• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 8, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Nurse Jackie Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A look at the life of an tough, imperfect, but caring New York head nurse (Edie Falco).
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    Once you get past the premiere, series are often a crapshoot. But Showtime made all 12 episodes available for preview, and through that run, the energy never flags and the performances get deeper and richer.
  2. 88
    The half-hour format is perfect for this deftly directed program, which is character-based storytelling concentrated to espresso strength.
  3. Falco's simply magnificent in a role that exploits a certain no-nonsense quality she's always brought to even the nonsensical aspects of her characters.
  4. A splendid new addition to pay-cable's stock of dark comedies that keep a human heart beating behind the laughs.
  5. The show’s writers and producers may be trying to force-feed her to us as the health-care equivalent of the whore with a heart of gold. But Ms. Falco manages to shake off clichés and attract us to her for reasons never referred to in the script.
  6. At times, there's a dangerous undercurrent of anti-sentimentality, a risk of sentimentalizing curmudgeonliness itself. But for all these flaws, I still found the series excitingly ambitious--funny, sexy, strange.
  7. 60
    For all of its charms, Nurse Jackie needs to offer a little more than an enigmatic nurse and a parade of clever grouches.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. JimW.
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    A wonderful mix of comedy & drama. Falco is razor sharp with her portrayal of an overworked, yet skillful ER nurse. Showtime hits this one A wonderful mix of comedy & drama. Falco is razor sharp with her portrayal of an overworked, yet skillful ER nurse. Showtime hits this one out of the park! Expand
  2. JennS
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I think the casting in this show is brilliant! The story line and the characters are complex and interesting. I cannot wait until next season.
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Superb, funny, compelling stuff. Addictive too!Superb, funny, compelling stuff. Addictive too! . Expand
  4. dianaa
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    Edie falco is great.
  5. IgnorantDick
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Edie Falco is terrific, and the supporting characters are well-developed from the start.
  6. Richard
    Jun 30, 2009
    2
    I've now watched 5 episodes of 'Nurse Jackie' and my review is as follows. This is an idea put into place without a plan. With I've now watched 5 episodes of 'Nurse Jackie' and my review is as follows. This is an idea put into place without a plan. With an average of 2 laugh's per episode, it is not a comedy. With no compelling medical cases, it's not a drama. It goes without saying it was never meant to be an action thriller. Which leaves us with what lies on the surface. A show of despair with no characters we can relate to, no character we would choose to spend time with, and certainly no character we ever hope to see as care givers. I see no value to this show, entertainment or otherwise. I'm done with it. Collapse
  7. Ed2
    Jul 6, 2009
    0
    I am shocked that so many people like this show. The writing is despicably bad - my friends and I were literally howling at how I am shocked that so many people like this show. The writing is despicably bad - my friends and I were literally howling at how (unintentionally) bad it was. The writing is like, so OBVIOUS, just trying _so hard_ to be cool (and have you seen the theme song/intro? My lord!) but comes up painfully short. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.