relationship between Nikita and her former mentor and now pursuer is ludicrous.
  40. Sep 10, 2010
    5
    It was nice to see Nikita, Michael, Birkoff, Amanda (Madeline 2.0), the underground complex and the rest of spy/assassin paraphernalia once again, but the pilot was more than a bit underwhelming. I could somehow tolerate the usual casting of only unnaturally beautiful people but the idea to have Nikita as an outsider openly fighting against her amoral organisation as and foiling their plans is to miss the point completely. Nikita is meant to struggle, fail, suffer but never give up trying, ie. to be human even as a part of a dehumanizing machine. This way she is more like every other TV hero from Jack Bauer to Sydney Bristow. Let's hope they ditch the tiresome moralising and Fighting-for-Our Country crap and get into "La Femme Nikita" style ludicrousness with levels, Oversights, Towers, Adrians, rampant AIs, child telepaths, multilayered power-plays for world domination and quadruple crosses. You know, all-in silliness. With cool assassinations. And crying while listening to French soft pop. Expand
  41. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    I was AMAZED. The pilot kept me at the edge of my seat!
    The acting was great (overall) and the twists were entertaining. I did not feel at all like the scripts need more comedy in them.
    I look forward for the next episode!
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 50
    The CW remake isn't awful, by any means. The pilot rushes ahead nicely, with a twist at the end that gestures toward many possible future plotlines. But we've seen the whole thing many times before.
  2. Nikita is a breakthrough for teen-happy CW, its riskiest show yet--one aimed at adults. It's one they might enjoy.
  3. 80
    Putting aside for a moment questions about whether it signifies the imminent collapse of Western civilization and even the human reproductive impulse, this version of Nikita can still provide a rollicking, if slightly psychotic, good time.