• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 280 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 280

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Orange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the toneOrange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the tone right for every scene. What makes this particular 13 episodes even more satisfying is the fact that I can feel satisfied about the season I just witnessed and aren't going off the charts about that I have to wait months for episodes. That's the advantage about getting all the episodes at once, you don't get used to missing it every week or more. You can watch and enjoy. It is hard not to recognize that this show is something special and not something you watch when you have time, but crave the time you spend watching it. This is by far the most enjoyable show in a long time and I hope it stays that way. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    5
    I'm sorry but 3 episodes in and i'm bored to tears. The characters have worn out their welcome. the european chef, the sassy latinas, the funky haired prisoners, the crazy christian piper beat up with the annoying voice. yawn. piper is as pale as ever, more downtrodden then before. boring/annoying.
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    1
    3 episodes down; I think this series went downhill fast. A fiasco even bigger than Girls season 2 to 3. If you like the first season, do yourself a favor and AVOID.
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    6
    I watched the whole 2nd season and it was nowhere near the caliber of season one. I'm hoping the third will be awesome as I am excited for Piper's character development.
  5. Aug 3, 2014
    2
    I kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soap opera... The actors are not very talented (Biggs and the main character are the only competent ones...), the script is convoluted, and it seems like every episode is a bottle episode leading up to nothing... I liked weeds from the same creator but theyI kept hearing great things from my friends and after finally watching it with them I don't understand how anyone enjoys this cheap soap opera... The actors are not very talented (Biggs and the main character are the only competent ones...), the script is convoluted, and it seems like every episode is a bottle episode leading up to nothing... I liked weeds from the same creator but they lost me when they became a soap opera and dropped the entire premise of the show and went to mexico... I think this could be a good show if it had better writing and actors, but even if that happens I won't give it another chance. Also the fact that this is labeled as a comedy is offensive. The fact that this show might win a single emmy is appalling. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    The premiere episode of Orange is the New Black Season 2 is the best episode of entire series so far. It continues the suspense from the season 1 finale, but tells a completely new story as well. This episode tells a complete story. These days most television shows are so episodic that you only see a real conclusion at the end of a season. This is a perfect episode to show someone who'sThe premiere episode of Orange is the New Black Season 2 is the best episode of entire series so far. It continues the suspense from the season 1 finale, but tells a completely new story as well. This episode tells a complete story. These days most television shows are so episodic that you only see a real conclusion at the end of a season. This is a perfect episode to show someone who's never seen Orange is the New Black because it shows in a single hour why this is such a great show. It even has a moral to it which is something you rarely see on any television program today. This show is so great it makes me miss Breaking Bad a little bit less. If you haven't watched this show before check it out. If you are watching it tell your friends about it. A show this good needs to be supported. I don't generally enjoy shows about prisoners because I have a hard time feeling sympathy for them. I feel incredible sympathy for the characters on Orange. It's a credit to the great writing and directing on this show. All the characters on this show are interesting. There are no extras or minor characters, just characters we see less of than others. This episode strongly demonstrates that as well. The guards on the plane, the new inmates in the yard; I'm pretty sure we'll never see any of them again, yet they're all clearly defined as characters. I can't wait to see what happens next. Fortunately, thanks to Netflix, I don't have to wait. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    First of, congratulations to the OITNB for getting renewed for a third season! Firstly, I'd like to star off by including my feelings about the series upon heading into season 2. Of course after the end of season 1 I was scared for Piper as I admittedly root for her to get out of prison to enjoy her life with Larry, as anyone would do in a real life scenario. I began to get annoyed withFirst of, congratulations to the OITNB for getting renewed for a third season! Firstly, I'd like to star off by including my feelings about the series upon heading into season 2. Of course after the end of season 1 I was scared for Piper as I admittedly root for her to get out of prison to enjoy her life with Larry, as anyone would do in a real life scenario. I began to get annoyed with her lack of judgement and stupid decisions regarding Alex and loath their relationship. I began, however began to sympathize with Larry and began to realize I was really concerned with his happiness. I feel like the other subplot are so minuscule compared to their relationship. So based on that, here's what I liked about Season 2. I loved the subplot with Vee and Red. It really brings a dramamtic twist lacking in the racial barriers of the prison. I find myself sympathizing with Red. Also, even while we expect tragic plot twists which we have, i enjoyed the development of Heeley and the cancer inmate. These discoveries and lessons they find are uplifting and shed some light on a dark setting. I am also very please with the demise of Fig. Kaputo seems to have some good intentions although it seems hes doomed. Most importantly, I am really satisfied with the relationship that has come about between Larry and Polly. At this point i expect Larry to be