• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 23, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Once Upon a Time Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Adam Horowitz and Edward Kitsis, writers of "LOST" are working on a modern take on fairy tales with a female lead character living in Maine that has risen from interesting circumstances.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Once Upon A Time
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I really love this series. The character developments are done to perfection. I cannot stand the wicked witch which means great casting.I really love this series. The character developments are done to perfection. I cannot stand the wicked witch which means great casting. Cannot wait to see the season finale. Wish they would have continued Once upon a time in wonderland. I liked that show too. Love the Disney Characters. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    For a story for season 4 I think that emma should get cursed as a swan like her last name says but I don't think regina should get the blameFor a story for season 4 I think that emma should get cursed as a swan like her last name says but I don't think regina should get the blame so the only question that will remain is who wants to punish emma or her parents by doing this to emma Collapse
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    The season is split into two parts. The first part takes awhile to get good. The first 8 or so episodes feature the cast walking around aThe season is split into two parts. The first part takes awhile to get good. The first 8 or so episodes feature the cast walking around a jungle and arguing. Most of the interesting stuff happens in the flashbacks. However, the second part is awesome right from the start. It's filled with suspense that leaves you wanting more. Overall a great season. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2017
    8
    With each half of the season being dedicated to their own plot and villain, it's kind of like getting two seasons of Once Upon A Time at once.With each half of the season being dedicated to their own plot and villain, it's kind of like getting two seasons of Once Upon A Time at once. It starts off being the strongest one yet, and despite some failings in it's second half, manages to keep that title all the way through. The villains are pretty great and the lives of these characters get a little more complicated. There even appears to be some real stakes here and there. Things kind of fall short when the first conflict wraps up and then the show moves onto the next. The second half drags it's feet, makes a significant death unimportant and ultimately pointless in occurring in the first place, and is really just not as well written or exciting. Still, the show provides more interesting takes on classic fairy tales and ups the amount of magic and fantasy, making for a more enjoyable outing overall. I only hope it manages to continue this upward trend and delivers a more concise follow up season. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First episode was really slow and some how predictable.
    There were some graphic mistakes at 26:26 the mermaid was gone from the deck for no reason!
    I would like to see more action on the next episodes.
    Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2014
    6
    It's a decent show, with all the favorite characters wrapped into one CF'd story line. It tickles my inner child.

    However, at times it's
    It's a decent show, with all the favorite characters wrapped into one CF'd story line. It tickles my inner child.

    However, at times it's extremely predictable and cliche. Others, there are some serious major inconsistencies with story line, "rules" established in the world, with forced exceptions when convenient to keep the plot moving. Emma's character personality has almost completely devolved into whiny, insecure mother, but then suddenly has her life together during the second half of the season, though nothing has really changed. They hadn't quite reconciled all of the issues in the first half. Snow is, as usual, drippingly sweet with very, very little character development. She just kind of exists, occasionally has some short-lived, shallow crisis blown out of proportion, but suffers no real complex experiences or emotions.

    In general, the idea of the show is great. The general story line is entertaining, and hits all the nostalgic points. The dialogue, however, is a little lackluster, a little hackneyed, and often forced. Interactions between Emma and Hook are almost laughably bad, and hard to find believable. But the show is redeemed by some interesting plot twists, star performances, as well character development in other characters and relationships, like Rumpelstiltskin, Regina, and even Henry.

    Overall, it's an okay series; it passes the time. But there are just so many glaring flaws, so many convenient plot twists that ignore pre-established conventions and timelines to call it an amazing series.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    1
    Once upon a time, ABC was in talks with an amazing creator named Bill Willingham, whose comic series "Fables" is a long line of brilliance,Once upon a time, ABC was in talks with an amazing creator named Bill Willingham, whose comic series "Fables" is a long line of brilliance, mature exploration of character and fairy tale tropes blended into a modern setting. It is hands down one of the best series I have ever read, and it's still going (at least into 2015 when the story comes to a close).

    At some point, those talks fell through. Then, half a year later, ABC announces Once Upon a Time, based on the same basic conceit as the Willingham comic from Vertigo (DC). I'm sad it's not Fables, but I'm excited at the idea.

    Then, I watch it. I tried. I really did. It's so watered down, trying to appeal to the lowest common denominator, with annoying leads (though I liked Jiminy Cricket and I liked Rumpelstiltskin for what they were worth). It had a less-intriguing premise. It was far too soft and Disney-fied. They basically took this amazing mature story and tried to make it have mass appeal to the family audience. Already not what I wanted, but hey, I like a good family show on occasion, so I stuck it out.

    And the writing sucked. The plotting, the dialogue, the generic tropes done with a straight face, bland as could be. The kid is obnoxious. Snow's 'daughter' is obnoxious. Snow is less interesting than a bottle of Ambien (and it's sad, too, I loved the actress in Big Love).

    Jiminy and Rumpel are the only reason this review didn't get a '0'.

    If you want something that's actually good in this vein, go read Fables. Or watch Grimm.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 22, 2017
    Is your favorite TV show coming back next season? We survey a variety of industry experts to get the latest renewal odds.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.