• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mulan, Captain Hook, Lancelot, and Sleeping Beauty are some of the new characters introduced in the second season as the residents of Storybrooke recall their memories with the end of the Queen's curse.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    70
    This season, with flatly played new characters introduced in the world of fantasy, I found myself itching to get back to Storybrooke, although the way the lands eventually intersect makes for a nifty cliffhanger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    The season shows the emergence of Cora, one of the best villains ever. New characters and a new plot make this season even better than theThe season shows the emergence of Cora, one of the best villains ever. New characters and a new plot make this season even better than the first. Each episode is filled with drama and action, a perfect combination for a great show and an awesome story. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    The first episode starts with big changes in the storyline, unexpected twists and new characters. After a few episodes, I found myselfThe first episode starts with big changes in the storyline, unexpected twists and new characters. After a few episodes, I found myself enjoying this second season like a kid. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the 2nd season didn't deliver on quite the level of season 1, there were still plenty of reasons to watch!
    (some spoilers below)

    First, Robert Carlyle's work is always outstanding on the show, and with the re-introduction of his son, Baelfire, there is a lot of drama that stems from that.

    Second, Barbara Hershey was just fantastic this season. My favorite episode this season was 2.16 "The Miller's Daughter". I personally would have loved to keep her story going, but Cora's death lead to a lot of emotion.

    The romantic entanglements of some of the characters are juicy and interesting.

    Colin O'Donoghue as Captain Hook brought something refreshing to the show, and was the best new character this season (along side Michael Raymond-James). I will admit there were too many new characters introduced that didn't really make a difference, and they actually took time away from moments with already established characters (like Ruby/Red).

    The cliffhanger at the end of the season just makes you want to watch more!

    My biggest disappointment of the season was that a lot of the mystery that was in season 1 is now missing because of the curse being broken. A lot of the things that happened were indeed predictable.

    There were also too many flashbacks that involved Snow White being hunted by the queen (how many times can the queen actually hunt Snow White?).

    There were also more storylines that had huge plot-holes than season 1. In one of the first episode the Blue Fairy says she can't use magic without her wand and/or fairy dust. A couple episodes later, she has her wand. Where did she get it? I know there are probably scenes cut that explained some of the holes, but the writers need to be more careful with plot-holes.

    Finally, the show does tend to stay away from the danger of any of its core characters. I know it would be sad, but there has to be a feeling of danger, and I think the death of a major character would really up the ante on the danger that these characters face. Heck, they couldn't even let Pinocchio die (from a still unexplained powerful taser), and they had to find a way to let him live.

    Overall, this show is still great, and with a little smoothing out season 3 will be the best yet.
    Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    The show is very fun this season but mainly due to the fact that it has flown totally off the rails. This season has had some of the worstThe show is very fun this season but mainly due to the fact that it has flown totally off the rails. This season has had some of the worst acting and writing I've ever seen but the actors are giving it everything they've got which makes it even funnier. The star wars references are funny and I never through I would see an implied lesbian couple fist each other on a Disney show but it happened... it was with a heart but I got the sub text. Again, is anyone sick of everything looking like BC? Collapse
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    Honestly I expected more after the first season. Since the standard flashback fairy tale/current Storybrooke format is changed, charactersHonestly I expected more after the first season. Since the standard flashback fairy tale/current Storybrooke format is changed, characters seem more and more out of place. Henry is also markedly worse acting-wise. I'd pass on this installment if I were you. Expand
  6. May 29, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Are you stupid Regina could have died but rumplestiskin could have stopped that diamond easily but instead you wanted to kill Regina. And how was Henry taken if he was in snow whites arms I score that episode with 5 Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    1
    Once upon a time, ABC was in talks with an amazing creator named Bill Willingham, whose comic series "Fables" is a long line of brilliance,Once upon a time, ABC was in talks with an amazing creator named Bill Willingham, whose comic series "Fables" is a long line of brilliance, mature exploration of character and fairy tale tropes blended into a modern setting. It is hands down one of the best series I have ever read, and it's still going (at least into 2015 when the story comes to a close).

    At some point, those talks fell through. Then, half a year later, ABC announces Once Upon a Time, based on the same basic conceit as the Willingham comic from Vertigo (DC). I'm sad it's not Fables, but I'm excited at the idea.

    Then, I watch it. I tried. I really did. It's so watered down, trying to appeal to the lowest common denominator, with annoying leads (though I liked Jiminy Cricket and I liked Rumpelstiltskin for what they were worth). It had a less-intriguing premise. It was far too soft and Disney-fied. They basically took this amazing mature story and tried to make it have mass appeal to the family audience. Already not what I wanted, but hey, I like a good family show on occasion, so I stuck it out.

    And the writing sucked. The plotting, the dialogue, the generic tropes done with a straight face, bland as could be. The kid is obnoxious. Snow's 'daughter' is obnoxious. Snow is less interesting than a bottle of Ambien (and it's sad, too, I loved the actress in Big Love).

    Jiminy and Rumpel are the only reason this review didn't get a '0'.

    If you want something that's actually good in this vein, go read Fables. Or watch Grimm.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.