unconcerned with waiting around for Piper as her actions have been questionable. They look more natural together and it makes you feel for them. It allows me to come to terms with Piper being in prison and allow myself to watch her interact without just being concerned with her release. After seeing Piper make another stupid decision and lie under oath, we see Alex able leave, it just doesnt seem like we can hae any sympathy for her at the moment. Few minor things i wasn't to particularly fond of. With the exception of the arrest of Pornstache, i really see no progress in that situation even after the confession to confession to Kaputo. The lying under oath scene wasnt really addressed which was bugging me because since Alex's testimony was worth enough to even get her out of prison, we must conclude that the court has the evidence to prove she was in fact lying. Maybe that will be addressed in season 3? Expected more of a dramatic ending in a cliffhanger sort of way. We learn Piper is not done with Alex which is ok i guess considering Polly and Larry are in love. Overall i gave it a 9/10 Definitely binge worthy. Expand
  8. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black Season 2 is by far my favorite so far! The story just keeps getting better and better! Oh, and did I mention every episode gets released on Netflix at once if you don't know already, and it's absolutely binge worthy!
  9. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    The second season of OITB is superior to the first, not only for the fact that we focus less on Piper's life and more on the secondary characters, but also Lorraine Toussaint's fantastic portrayal of the manipulative and psychotic Vee. She is sure to win an Emmy for this role.
  10. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    I think this season was great. Better than the first season. I like the introduction of new characters as well as stories about other characters besides Piper. Only thing is I hate Jason Biggs and is character storyline is worse than his acting. Nonetheless, If you enjoyed the first season, you will enjoy the second season.
  11. Jun 16, 2014
    9
    The first two episodes were set-up episodes. It's amazing how you can lose four hours in all of these wonderful characters the show brings. This show is a top-notch and worth having a watch.
  12. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I wondered what I would do without Alex this season, but within minutes I fell in love with the backstories of Poussey, Black Cindy, and (my favorite) Morello. There were bits of the 2nd season which dragged some, but every minute of a 13 hour marathon can't be gold. I loved it. I love these women. And I want Natasha Lyonne to be my best friend. I am looking forward to many more seasons.I wondered what I would do without Alex this season, but within minutes I fell in love with the backstories of Poussey, Black Cindy, and (my favorite) Morello. There were bits of the 2nd season which dragged some, but every minute of a 13 hour marathon can't be gold. I loved it. I love these women. And I want Natasha Lyonne to be my best friend. I am looking forward to many more seasons. My only wish is for Netflix to perhaps premiere 3 episodes per week. I watch it all in 2 days and have to wait a year! It's emotionally draining! Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Season 2 is even better than season 1 ( Which I thought was revolutionary and magnificent ). It is bolder, funnier, wittier and just an improvement all around, which is pretty hard to do when your first season was near perfect. Orange Is The New Black season 2 is a 9.510.
  14. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    This show has to be one of the best shows streaming on Netflix as of right now. I mean season one was great but season two was even better. In Season two you actually got a more in depth view of how some of the other inmates got into prison. The only sad problem in Season 2 was that there was not enough ALEX. In season three hopefully we'll get some more PIPER&ALEX scenes
  15. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    OITNB is brilliant. Love the stories, love the characters. The whole cast is outstanding; wordeful performances. Incredibly entertaining; one of the greatest tv series these days.
  16. Aug 20, 2014
    4
    Overrated. Dialogue overload. Too many characters you don't really give a damn about...Banshee is 100X more entertaining, fun and satisfying. This show is like the Leftovers in that it is persistently depressive, but with the Leftovers the high moments are a lot more compelling. Maybe women will like it more, because its 95% female cast. Watching this show was an exercise of enduranceOverrated. Dialogue overload. Too many characters you don't really give a damn about...Banshee is 100X more entertaining, fun and satisfying. This show is like the Leftovers in that it is persistently depressive, but with the Leftovers the high moments are a lot more compelling. Maybe women will like it more, because its 95% female cast. Watching this show was an exercise of endurance for me. I don't know how a show this (1) depressing (2) dialogue intense could be so universally liked. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Has there ever been a show that has fallen so far so fast? The last 5 episodes of season 1 were awful and by episode 3 of season 2 it's a wonder how anyone could find this show either creative or intelligent. There may not be a better example of stereotypical writing on TV today.
  18. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Fans may find the latest season a stark departure from the comparatively lighter side of the first season but that is what makes Season 2 so much better and a complete breath of fresh air. There were shocks that left you reeling for days, more complex and layered story lines than before and occasional shifts in settings from the same ol' prison we've come to know and love but that wasFans may find the latest season a stark departure from the comparatively lighter side of the first season but that is what makes Season 2 so much better and a complete breath of fresh air. There were shocks that left you reeling for days, more complex and layered story lines than before and occasional shifts in settings from the same ol' prison we've come to know and love but that was really what would necessarily be expected for a show that was one year in the making.

