Notes from the Underbelly : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 12, 2007
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 10 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DominiqueL
    Apr 26, 2007
    3
    This less than mediocre sitcom has a very narrow target audience; very likely, the show even insults the target audience with one dimensional characters and boring script. It's not terrible, but I definitely won't be watching it again.
  2. RobU
    Apr 26, 2007
    1
    The only thing I could imagine that would be more embarrassing than liking this show is being a man and liking this show. Look, my wife is pregnant RIGHT NOW, and I can tell you that every joke in Notes from the Underbelly is based on the most tired of cliches, cliches that might be funny if they had any factual merit. This will no doubt be cancelled in a heartbeat, and good riddance. I The only thing I could imagine that would be more embarrassing than liking this show is being a man and liking this show. Look, my wife is pregnant RIGHT NOW, and I can tell you that every joke in Notes from the Underbelly is based on the most tired of cliches, cliches that might be funny if they had any factual merit. This will no doubt be cancelled in a heartbeat, and good riddance. I gave it a "1" because Rachael Harris is a funny woman who deserves better. Expand
  3. RaisaJ
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    ugh... dreadful. The writing is so dull and cliche. Insulting to the type of people it portrays even. This should be cancelled immediately
  4. BillR
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    Fire Stacy Traub, Barry Sonnenfeld, Kim Tannenbaum and Eric Tannenbaum... all the executive producers. This is one of the worst most uncomfortable sitcoms ever. Peter Cambor and Jennifer Westfeldt are the most miserable, unbelievable TV couples ever... they make me sick
  5. RobertF
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    Absolute crap - who could think this obvious junk is funny? Read the NY Time's review if you disagree with me.
  6. Doug
    May 31, 2007
    0
    Absolute trash.
  7. frankr
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    OMG, I wanted to kill myself.
  8. darak
    Apr 28, 2007
    0
    You can not blame the actors for this garbage -- this is a failure of writing. It's been a long, long time since I've seen anything this bad. It's not that the subject matter doesn't interest me -- I've given birth to two children -- it's that there isn't one fleshed-out character in the entire cast. Combine that with jokes that are so hacky you feel You can not blame the actors for this garbage -- this is a failure of writing. It's been a long, long time since I've seen anything this bad. It's not that the subject matter doesn't interest me -- I've given birth to two children -- it's that there isn't one fleshed-out character in the entire cast. Combine that with jokes that are so hacky you feel like you've been transported to a single-camera vision of 1972, and you wind up wondering how screwed up the network development process must be that this is what makes it through the gauntlet to air. "Hi -- my wife hasn't had sex with me in so long. Even though I appear to be gay and mismatched with her, I want her so bad that I run out of a meeting with clients, only to find out that yikes, as you might have guessed from the artless way it was foreshadowed -- there's no parking on my block!" Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. 75
    "Underbelly" has got some good, (no - I won't say "belly") laughs, but you've got to wonder what happens if the show's a success.
  2. "Notes" feel[s] like a number of other sitcoms about couples who hail from Mars and Venus, respectively, and adds little to the discussion beyond stretch marks.
  3. It's another one of those dismissable, disposable, oh-so-slight comedies.