Nikita : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Nikita Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based partly on the French film that spawned an American remake and the USA cable series La Femme Nikita, CW's version begins with the ex-assassin having escaped from the secret government agency known only as The Division a few years ago. She returns from hiding to seek revenge and helpBased partly on the French film that spawned an American remake and the USA cable series La Femme Nikita, CW's version begins with the ex-assassin having escaped from the secret government agency known only as The Division a few years ago. She returns from hiding to seek revenge and help those still within the agency. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 100
    The show promises to be sexy fun. [6 Sep 2010, p.47]
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Pretty much all a fan (or critic) could ask of a cult series remake is this: Does the newbie measure up? Based on all available evidence--the 42-minute premiere--the answer is yes.
  3. "Fun" hasn't been a big part of her job description, but she may have found some of it here.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    70
    Nikita is good, but it's not transcendent.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Wallenstein
    60
    The pilot comes across top-heavy with exposition and flashbacks that lay out a dense backstory. While a rich mythology typically is mandatory for an espionage series to attract a cult following, it could prove a barrier to entry when piled too high at the beginning.
  6. 50
    The CW remake isn't awful, by any means. The pilot rushes ahead nicely, with a twist at the end that gestures toward many possible future plotlines. But we've seen the whole thing many times before.
  7. 12
    Nikita is just another bland spy drama, an excuse to put women in skimpy outfits--Alias without a heart, Chuck without the sense of humor, and Covert Affairs without the good casting.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Nikita series, was the first that made me fully entertained and willing to meet new series, the unfolding of the plot brings a naturalness andNikita series, was the first that made me fully entertained and willing to meet new series, the unfolding of the plot brings a naturalness and emotion out of the ordinary.
    The story does not stop, there is a lot of action and quality.
    A perfect beginning and a perfect end.
    Especially Maggie q actress, performing his role very well, doing something that is hard to happen, I hope for the good side of the story.
    Nikita is a series that even not having much hearing, has great quality
    Nikita series, was the first that made me fully entertained and willing to meet new series, the unfolding of the plot brings a naturalness and emotion out of the ordinary.
    The story does not stop, there is a lot of action and quality.
    A perfect beginning and a perfect end.
    Especially Maggie q actress, performing his role very well, doing something that is hard to happen, I hope for the good side of the story.
    Nikita is a series that even not having much hearing, has great quality
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    es una serie que promete al publico mucha acción y drama, es muy buena y entretiene a las personas que buscan algo diferente.es una serie que promete al publico mucha acción y drama, es muy buena y entretiene a las personas que buscan algo diferente.
    ademas es una de las mas entretenidas del publico y genera mucha emoción y entretenimiento para distraer al publico en general y disfrutar de sus capítulos día a día puede mejorar en algunas escenas
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Believable acting, great writing, good action, not so much original but better then the others. I compare this to movies like Salt,Believable acting, great writing, good action, not so much original but better then the others. I compare this to movies like Salt, Columbiana, Hanna because the females are the action stars. However Maggie Q gives the most believablility out of them all. Not only can she act and fight but she is pretty. This show is nothing but in my opinion the best show on TV certainly better then the so-called number one show Breaking Bad. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    This show is in many ways very unique it boast a number of spectacular Film-Quality sets with realistic action that comes forth exponentiallyThis show is in many ways very unique it boast a number of spectacular Film-Quality sets with realistic action that comes forth exponentially only due to the extreme dedication of its crew and quality costume designs although lacking in personal color. The show's true strength lies in its cast acting ability and uncommon chemistry that it it was a gas it would make an explosion of nuclear magnitude. Maggie Q, Shane West, Melinda Clarke, Xander Berkeley, Devon Sawa, Noah Bean, Ashton Holmes, and Tiffany Hines all radiate talent from Shane's intensity, to Lyndsy's depth, to Melinda's Psychological intuition, and Maggie's striking revenge-filled raw power and vulnerability easily noticed through her eyes that cut into you like diamond bladed daggers. This show is much darker and more involved than the past Nikita incarnations and through the this show's dark nature establishes this version of Nikita in a well done way. The show is also very notable for utilizing it guest stars in truly amazing ways and casting truly talented guest stars but, a true disappointment was that that stopped after the show's first season. The fantastic use of the weaponry in the show and the knowledge utilized is just pure greatness. The amazing use of its budget. The clever use of speediness on the show. The only criticisms I have was the casting of Aaron Stanford who doesn't seem to fit his role as Birkhoff a nerd/ego-centric maniac, The extreme shift of the show's premise throughout the show that at the end of the season Nikita became a completely different show entirely, The choice of Nikita's weapon of choice the Walther P99 a truly god-awful gun, Michael's backstory for being a little too pat/done before but that doesn't mean Shane West doesn't play it extremely well with true talent, The lack of recurring characters, The show needs a little more subplots and somewhat stand-alone episodes, and Killing off the characters Thom & Jaden before there time because these characters had true potential for many great storylines. All in All this show is Exceptional and I recommend it to any&everyone. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    Nothing new, nothing awesome, but still a perfectly enjoyable show. I enjoy the plot lines and the action, but it's nothing too substantial. INothing new, nothing awesome, but still a perfectly enjoyable show. I enjoy the plot lines and the action, but it's nothing too substantial. I wish Nikita was more of a complex character, not written as any other generic female assassin. The characters and backstories create an interesting structure, but it's starting to be cliche with the whole Michael/Nikita relationship. Right now, this series only has potential. In later seasons, it can be potentially good or potentially bad. In my opinion, character development is essential for the future of this series. Nikita needs to be more unique, and Michael just needs to be totally rewritten to give him some depth. As of right now, I enjoy the show, but I don't think it's going to have a big life span if it follows its current direction. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    Show has been amazingly average, compared to the Showtime original. Michael lacks any depth, and Nikita is only slightly better. BirchoffShow has been amazingly average, compared to the Showtime original. Michael lacks any depth, and Nikita is only slightly better. Birchoff lacks the humor of the original series. La Femme Nikita originally was great escapism and had palpable (and a foretelling, in hindsight) storyline. Nikita unfortunately lacks either at the moment. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    i mean COME ON! this is formulaic drivel of the highest order and im sick of people saying "it's an easy watch and i just need to relax when ii mean COME ON! this is formulaic drivel of the highest order and im sick of people saying "it's an easy watch and i just need to relax when i get home blah blah blah" this is absolute crap! This follows the same old play, purpose built off the production line to fog our brains and turn us all into happy apathetic drones. They roll 'em out year on year for our amusement - GIVE US SOMETHING NEW EXITING AND THOUGHT PROVOKING!! Rubicon sits on the face of Nikita! Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.