    What took quite hard to get used to was the absence of a Piper-centric storyline with the entire cast of characters now coming into play but thankfully that hasn't compromised the true essence of the show. It still retains the same charm and wit. It's sharp and edgy and takes dramedy to a whole new level yet again.

    As I would commend the writers for keeping the story fresh and raw, the cast have also done a stellar job this outing with particularly Taylor Schilling (Piper) being the standout once again even when her role has significantly taken a back seat throughout. She has excellent comedic timing and her dramatic chops shine through once again as evidenced by the first episode of the season. The other person who also manages to captivate the audience with her performance, I would say, would most definitely be Uzo Aduba (Crazy Eyes) who captured the level of crazy almost perfectly.

    I'm certain that this show is poised for more accolades come awards season. It has been a travesty that they were evidently missing from last year's circuit since this show has all the makings of what TV shows ought to be. I'd recommend anyone who hasn't got themselves on this binge-watching wagon already to get a-hopping on the first season because this show is simply unmissable.
    Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Second Season is even better than the first. The writing is more insightful, as the flashbacks into the characters' lives before they came to prison really allows the viewer to understand the characters more fully. This show is drama and laugh out loud funny. If you haven't seen Orange is the New Black, start binge watching season one and then go straight into season two for aSecond Season is even better than the first. The writing is more insightful, as the flashbacks into the characters' lives before they came to prison really allows the viewer to understand the characters more fully. This show is drama and laugh out loud funny. If you haven't seen Orange is the New Black, start binge watching season one and then go straight into season two for a first-rate show!!! Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Fantastic as expected. One netflix to rule em all.

    We see the backgrounds of a lot of characters we missed in the first season, some were more in depth. There was a lot more tension between communities this time as well.
  21. Jun 13, 2014
    5
    Have to agree with albuddha's review. Just a bit boring now. Got 4 episodes in and can't be bothered anymore. Not bad but it doesn't deserve the 90%+ rating.
  22. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    This season has been phenomenal! Much better than season 1 in my opinion. I love seeing all the character's stories and everything has progressed nicely. There wasn't a dull moment and we're starting to see how complicated a lot of the character's are, which wasn't so obvious in season 1.
  23. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wondered myself if Orange is the New Black would be like if it aired on Showtime or HBO. But I cannot imagine myself if it was aired on those two networks because Orange is the New Black presented itself as a Netflix exclusive show, not some other show that could be on HBO or Showtime and Season 2 is a prime example for it.

    In the previous season, Orange is the New Black focuses on Piper Chapman and other inmates. But this season, this felt like anyone’s show. It can be Piper’s show, it can be Red’s show, it can be Crazy Eye’s show, it can be anyone’s show and that is a good thing.

