• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 6, 2012
    80
    Producer Terence Wrong once again delivers fast-paced, narration-free, riveting footage, thanks to video crews who spent four months, unescorted and unhindered, with hospital personnel and patients at crisis points in their lives.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Jul 6, 2012
    100
    There are funny moments and heartbreaking ones on this fascinating docuseries. [13 Jul 2012, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 9, 2012
    80
    NY Med is a surprisingly addictive medical docu-series, fascinating as much in form as it is in function. The third in a series of similarly-themed programs prod
  4. 80
    NY Med is filled with warm, honest moments--some poignant, others comic--and characters who would be plenty compelling even if they didn't keep revealing surprising new sides.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 9, 2012
    100
    Beautiful and often moving.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    75
    Chances are, it will make you cry even more often than it makes you laugh, but it will rarely bore you.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 9, 2012
    70
    [Dr. Oz's presence is not] fatal to the enjoyment provided by the eight hours of NY Med, and we can also forgive the familiar situations and stock characters.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 16, 2012
    10
    Fantastic show and i have watched a lot of medical shows especially here in Australia but this show has something special. It is nice to see a personal side of those that work there rather than just all the patients but also love Dr Oz. Shame there is only 8 episodes. Don't know why some of the american shows only have very small seasons. Take the chance you will love it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    I Saw this show on ABC and it is definitely one of the year's tv shows in a year of REALLY bad television, there are great ones and this is it, Mehmet Oz is a great heart surgeon and a one hell of talk show host and now reality show start, it is moving, heart warming and pure fun, this is a classic for television to come, like somebody said it best, this is reality tv done right, we had the great escape and now this

    Great show.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    I've been in a few home/work/car accidents and ER's in my time and yet never have I seen such activity as what is portreyed in this show. I mean do they really chatter about, look for boyfriends and gossip as such in a place of employment, especially in a hospital ER? Even KFC would fire your ass for such fraternization. Maybe this NYC ER is really like this... if so, I wont be visiting that place anytime soon. At least I hope not. Full Review »