• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two finds Piper (Taylor Schilling) spending time in solitary, while Litchfield adds a new inmate in Vee (Lorraine Toussaint), who has a history with Red (Kate Mulgrew).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    Through the six episodes of the second season made available to critics, it's clear that Orange is not only as great as it was the first season, but arguably even better.... It's terrific.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    It's the show it was last year, but in many ways better.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    The memorable characters, playful tone, and subtle examination of culture, gender, and social roles continue to impress, as does the underrated ensemble, led by more confident work from Taylor Schilling than in the first season. If anything feels different, that’s it. There’s a striking sense of confidence across the board.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 6, 2014
    90
    Just as in TV’s first flashback-heavy, multi-character drama “Lost,” it’s the flashbacks that deepen and humanize the characters, and that makes Orange a unique and outstanding series. Piper’s story may draw viewers to the show, but it’s her fellow inmates who make time spent inside this women’s prison worthwhile.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jun 3, 2014
    88
    Orange Is the New Black is a cultural phenomenon and worthy crowd-pleaser--and is the one series everyone should watch this summer.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 2, 2014
    50
    The new season’s highlights feel more scattershot, and the plot offers less urgency.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    This show has to be one of the best shows streaming on Netflix as of right now. I mean season one was great but season two was even better. In Season two you actually got a more in depth view of how some of the other inmates got into prison. The only sad problem in Season 2 was that there was not enough ALEX. In season three hopefully we'll get some more PIPER&ALEX scenes Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    The premiere episode of Orange is the New Black Season 2 is the best episode of entire series so far. It continues the suspense from the season 1 finale, but tells a completely new story as well. This episode tells a complete story. These days most television shows are so episodic that you only see a real conclusion at the end of a season. This is a perfect episode to show someone who's never seen Orange is the New Black because it shows in a single hour why this is such a great show. It even has a moral to it which is something you rarely see on any television program today. This show is so great it makes me miss Breaking Bad a little bit less. If you haven't watched this show before check it out. If you are watching it tell your friends about it. A show this good needs to be supported. I don't generally enjoy shows about prisoners because I have a hard time feeling sympathy for them. I feel incredible sympathy for the characters on Orange. It's a credit to the great writing and directing on this show. All the characters on this show are interesting. There are no extras or minor characters, just characters we see less of than others. This episode strongly demonstrates that as well. The guards on the plane, the new inmates in the yard; I'm pretty sure we'll never see any of them again, yet they're all clearly defined as characters. I can't wait to see what happens next. Fortunately, thanks to Netflix, I don't have to wait. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Orange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the tone right for every scene. What makes this particular 13 episodes even more satisfying is the fact that I can feel satisfied about the season I just witnessed and aren't going off the charts about that I have to wait months for episodes. That's the advantage about getting all the episodes at once, you don't get used to missing it every week or more. You can watch and enjoy. It is hard not to recognize that this show is something special and not something you watch when you have time, but crave the time you spend watching it. This is by far the most enjoyable show in a long time and I hope it stays that way. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This is such a complex season, a bit less focussed on Piper, but equally interesting. Some really heartbreaking turns for the characters. I still love the show. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black Season 2 is by far my favorite so far! The story just keeps getting better and better! Oh, and did I mention every episode gets released on Netflix at once if you don't know already, and it's absolutely binge worthy! Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    Not up to par with the first season. I can't even recall laughing this season while the first one was hilarious. Piper is a no-show throughout the whole season and her non-existent relationship with Larry does not help to move the show anywhere. The other characters have also lost their drive. There's just not enough interesting things going on :-( Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Has there ever been a show that has fallen so far so fast? The last 5 episodes of season 1 were awful and by episode 3 of season 2 it's a wonder how anyone could find this show either creative or intelligent. There may not be a better example of stereotypical writing on TV today. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).