• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season two finds Piper (Taylor Schilling) spending time in solitary, while Litchfield adds a new inmate in Vee (Lorraine Toussaint), who has a history with Red (Kate Mulgrew).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Orange Is the New Black remains a vibrantly hued, singular achievement. Darkly dramatic and comedically spiked, it deals in the dehumanization and restoration of both guards and inmates.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 4, 2014
    100
    Through the six episodes of the second season made available to critics, it's clear that Orange is not only as great as it was the first season, but arguably even better.... It's terrific.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    It's the show it was last year, but in many ways better.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    The memorable characters, playful tone, and subtle examination of culture, gender, and social roles continue to impress, as does the underrated ensemble, led by more confident work from Taylor Schilling than in the first season. If anything feels different, that’s it. There’s a striking sense of confidence across the board.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 6, 2014
    90
    Just as in TV’s first flashback-heavy, multi-character drama “Lost,” it’s the flashbacks that deepen and humanize the characters, and that makes Orange a unique and outstanding series. Piper’s story may draw viewers to the show, but it’s her fellow inmates who make time spent inside this women’s prison worthwhile.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jun 3, 2014
    88
    Orange Is the New Black is a cultural phenomenon and worthy crowd-pleaser--and is the one series everyone should watch this summer.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 2, 2014
    50
    The new season’s highlights feel more scattershot, and the plot offers less urgency.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Orange is the New Black is by far the most binge worthy show there is on Netflix. Throughout the entirety of season two it never failed to make me laugh, feel angry, or feel sorry for the characters I have known for only 26 episodes. The character development is outstanding and all of the actors give nothing below a stellar performance. The mix of dark comedy and drama makes the tone right for every scene. What makes this particular 13 episodes even more satisfying is the fact that I can feel satisfied about the season I just witnessed and aren't going off the charts about that I have to wait months for episodes. That's the advantage about getting all the episodes at once, you don't get used to missing it every week or more. You can watch and enjoy. It is hard not to recognize that this show is something special and not something you watch when you have time, but crave the time you spend watching it. This is by far the most enjoyable show in a long time and I hope it stays that way. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    It's back for the second season, however this time, it's bigger, better and more interesting! It's so hard not to binge watch, and now I have to wait another year for the third season. The clever motive that I admire is the lack of a main character or focus (even though it's Piper) meaning other characters are able to flourish making us understand the other characters better! Must watch!!! Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I wondered what I would do without Alex this season, but within minutes I fell in love with the backstories of Poussey, Black Cindy, and (my favorite) Morello. There were bits of the 2nd season which dragged some, but every minute of a 13 hour marathon can't be gold. I loved it. I love these women. And I want Natasha Lyonne to be my best friend. I am looking forward to many more seasons. My only wish is for Netflix to perhaps premiere 3 episodes per week. I watch it all in 2 days and have to wait a year! It's emotionally draining! Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    First of, congratulations to the OITNB for getting renewed for a third season! Firstly, I'd like to star off by including my feelings about the series upon heading into season 2. Of course after the end of season 1 I was scared for Piper as I admittedly root for her to get out of prison to enjoy her life with Larry, as anyone would do in a real life scenario. I began to get annoyed with her lack of judgement and stupid decisions regarding Alex and loath their relationship. I began, however began to sympathize with Larry and began to realize I was really concerned with his happiness. I feel like the other subplot are so minuscule compared to their relationship. So based on that, here's what I liked about Season 2. I loved the subplot with Vee and Red. It really brings a dramamtic twist lacking in the racial barriers of the prison. I find myself sympathizing with Red. Also, even while we expect tragic plot twists which we have, i enjoyed the development of Heeley and the cancer inmate. These discoveries and lessons they find are uplifting and shed some light on a dark setting. I am also very please with the demise of Fig. Kaputo seems to have some good intentions although it seems hes doomed. Most importantly, I am really satisfied with the relationship that has come about between Larry and Polly. At this point i expect Larry to be unconcerned with waiting around for Piper as her actions have been questionable. They look more natural together and it makes you feel for them. It allows me to come to terms with Piper being in prison and allow myself to watch her interact without just being concerned with her release. After seeing Piper make another stupid decision and lie under oath, we see Alex able leave, it just doesnt seem like we can hae any sympathy for her at the moment. Few minor things i wasn't to particularly fond of. With the exception of the arrest of Pornstache, i really see no progress in that situation even after the confession to confession to Kaputo. The lying under oath scene wasnt really addressed which was bugging me because since Alex's testimony was worth enough to even get her out of prison, we must conclude that the court has the evidence to prove she was in fact lying. Maybe that will be addressed in season 3? Expected more of a dramatic ending in a cliffhanger sort of way. We learn Piper is not done with Alex which is ok i guess considering Polly and Larry are in love. Overall i gave it a 9/10 Definitely binge worthy. Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This is such a complex season, a bit less focussed on Piper, but equally interesting. Some really heartbreaking turns for the characters. I still love the show. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2014
    6
    I watched the whole 2nd season and it was nowhere near the caliber of season one. I'm hoping the third will be awesome as I am excited for Piper's character development. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Has there ever been a show that has fallen so far so fast? The last 5 episodes of season 1 were awful and by episode 3 of season 2 it's a wonder how anyone could find this show either creative or intelligent. There may not be a better example of stereotypical writing on TV today. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).