• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 8, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 15, 2013
    80
    Sunday’s opening of season five proves again that Falco makes this show, primarily by connecting all the passageways between comedy and tragedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 12, 2013
    80
    It’s honest, credible, trustworthy storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    Emotionally, the show's been downward-spiraling for so long, it needs a break from all the bleakness. But the introductions of two new doctors should pep things up. [12 Apr 2013, p.69]
  4. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    70
    Falco is such a nuanced actress she could elicit tears from a blank script. Anna Deavere Smith (as her boss) provides some challenge but most of the other actors are pushovers. Chestnut's addition could give her the resistance she needs.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Recovery won't be easy, but so far it's an enjoyably bumpy ride.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 11, 2013
    63
    The ensemble remains perfect, but the show's matter-of-fact crispness has been dulled. [22 Apr 2013, p.46]
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    It's a good, but not great season of Jackie, that is a step down from the tremendous season four. We focus on Jackie's sobriety. But we'reIt's a good, but not great season of Jackie, that is a step down from the tremendous season four. We focus on Jackie's sobriety. But we're introduced to lousy new characters (Carrie) while great ones (O'Hara) go away. The finale is pretty great, but nothing happens for episodes at a time. I'll definitely keep watching in season six. Full Review »