Off the Map : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2011
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    A better title for this show should be ''Not Another Hospital Drama''. The lines are repetitive, the story is predictable and the geographical descriptions inaccurate. The title ''Off the Map" states that every place south of the United States is indubitably â
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    3
    Kind of torn on this. The show is workmanlike and the acting adequate but for some reason the first episode at least felt kind of like "Grey's Of The Jungle" with each of the young doctors - the "new shipment" having a deep dark secret reason for being there. I cna even draw parallels between some of the characters and a similar character on "Grey's Anatomy" - Mina has a lot of ChristinaKind of torn on this. The show is workmanlike and the acting adequate but for some reason the first episode at least felt kind of like "Grey's Of The Jungle" with each of the young doctors - the "new shipment" having a deep dark secret reason for being there. I cna even draw parallels between some of the characters and a similar character on "Grey's Anatomy" - Mina has a lot of Christina about her and Lilly reminds me of Meredith. The actors are adequate given what they're given to work with. There are lots of nit-picky things that I could say about the show but the one that I'm still trying to figure out is why anyone would go to work in a clinic in South America without even a rudimentary knowledge of Spanish (or Portugese in Brazil), and why anyone would hire them for that sort of job without knowing that they could speak even a little Spanish. Other than that it is a pretty typical Shonda Rhimes series and I assume that in due course some of the characters will be sleeping with other characters. That's fine but its been done before and Shonda knows that because she's one of the ones who has done it before. Expand
  3. meb
    Mar 12, 2011
    0
    This is probably the worst show ever. It assumes that South America is a Jungle, that Quechua is not a language but an indigenous group (Too bad that neither Perú, nor Bolivia or Ecuador look anything like Hawaii, and it is painfully obvious this was filmed there), that all Spanish Speakers sound like they are speaking a second language (in this case they are, and in veryThis is probably the worst show ever. It assumes that South America is a Jungle, that Quechua is not a language but an indigenous group (Too bad that neither Perú, nor Bolivia or Ecuador look anything like Hawaii, and it is painfully obvious this was filmed there), that all Spanish Speakers sound like they are speaking a second language (in this case they are, and in very different accents) I remembered a particularly delirious episode of Frasier in which Argentina was portrayed as a beach party (Cancun like), but that was a comedy and that portrayal, done with a wink, worked there. It does not work here. In fact, it is highly offensive in this context. I am appalled by the ignorance of people who are ready to accept this portrayal of South America at face value. Are we really that ignorant? The love affair with pseudoscience is also present here (as it is in Private Practice) and it is just as ridiculous. I have watched the first 9 episodes in total disbelief. Personally, I feel insulted by this show. I find no redeeming features in it, and the most that I can hope for is its early cancellation. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 20, 2011
    75
    This enjoyable series from the Grey's Anatomy team is sort of Doctors Without Borders--who are also without too many clothes. [24 Jan 2011, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Mikey O'Connell
    Jan 13, 2011
    50
    OTM doesn't immediately grab us the way "Grey's" or "Private Practice" did--though the latter did suffer an admittedly rocky start. This probably has a lot to do with the fact that there seems to be a bit of an identity crisis happening here.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 12, 2011
    50
    So what we have here is another show in which pretty, mildly tortured people perform deeds of medical derring-do while trying to figure out how they, and various parts of their individual anatomies, might fit together.