• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2009
  • Season #: 1
NYC Prep Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.4

Overwhelming dislike- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bravo takes the concept of "Gossip Girl" and follows the lives of a real group of private high school kids in New York City.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Underneath it, we also see kids. Yes, rich kids, but also insecure kids coping with the universal dramas of teenagers. That may be the most engaging part of NYC Prep.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    58
    Yes, cliches about wealth and privilege abound and are confirmed, or perhaps further embedded....But NYC Prep is so eager to establish a kinship with "Gossip Girl" that it's forgotten to tell much of a story.
  3. 40
    NYC Prep is the reality version of "Gossip Girl" for those who take "Gossip Girl" a little too seriously--and don't mind that real prep school kids are far less witty and fascinating than the scripted ones.
  4. 40
    If only these little dears were fascinating, or at least more interesting than they are on the first installment. From the looks of the previews at the end of the hour, things will be heating up in future episodes, and the first might be viewed as a scene-setting preface to battles, tattles and conspiracies to come.
  5. Viewers are treated to the spectacle of teenagers who can freely roam New York unsupervised by parents or teachers, tethered, by their own volition, to the strict rules and unyielding cliches of a Bravo reality show.
  6. Thanks to a collection of well-off New York adolescents whose parents really should have known better, the NBC Universal-owned cable network's out to convince us that those kids from "Gossip Girl" are real. As if anyone would want them to be.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    The main problem with NYC Prep is that the show never gets better than its title--lacking the sociological insight to score as a documentary or the hyper-real situations and "characters" that would make it sizzle as a soap.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. JessaT
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    I find it interesting. Since I am a teenager also growing up in a large city, I feel that I can relate to many of the characters. And I have I find it interesting. Since I am a teenager also growing up in a large city, I feel that I can relate to many of the characters. And I have to say, even though it might be a disappointment to some, the show is very realistic. These teens lead the same fake and pressured lives that many of us private school kids do. Some of them actually handle it quite well. Expand
  2. DReisch
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    Of course this show is trash, just like all of the "reality" Bravo puts on. The deliciousness is in how much you hate the characters. You Of course this show is trash, just like all of the "reality" Bravo puts on. The deliciousness is in how much you hate the characters. You might give the kids a 0, but you can't stop watching. Expand
  3. LolaB
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    If you think about it, it's pretty incredible this show even exists... What kind of parent would let their child participate in this? In If you think about it, it's pretty incredible this show even exists... What kind of parent would let their child participate in this? In a few years, once they've gone to college, seen a bit of the world outside their little pods, all the participating kids are going to feel really ashamed and pathetic. Other than that, it is pretty hilarious to watch and mock them. Collapse
  4. JunoM
    Jun 23, 2009
    0
    Um.....so bravo again shows us more people who are rich. This show is extremely shallow and superficial and portray priveliged kids as Um.....so bravo again shows us more people who are rich. This show is extremely shallow and superficial and portray priveliged kids as snobby, spoiled(of course), unrelatable, inside out ice cold, ordinary, snobs, narcissistic, and extremely unlikeable. They act as if the world revolves around them which some kids do think that but I'm sure there's some rick kids out there in new York who can actually think on a different, open-minded point-of-view. I watched the show and I wanted to find them and take a bat to their knees. I never really saw many commercials cause I don't usually watch this channel I just hear about all the housewives and their riches and I watched the reunion since nothing else was on and this showed up. I thought why not, it was a pretty horrible experience but not the worst. Never again will I watch it, even with low expectations I was suicidal after viewing. I don't need to see bratty kids who have become totally dependent on the better things in life but will not appreciate them or see how they fill out all the stereotypes people may think about rich kids. I laugh when they say how they are practically adults because they go to fashion shows and party and drink, that's just being a worthless scumbag. Expand
  5. AnnaH
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    Why don't they make a show that can relate to the other 95% of the population?
  6. JeffW
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    What is it about shallow, dumb, spoiled, vain kids who use Mommy and Daddy's credit card that is so appealing to watch? It's not What is it about shallow, dumb, spoiled, vain kids who use Mommy and Daddy's credit card that is so appealing to watch? It's not funny, it's not entertaining... it's just incredibly painful to watch a bunch of spoiled, self-centered kids talking s**t about each other and thinking they are better than everyone else because their parents make a lot of money. This show is ABSOLUTE TRASH. Expand
  7. Facepalm
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    An endless parade of wasted American genetic material. Excerpts from this show will probably make their way into Al-Qaeda training videos.

See all 11 User Reviews