• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2013
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 24, 2013
    38
    Wonderland grabs elements from the Lewis Carroll classic, throwing them down a rabbit hole and lets them land willy-nilly. [28 Oct 2013, p.42]
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 9, 2013
    30
    In “Once Upon a Time,” the multiple time streams were clever at first but proliferated to a point of wearying confusion. Wonderland skips straight to bewilderment.
  3. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Oct 10, 2013
    30
    The main storyline isn't strong enough and the incongruous peripheral elements just confuse rather than engage the viewer.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting,Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting, unique premise with a good storyline. I am so sick and tired of generic comedies, singing shows, and the unfathomable amount of crime series. Wonderland is unique and brings to life a world we learned about during our childhood. I hope that ABC will keep this show running and not crawl back to the generic boring crap most networks put on. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. LoveThis show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. Love the fact they put another disney character from a whole different show in it! Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    I like Once upon a time, and I'm a 28 YO White male. I think OUAT has some interesting remakes of popular characters and I like seeing whereI like Once upon a time, and I'm a 28 YO White male. I think OUAT has some interesting remakes of popular characters and I like seeing where they go, even if the episodes sometimes drag.

    This... felt weird. Right from the start. Perhaps that is fitting for a tale about Wonderland and Alice, but, I think it might have lost me, and I give pilot episodes a LOT of leeway and drift.

    Here's what's up acting, actually relatively decent. They have a great actor from Britain (previously on Being Human) as the Knave of Hearts, and honestly I only found his part's to be entertaining.

    The entire romantic storyline was so shoddely put together that it felt terrible. It was forced, and it was so briefly introduced. They really could have skipped it entirely except for references to "a genie, or him" and come up with better motives for Alice going into Wonderland. And... what time period are we in? Alice's father seems like he dresses for the early 1900's or 1800's but then the Knave is in modern day storybrooke? Uh... what?

    The story's internal consistency there leaves a LOT to be desired. The main female actor is frankly terrible. her dialogue is even worse. When are these writers going to start giving these actor's lines that any decently intelligent human can't see coming miles away?

    Action scenes? hah, well other than being classically awful in the few we had, the cgi also looked really cheap. They screwed themselves by creating a story that relies so much on the territory of Wonderland... which really should look more unique. I understand everything is darker now... but not only did the contrast feel off so did the colors of the plants.

    The only part I liked, the introduction of the cat...

    Ways to turn this show around? Perhaps make the main actor a little more observant, or the Knave? That's his world, and he doesn't see ANYTHING wrong right off the bat? Or if he knows (like he may seem to) whats going on, wouldn't he say SOMETHING to Alice?

    This show needs something beyond faith and hope. OUAT is fascinating, and a fun adventure. This feels like a pale shadow, for spin offs done right, look to the Originals and Vampire Diaries. Both shows are QUITE different, despite coming from the same place.

    This feels just like OUAT except with worse acting, visuals, and plot. Recommend staying away unless the writers drastically turn this around. But I doubt they will.
    Full Review »