• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 2, 2008
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 17 out of 23

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD.
    Apr 10, 2008
    0
    Anne T - you are an absolute retard. "the lord used Oprah" what a load of tripe. People like you are the reason I grow towards hating American's and there crap TV shows and movies. It's a fat rich bitch giving away money so she can make more. Can't you see that!!!!!!! You must be thick. Just don't comment again....and don't go into TV production.
  2. WayneC.
    Mar 3, 2008
    3
    Wow. What a mess. Nice idea but who did Oprah hire to create the confusing, awkward, and frustrating glob of goo?
  3. PennieD.
    Mar 7, 2008
    2
    This was a boring show, the only ones excited were Oprah and Nate....Watched it once and that will be it for me.
  4. GeneH.
    Mar 24, 2008
    1
    Another example of someone with success simply not knowing when to pull back, brutal in awkward boring moments cap this why bother show. Perhaps she needs better advisors, those able to say when a show is half-baked. Swing and a miss for the divine Ms. O.
  5. RickP.
    Mar 26, 2008
    1
    A hew high in crass; maybe Oprah can start a church where the faithful compete for salvation...while the rich get richer.
  6. KristineM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    2
    I expected so much and got nothing. Felt bad for the contestants and the people they were trying to help. Judges didn't do much either for the show. Over all bad selection of cast. Maybe it would of done better if they choosen smarter and didn't look like they were using these people just for entertaining. Very disappointed!
  7. EthanP.
    Mar 6, 2008
    0
    The first episode: I learned that when I donated one of my kidneys to a stranger a couple years ago I should still be scrutinized for not giving my other kidney. So...I give this show 10 out of 10 for helping people who need help, and I subtract a bajillion points for the show's caricatures of humanity and the American-Idol format of exploiting mistakes which were made in the name of The first episode: I learned that when I donated one of my kidneys to a stranger a couple years ago I should still be scrutinized for not giving my other kidney. So...I give this show 10 out of 10 for helping people who need help, and I subtract a bajillion points for the show's caricatures of humanity and the American-Idol format of exploiting mistakes which were made in the name of goodness. The second episode: I hope to learn online that this was the second of a short-lived season of a show more disgusting than the violence of 'Hostel' and the sex of hardcore porn. If you continue to watch it, don't worry--there's bound to be an episode later in the season under the title of "How to Cut Yourself Effectively." (Want to do something good for someone? You'll figure it out a way which is important...and do not ever watch this show.) Expand
  8. CindW.
    Apr 20, 2008
    1
    I am so sick of reality shows that are rigged! Did only the winner's family just happen to be there to congratulate him? Supposedly they didn't know who was going to win...did they fly them in during the last hour when they knew who the winner was. Pllllease!
  9. JalexD.
    Mar 14, 2008
    0
    Another excuse for Oprah to dress herself like a saint and satisfy the commercial-hungry community, all the while only throwing change from her incredibly deep pockets.
  10. KelleighK.
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    The disappointment on the servicemans' face said it all. Stop giving false hope. I'm shocked at how truly grandious and altruistic Oprah believes herself to be, when her own purse probably never opens. It's shameful to use those in need for a "reality" high, and ratings.
  11. RhondaN.
    Mar 23, 2008
    0
    One word for this show. Boring. Capital B. It should have been canceled before it came to fruition.
  12. SherryF.
    Mar 24, 2008
    1
    This show gives giving a bad name.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. 80
    Winfrey and ABC have taken the much-maligned reality TV format and used it to create a show that both entertains and encourages viewers to think about such matters as how best to help others.
  2. 60
    Is it strange to make good will and charity into a win-lose proposition? Is it peculiar to judge the givers on their manner of giving, to quantify their largesse? To me, yes, it is, and the show makes for awkward viewing as a result.
  3. Reviewed by: Misha Davenport
    50
    There also is something disturbing about making a game out of charitable acts.