• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Once Upon a Time Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adam Horowitz and Edward Kitsis, writers of "LOST" are working on a modern take on fairy tales with a female lead character living in Maine that has risen from interesting circumstances.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I really love this series. The character developments are done to perfection. I cannot stand the wicked witch which means great casting. Cannot wait to see the season finale. Wish they would have continued Once upon a time in wonderland. I liked that show too. Love the Disney Characters. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really really love Once Upon A Time and I am liking the characters' new adventure so far in Neverland. I just can't stand that idea that Pan talks to Emma anytime he wants with Emma looking like too overly detached that Pan has Henry held in captive. This part doesn't please me. it draws away the emotions bonded with the series. But apart from this, everything is still Once Upon A Time standard. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    For a story for season 4 I think that emma should get cursed as a swan like her last name says but I don't think regina should get the blame so the only question that will remain is who wants to punish emma or her parents by doing this to emma Collapse
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    The season is split into two parts. The first part takes awhile to get good. The first 8 or so episodes feature the cast walking around a jungle and arguing. Most of the interesting stuff happens in the flashbacks. However, the second part is awesome right from the start. It's filled with suspense that leaves you wanting more. Overall a great season. Expand
  5. May 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best season that Once Upon a Time has. Sure, it had its flaws but the entertaining value is higher than ever. Since the season is split into two story arcs. Let’s review the first half of the season, which is about Peter Pan taking place in Neverland. Yes. It was boring. First of, the setting of Neverland is just plain dark and boring. And the storylines weren’t strong enough to hold it. It had its plot holes and unsolved questions. Here are some of the few questions, all about the Darlings. 1-How did the Hipster Darlings grow up looking young in the future? 2-What happened to the Darlings after Peter Pan is killed in a “suicide” mission by Rumpelstiltskin? 3-Did they leave Storybrooke to London? We may never know. But it did feature interesting new (likable) characters such as Ariel. Her hair color. Wow. I can’t stop looking at her. She is beautiful. That’s probably because I love redheads so much. The last few episodes of the “Neverland” story arc were finally getting to the point of the action. It made me go edge of my seat for the first time since the premiere of the third season. And oh boy, the last episode of the arc felt like a true season finale. Heck, even a bittersweet series finale if the last two minutes didn’t happen. After that episode, it’s quite hard to think what happens next. That’s brilliant writing right there ladies and gentleman. And now, for the second arc of the season which I would like to call "The Wicked Witch of the West Invades Storybrooke” Again, this arc has many unsolved questions and I would like to list a few. 1-What happened to Mulan after she has eyes on Princess Aurora? 2-What happened to Princess Aurora and Prince Philip after they became those “flying monkeys”? 3-And the most important question of all after watching the finale. How the hell did Rumpelstiltskin got off the hook (no pun intended) from killing Zelena if his Rumple side is still showing despite he is the new “Mr.Gold”? They better address this next season. However, while it does add new more questions. It’s more entertaining than the last arc. I am so happy they’re doing this arc in Storybrooke. It’s more interesting to have fairy tale epic-esque battles in a small modern town where the FCC didn’t even know that town existed with TV stations. And also, the story was pretty straight forward and it didn’t drag on. Character development was very strong in this arc. From Regina’s redemption to happiness (now ruined) to Emma Swan’s “This is Where I Belong Now That I Am in Henry’s Storybook!" moment. I loved how they did with the time traveling plot device. But then again, it’s better to travel time by TARDIS because magic isn’t real and science is real and it doesn’t involve killing of babies. Overall, despite its flaws that cannot be ignored, this season of Once Upon a Time was their best. I hope the seasons get better and better without any questions unsolved. And dividing the season into two story arcs from on is a very good plot device to avoid dragging the season. I hope they do this until they reach their final season. And with Elsa being the next antagonist, it’s appropriate for the fall/winter season. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First episode was really slow and some how predictable.
    There were some graphic mistakes at 26:26 the mermaid was gone from the deck for no reason!
    I would like to see more action on the next episodes.
    Expand

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.