• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Nikita Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based partly on the French film that spawned an American remake and the USA cable series La Femme Nikita, CW's version begins with the ex-assassin having escaped from the secret government agency known only as The Division a few years ago. She returns from hiding to seek revenge and helpBased partly on the French film that spawned an American remake and the USA cable series La Femme Nikita, CW's version begins with the ex-assassin having escaped from the secret government agency known only as The Division a few years ago. She returns from hiding to seek revenge and help those still within the agency. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 100
    The show promises to be sexy fun. [6 Sep 2010, p.47]
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Pretty much all a fan (or critic) could ask of a cult series remake is this: Does the newbie measure up? Based on all available evidence--the 42-minute premiere--the answer is yes.
  3. "Fun" hasn't been a big part of her job description, but she may have found some of it here.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    70
    Nikita is good, but it's not transcendent.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Wallenstein
    60
    The pilot comes across top-heavy with exposition and flashbacks that lay out a dense backstory. While a rich mythology typically is mandatory for an espionage series to attract a cult following, it could prove a barrier to entry when piled too high at the beginning.
  6. 50
    The CW remake isn't awful, by any means. The pilot rushes ahead nicely, with a twist at the end that gestures toward many possible future plotlines. But we've seen the whole thing many times before.
  7. 12
    Nikita is just another bland spy drama, an excuse to put women in skimpy outfits--Alias without a heart, Chuck without the sense of humor, and Covert Affairs without the good casting.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I'd say that this is the most underrated show on TV ever! I wouldn't even venture on the sexism and racism that I hear online about why theI'd say that this is the most underrated show on TV ever! I wouldn't even venture on the sexism and racism that I hear online about why the ratings of Nikita don't soar even if it's filled with the best effects, best scenes, and the deepest of human emotions. YES! The best thing about Nikita is how we judge her judgements. Watching the show since it started, it is still the best TV show ever! For me. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    What a wonderful show! Exciting, intriguing, fun, and so addictive! And I love maggie q here. She is insanely beautiful, and cool- she evenWhat a wonderful show! Exciting, intriguing, fun, and so addictive! And I love maggie q here. She is insanely beautiful, and cool- she even does her own stunts. There's amazing chemistry between the cast members, and each actor seems to fall into place so perfectly. This is my second favourite tv show of all time, right after Friends. It definitely explores stronger issues and emotions, but this way, it creates more aspirational feelings than just feel-good humor, not entirely a worse thing. As a female, I find maggie q/nikita a great role model in terms of imparting strength, courage, wits, natural beauty, all traits that can and should change a girl into a woman. Maggie q brings to nikita all the toughness and courage of any man, but demonstrates it with such feminity and grace that is astounding. She does not have to hide behind thick makeup or dumbed down princess-in-a-castle pretence, which is refreshing and greatly welcomed. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Maggie Q has been nothing short of entertaining. She's no Jack Bauer but she gives enough to make me want to watch another episode. The firstMaggie Q has been nothing short of entertaining. She's no Jack Bauer but she gives enough to make me want to watch another episode. The first few episodes weren't so special but the show has slowly grown into one of the more solid shows on Monday nights. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Not bad so far, glad to see that we do not have to sit through how Nikita was created again. New angle is nice. It seems the women are theNot bad so far, glad to see that we do not have to sit through how Nikita was created again. New angle is nice. It seems the women are the stronger characters these days and that is nice, but at the same time gets old and repetitive. The story has to get stronger as to why I should care about Nikita and Amanda. As of right now, I think the underground organization is pretty cool, and I want it to stick around even though they are not exactly working in the best interest of anyone but themselves. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2010
    6
    The pilot episode left me thinking as to whether this show can really keep up or has the potential to stay or go . Judging by theThe pilot episode left me thinking as to whether this show can really keep up or has the potential to stay or go . Judging by the performances, I say it's a long shot . I seemed more interested at staring at young Lyndsey Fonseca & the ever-stunning drop-dead-gorgeous Maggie Q who looks perfect for the " Nikita " role . The writing could be better & not to mention character development as well as both are essential for this show to get better received & improve on ratings . Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2010
    4
    Meh, the season premiere was ok but its no Alias. It may develop further in the season but they need to give us characters we actually careMeh, the season premiere was ok but its no Alias. It may develop further in the season but they need to give us characters we actually care about. All the kung fu and guns is pretty meaninless without strong characters. Collapse
  7. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    i mean COME ON! this is formulaic drivel of the highest order and im sick of people saying "it's an easy watch and i just need to relax when ii mean COME ON! this is formulaic drivel of the highest order and im sick of people saying "it's an easy watch and i just need to relax when i get home blah blah blah" this is absolute crap! This follows the same old play, purpose built off the production line to fog our brains and turn us all into happy apathetic drones. They roll 'em out year on year for our amusement - GIVE US SOMETHING NEW EXITING AND THOUGHT PROVOKING!! Rubicon sits on the face of Nikita! Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.