    The character development moves the plot of the entire season and it was handled perfectly, ranging from the new characters to the older characters that have stayed. These characters, even if you hated some of them, will make you care about them, like you wanted to know more about them, either in a form of a flashback scene or by just describing it themselves. It also made me care about the characters outside prison as well, even if Larry and Polly are a bunch such a **** However, I feel like Pennsatucky’s character felt weak this season with her redemption characteristic not being too strong as I hoped it would be and they didn’t address Nicky’s fling with Alex in the previous season finale, which bummed me out.

    The writing is marvelous and addicting. It never feels like a guilty pleasure at all because there are no imperfections in it. Heck, that is a kind of writing that will guarantee you an Emmy nomination.

    The story arcs this season were all interesting, addicting and made you want to know more, from continuing Piper’s struggle in prison to creating the conflict of Red’s clan vs. V’s clan. One of my few complaints was the ending of Daya and John’s baby arc. I wished it ended with Daya delivering the baby or at least Daya feeling like she is going to labor. But nonetheless, it’s addicting.

    The performances in the show are perfect. All of the actors who played their characters feel real, like they’re actually their characters. My favorites have got to be Taylor Schilling as Piper, Kate Mulgrew as Red and Laverne Cox as Sophia.

    The finale used its 1 hour and 30 minutes length time very wisely. It knows how to set up for the next season, with the interesting part on how Alex would react to Piper that the latter was the one who was telling Alex’s probation officer that she is running away. And I don’t think V will be dead. If any TV character doesn’t die actually onscreen, then they won’t be dead, just like Pennsatucky. The last scene of the finale made the second season send off a high note and made you root for Rosa that she escaped from prison so she can die anywhere but in prison.

    The setbacks of this season were not visibility noticeable as it made it up with strong character development, addicting story lines, powerful performances and its brilliant season finale.

    SEASON THREE NOW PLEASE!
    Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This is such a complex season, a bit less focussed on Piper, but equally interesting. Some really heartbreaking turns for the characters. I still love the show.
  25. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    It's back for the second season, however this time, it's bigger, better and more interesting! It's so hard not to binge watch, and now I have to wait another year for the third season. The clever motive that I admire is the lack of a main character or focus (even though it's Piper) meaning other characters are able to flourish making us understand the other characters better! Must watch!!!
  26. Jul 30, 2014
    5
    I liked the first season, but the second, not as much.
    In the first season, there were things actually happening but
    in this season there was way more talking than people actually doing something. Everyone was working out plans, talking about things they want to do, trying a new scheme to get stuff into the prison, but that's it. There were a few crucial plot points, but between them,
    I liked the first season, but the second, not as much.
    In the first season, there were things actually happening but
    in this season there was way more talking than people actually doing something.
    Everyone was working out plans, talking about things they want to do, trying a new scheme
    to get stuff into the prison, but that's it.
    There were a few crucial plot points, but between them, I got kind of bored and the finale didn't make up for that.
    And you know what? There were way too many flashbacks.
    A short flashback how someone got into jail is ok, but is it really necessary?
    It's just, seeing one for virtually every inmate is more than I want to know.
    Expand
  27. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    Season 1 of OITNB was one of the most perfect series of television I've ever experience. Season 2 was not. It failed to capture the same magic of S01. The overall story arch was just bland, and dry.
  28. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    Not up to par with the first season. I can't even recall laughing this season while the first one was hilarious. Piper is a no-show throughout the whole season and her non-existent relationship with Larry does not help to move the show anywhere. The other characters have also lost their drive. There's just not enough interesting things going on :-(
  29. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    What an improvement from season 1. The writers realised that the lead two characters actually detracted from the show. and whilst both still have a major role, the other characters are allowed to blossom...The other inmates were fascinating, so much so I ended up binge watching the entire season over two days. The idea of the goings on in a women's prison was a great idea,brilliantlyWhat an improvement from season 1. The writers realised that the lead two characters actually detracted from the show. and whilst both still have a major role, the other characters are allowed to blossom...The other inmates were fascinating, so much so I ended up binge watching the entire season over two days. The idea of the goings on in a women's prison was a great idea,brilliantly executed in the 2nd season.In fact I took to imagining how I myself would react in in that environment. From the prisoner and from the CO side. Its one of the great female series of all time. I am as a man more educated about women's issues watching this than 1000 newspaper articles. Tremendous Expand
  30. Sep 22, 2014
    1
    Season 2 was a big disappointment. It never had the same emotional intensity, humor, or originality as the first season (which was excellent). Shifting the focus from Piper to the other girls in the prison was a poor choice, as the storyline felt forced and fabricated to make the other ladies appear more human/interesting. I ended up fast-forwarding and skipping episodes because I justSeason 2 was a big disappointment. It never had the same emotional intensity, humor, or originality as the first season (which was excellent). Shifting the focus from Piper to the other girls in the prison was a poor choice, as the storyline felt forced and fabricated to make the other ladies appear more human/interesting. I ended up fast-forwarding and skipping episodes because I just didn't want to waste more time on on the lackluster plots. Season 1 was electrifying with the relationship between Piper and Alex.. unfortunately, that relationship was removed from this season in episode 1, leaving the rest of the season a bland and boring slog. Even the sub-plots with Larry was dumb. My advice: watch just the first episode, and skip the rest. Expand
  31. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    If you slightly liked the first season or you gave yourself time to admire the characters so wonderfully played by the actors, then you're in for a treat this second season. The season starts with a bang and every episode makes you want to immediately jump to the next one to see what happens next. If that isn't compelling enough for a TV Show to be a success, critically and commercially,If you slightly liked the first season or you gave yourself time to admire the characters so wonderfully played by the actors, then you're in for a treat this second season. The season starts with a bang and every episode makes you want to immediately jump to the next one to see what happens next. If that isn't compelling enough for a TV Show to be a success, critically and commercially, then I don't know what is. Hats off to the actors and Netflix! Definitely a must watch. Expand
  32. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Out of all the mistakes and dumb decisions netflix has chosen to make, this is not one. My fiance doesnt always agree on watching the smae shows as I, but he cant get enough of this one. Orange is the New black is definantly an AMAZING show and they have done such a great job witht choosing the actors and actresses who make this show possible
  33. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed season two of Orange is the New Black!

