Once Upon a Time in Wonderland : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2013
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 10, 2013
    80
    Without taking anything away from “Once Upon a Time”--this one is cleaner and seems to require less cataloging of multiple plotlines.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 10, 2013
    70
    The visuals help distract from the hokey sampler-ready dialogue: "When you really love someone, you don't need proof. You can feel it."... but I'd be happy to follow this White Rabbit just about anywhere. On a less busy night.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 9, 2013
    63
    Children will enjoy some of the stunts, and adults may appreciate some of the love-conquers-all messages. But all ages may fear that, as with the original, there's less here than meets the eye.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    The plot is a little overstuffed, but the special effects, crisp direction and high-octane performances keep us interested enough to follow Alice down the rabbit hole.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 9, 2013
    67
    Once Upon A Time In Wonderland is very nice to look at, particularly in homes that have upgraded from rabbit ears. Its speaking parts, though, are sometimes better heard at low volume.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    The show's real power resides in Lowe herself, whose screen presence makes even the silliest bits of Wonderland work better than they probably deserve to.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 10, 2013
    80
    There is plenty of that--the good, the beautiful and the etc. Some of it is conjured by CG magic (the Red Queen's palace is splendid, and the White Rabbit's ears a masterwork), and some by just good storytelling and performer chemistry, which Lowe and Socha have in abundance. Add to that a smattering of witty dialogue, clever character twists and, of course, the Victo-goth steampunk look, and ABC has another shot at redefining the family hour.
  8. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Alice’s battles with various computer-animated and live-action threats are entertaining and, usually, rather witty, though her traveling companions, the White Rabbit (voiced by John Lithgow) and the Knave of Hearts (Michael Socha, the proletarian werewolf in the later season’s of the BBC version of Being Human), get most of the best lines.
  9. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 9, 2013
    67
    There's too much going on to tell what might ultimately stick, other than the contents of the Mallow Marsh.
  10. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 9, 2013
    63
    I can't help but believe that if this new series focused on the dark, foreboding tone in its asylum scenes, it could become a powerful, trippy 9 p.m. drama.
  11. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 9, 2013
    67
    The series seems equally pitched between good--Lowe, a solid writing staff, and that mournful tone--and bad--Michael Socha as a helpful rogue who joins Alice on her quest and is already wearing thin by the end of the first episode--but for those who’ve enjoyed the parent series, even ironically, it stands as just enough of an improvement to recommend.
  12. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Lowe and Gadiot make convincing lovers, Socha provides the comic relief and Rigby is suitably sinister as the Red Queen.... Good family fun.
  13. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Oct 10, 2013
    70
    Lowe's job of selling Alice's yearning for Wonderland is all the more remarkable for the fact that her world-spanning love with Cyrus comes off a little bit limp in the premiere.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting,Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is a breath of fresh air when comparing it to other network television. Finally, a show with an interesting, unique premise with a good storyline. I am so sick and tired of generic comedies, singing shows, and the unfathomable amount of crime series. Wonderland is unique and brings to life a world we learned about during our childhood. I hope that ABC will keep this show running and not crawl back to the generic boring crap most networks put on. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. LoveThis show is pretty interesting. From what I saw, it seems like it could end up being a very great show. I can't wait to see more of it. Love the fact they put another disney character from a whole different show in it! Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and showI love this show! As to be expected, this first season is slow but this is the case with most every story. Time to established a plot and show character growth and development shouldn't happen over night. If it did, then there would be no story. That being said, i hope they keep it on for a second season so we can see where the story really goes. I think it has a lot of potential, just maybe some better decisions when it comes to the writing. Full Review »