• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two finds Piper (Taylor Schilling) spending time in solitary, while Litchfield adds a new inmate in Vee (Lorraine Toussaint), who has a history with Red (Kate Mulgrew).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    Through the six episodes of the second season made available to critics, it's clear that Orange is not only as great as it was the first season, but arguably even better.... It's terrific.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    It's the show it was last year, but in many ways better.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    The memorable characters, playful tone, and subtle examination of culture, gender, and social roles continue to impress, as does the underrated ensemble, led by more confident work from Taylor Schilling than in the first season. If anything feels different, that’s it. There’s a striking sense of confidence across the board.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 6, 2014
    90
    Just as in TV’s first flashback-heavy, multi-character drama “Lost,” it’s the flashbacks that deepen and humanize the characters, and that makes Orange a unique and outstanding series. Piper’s story may draw viewers to the show, but it’s her fellow inmates who make time spent inside this women’s prison worthwhile.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jun 3, 2014
    88
    Orange Is the New Black is a cultural phenomenon and worthy crowd-pleaser--and is the one series everyone should watch this summer.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 2, 2014
    50
    The new season’s highlights feel more scattershot, and the plot offers less urgency.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    This show has to be one of the best shows streaming on Netflix as of right now. I mean season one was great but season two was even better. In Season two you actually got a more in depth view of how some of the other inmates got into prison. The only sad problem in Season 2 was that there was not enough ALEX. In season three hopefully we'll get some more PIPER&ALEX scenes Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I wondered what I would do without Alex this season, but within minutes I fell in love with the backstories of Poussey, Black Cindy, and (my favorite) Morello. There were bits of the 2nd season which dragged some, but every minute of a 13 hour marathon can't be gold. I loved it. I love these women. And I want Natasha Lyonne to be my best friend. I am looking forward to many more seasons. My only wish is for Netflix to perhaps premiere 3 episodes per week. I watch it all in 2 days and have to wait a year! It's emotionally draining! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Orange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the tone right for every scene. What makes this particular 13 episodes even more satisfying is the fact that I can feel satisfied about the season I just witnessed and aren't going off the charts about that I have to wait months for episodes. That's the advantage about getting all the episodes at once, you don't get used to missing it every week or more. You can watch and enjoy. It is hard not to recognize that this show is something special and not something you watch when you have time, but crave the time you spend watching it. This is by far the most enjoyable show in a long time and I hope it stays that way. Collapse
  4. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wondered myself if Orange is the New Black would be like if it aired on Showtime or HBO. But I cannot imagine myself if it was aired on those two networks because Orange is the New Black presented itself as a Netflix exclusive show, not some other show that could be on HBO or Showtime and Season 2 is a prime example for it.

    In the previous season, Orange is the New Black focuses on Piper Chapman and other inmates. But this season, this felt like anyone’s show. It can be Piper’s show, it can be Red’s show, it can be Crazy Eye’s show, it can be anyone’s show and that is a good thing.

    The character development moves the plot of the entire season and it was handled perfectly, ranging from the new characters to the older characters that have stayed. These characters, even if you hated some of them, will make you care about them, like you wanted to know more about them, either in a form of a flashback scene or by just describing it themselves. It also made me care about the characters outside prison as well, even if Larry and Polly are a bunch such a **** However, I feel like Pennsatucky’s character felt weak this season with her redemption characteristic not being too strong as I hoped it would be and they didn’t address Nicky’s fling with Alex in the previous season finale, which bummed me out.

    The writing is marvelous and addicting. It never feels like a guilty pleasure at all because there are no imperfections in it. Heck, that is a kind of writing that will guarantee you an Emmy nomination.

    The story arcs this season were all interesting, addicting and made you want to know more, from continuing Piper’s struggle in prison to creating the conflict of Red’s clan vs. V’s clan. One of my few complaints was the ending of Daya and John’s baby arc. I wished it ended with Daya delivering the baby or at least Daya feeling like she is going to labor. But nonetheless, it’s addicting.

    The performances in the show are perfect. All of the actors who played their characters feel real, like they’re actually their characters. My favorites have got to be Taylor Schilling as Piper, Kate Mulgrew as Red and Laverne Cox as Sophia.

    The finale used its 1 hour and 30 minutes length time very wisely. It knows how to set up for the next season, with the interesting part on how Alex would react to Piper that the latter was the one who was telling Alex’s probation officer that she is running away. And I don’t think V will be dead. If any TV character doesn’t die actually onscreen, then they won’t be dead, just like Pennsatucky. The last scene of the finale made the second season send off a high note and made you root for Rosa that she escaped from prison so she can die anywhere but in prison.

    The setbacks of this season were not visibility noticeable as it made it up with strong character development, addicting story lines, powerful performances and its brilliant season finale.

    SEASON THREE NOW PLEASE!
    Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black Season 2 is by far my favorite so far! The story just keeps getting better and better! Oh, and did I mention every episode gets released on Netflix at once if you don't know already, and it's absolutely binge worthy! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    5
    I'm sorry but 3 episodes in and i'm bored to tears. The characters have worn out their welcome. the european chef, the sassy latinas, the funky haired prisoners, the crazy christian piper beat up with the annoying voice. yawn. piper is as pale as ever, more downtrodden then before. boring/annoying. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Has there ever been a show that has fallen so far so fast? The last 5 episodes of season 1 were awful and by episode 3 of season 2 it's a wonder how anyone could find this show either creative or intelligent. There may not be a better example of stereotypical writing on TV today. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).