    After loving the first season, season two had a lot to live up to. The producers took a new approach with this series by focusing on a variety of characters instead of just Piper's story- this is something that I found appealing as you delve deep behind the Litchfield walls. The use of elements such as flashbacks made for great
    I thoroughly enjoyed season two of Orange is the New Black!

    After loving the first season, season two had a lot to live up to. The producers took a new approach with this series by focusing on a variety of characters instead of just Piper's story- this is something that I found appealing as you delve deep behind the Litchfield walls. The use of elements such as flashbacks made for great viewing as you learnt more about each individual.

    I also thought that the producers produced a realistic picture of prison life with great locations, editing and colour. The settings realistic quality makes you reflect on life within prison and helps you to empathise with the characters even more. The series had many layers and messages behind it as the producer's craftsmanship created meaning and substance. The series made me think about my own experiences as I identified with many components. It's a powerful series that I really love.
    Expand
  34. Dec 11, 2014
    4
    i had been avoiding the show until now. the main reason i'm watching through the 2nd season is that i love seeing so many talented black actresses together. i also love natasha lyonne. hoping laura prepon comes back. love the opening sequence. it's the only part of the show that's real. basically, i have to work at suspending my disbelief and see the prison setting as just a setting fori had been avoiding the show until now. the main reason i'm watching through the 2nd season is that i love seeing so many talented black actresses together. i also love natasha lyonne. hoping laura prepon comes back. love the opening sequence. it's the only part of the show that's real. basically, i have to work at suspending my disbelief and see the prison setting as just a setting for all the characters to interact. it sure isn't like any prison in the US. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 7, 2014
    90
    By the finale, Season 2 is stronger than Season 1, largely because it’s more uncompromising about its characters, at once more nuanced and more damning.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 19, 2014
    80
    Consider how well-crafted they are, you might want to pace yourself and savor every precious moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.