No Ordinary Family : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2010
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    What I have become tired of in today's shows are these "surprise/secret" shows that string out a plot over 20 episodes. I like a show that has a premise and explains a fair amount so that I can get connected right away. "No Ordinary Family" has proved that surprises should be let out of the bag. Michael Chiklis is great and his supporting cast is believable and cute. This show should growWhat I have become tired of in today's shows are these "surprise/secret" shows that string out a plot over 20 episodes. I like a show that has a premise and explains a fair amount so that I can get connected right away. "No Ordinary Family" has proved that surprises should be let out of the bag. Michael Chiklis is great and his supporting cast is believable and cute. This show should grow into extraordinary as it seems the family is ready to move on from crying about their dysfunctional relationships to fighting crime together as a functional team. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    well from what i have watched so far i have found this an interesting series definitely not the best series on TV but i like it. the character development has gone well so and the plots are satisfactory and i will be watching the rest of the season
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very enjoyable show. It would be hard to make this a drama, comedy, action thriller in one hour to please a large audience of children, teens, adults and seniors all at the same time. Every show would fail if it tried to do that. The balances what it can between all characters, but the pilot focused on the parents. Though what is getting annoying is the "Crash" phenomenon where one event and all its characters are related in some fashion. Mainly the wife's characters boss with his nefarious plot. Really, cant it be some foreign government or activist group or even a high school club with evil intentions. Hopefully the story will broaden out a bit. The effects are pretty good. The one fight scene continued beyond what was necessary, but was enjoyable. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I have to say that the only problem I have with this show is the pacing, I could stand to see it pick it up a bit. Other than that the cast works well together, and they are believable as a family. The super powers are pretty cool, and I am looking forward to them to digging in a little more and fleshing out the characters abilities. There have already been a couple of instances where II have to say that the only problem I have with this show is the pacing, I could stand to see it pick it up a bit. Other than that the cast works well together, and they are believable as a family. The super powers are pretty cool, and I am looking forward to them to digging in a little more and fleshing out the characters abilities. There have already been a couple of instances where I wish the husband and wife had fought as a couple, and I think it was a passed opportunity. I really think this is a show worth watching. Collapse
  5. Nov 6, 2010
    7
    A great story with mostly realistic characters and a likable story. No Ordinary Family is a great comedy, but its problem is when it tries to become serious or intense, it's best as a comedy. This show is almost like ABCs version of The Incredibles, overall its a great show that many will enjoy.
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    OK, it doesn't show promise of being the greatest thing on television, but I have found each episode fully engaging, and have not turned off the TV before the end of any one of them. This is actually a relatively rare threshold for me, since I have too much to do, and have had for years. I always liked Chiklis, so I was interested to just see how his show went. I surprised myself byOK, it doesn't show promise of being the greatest thing on television, but I have found each episode fully engaging, and have not turned off the TV before the end of any one of them. This is actually a relatively rare threshold for me, since I have too much to do, and have had for years. I always liked Chiklis, so I was interested to just see how his show went. I surprised myself by enjoying him but also Benz and Malco. Enough nattering, though: The acting really is very good, the plotting could use a bit of work but is generally well-paced. The direction needs even more work, the limited shooting until the most recent couple episodes was so claustrophobic one would wonder whether the setting was a big city or a town with a school, police station and 5 houses. The scripts are uneven, but generally solid. I'm not going to bother with spoilers, but the dialog can stretch credulity, particularly the parts assigned to the kids. I'll grant that a telepath and an emotionally immature super-genius are difficult to write for, but hey, that's why we watch it on tv, because we couldn't do better work ourselves. I'm going to rate relatively high based on the many high points, and to a small extent, the cleverness of the concept. It is very difficult to break new ground with superhero stories, but this one carries it off reasonably well. Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    Let's give this show a chance for character development. I think of it as a sci-fi show. Like all good shows it takes time to get to know the people. They need to do more mystery or cliff hangers. We need some family shows where we are fighting the bad guys with out having to make politically correct statements. This is a new kind of super hero show where the people have realLet's give this show a chance for character development. I think of it as a sci-fi show. Like all good shows it takes time to get to know the people. They need to do more mystery or cliff hangers. We need some family shows where we are fighting the bad guys with out having to make politically correct statements. This is a new kind of super hero show where the people have real vulnerability with out running around in a cape. Expand
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    I'll give this show an honest 8. For those of you who mentioned it, yes, the show has had slow points. It wasn't so much that the episodes were bad though. The fact is that people want an early payout whereas this series enjoyed it's time in a process of building. Now, at the end of the season there are so many character and powers showing up, who couldn't love this show. ,
  9. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    One thing that bothers me is that good shows are brought on T.V and then many would rather watch shows like Dancing reality T.V. The cast and story brought imagination, wth a bit of suspense, humor, with a touch of romance. Even brought a few times that you wanted to hit the T.V. I will be heart broken if this show doesn't return to T.V. I usually don't sit and watch, but this show hasOne thing that bothers me is that good shows are brought on T.V and then many would rather watch shows like Dancing reality T.V. The cast and story brought imagination, wth a bit of suspense, humor, with a touch of romance. Even brought a few times that you wanted to hit the T.V. I will be heart broken if this show doesn't return to T.V. I usually don't sit and watch, but this show has brought my family in front of the T.V. and gave us entertainment that I believe people need to get away from reality for the hour it is presented on air. Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a great show im am completely addicted to it i dont get why they end it wit loads of questions with loads to answer.would abc read all this to see how well the shw is doin or even tv sites would they check them Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Kris King
    63
    The pilot offers up the promising and the bland in about equal measure. With its accomplished adult cast, and writers from Chuck and Smallville, the show could go on to make for a pretty fun adventure series, but the looming threat of boring teenage gloom and the hints of a convoluted plot involving Stephanie Powell's sinister employer could sink whatever potential there is.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    50
    Family is a trifle--part comic book, part kids' show--that is perfectly pleasant but without edge, bite or dramatic heft. With Chiklis aboard, it's like witnessing a concert pianist execute an elaborate version of "Chopsticks."
  3. The show's premise has enormous potential--it's essentially a live-action version of "The Incredibles," about a family that gains superpowers--but Tuesday's premiere disappoints with its slow-moving plot and whiny characters.