• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 463

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    Although this show is relatively entertaining, with the exception of the segments pertaining to her life outside of prison, the show lacks any hint of authenticity. All of these women have been convicted of crimes that warrant prison time and yet they are all portrayed as having a heart of gold. Anyone that has seen lockup would know that even in a women's jail life is much more intense than what has been portrayed in this program. Totally not buying Laura Prepon as any form of heroin dealer (she would be dead in seconds flat) because heroin is a much more serious game than just selling weed. I also find it incredibly hard to believe that a person would even be indicted let alone sentenced for a ten year old crime based on nothing more than the testimony of a criminal trying to get their sentence reduced. All that being said I think the show is still relatively entertaining which came as a complete surprise considering its from the same creator of that awful excuse for a television program they call Weeds, what a pile of crap that is. They could also do without that annoying Regina Spektor noise. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Sharp, engrossing & funny, this “Oz" like Netflix original dramedy about life in a women’s prison is filled with characters & storylines worthy of a 12-hour binge. -MN
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Funny, tense, fresh, fast-paced and mesmerizing the episodes can surprise you over and over, even when they are lacking. The season finale opens a sea of possibilities for improvement.
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great! its a heartwarming, funny, and well mad show! The one thing I don't like is how they make prison look not as bad than it looks. Other than that, its a great show!
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Intelligent, provocative and at times downright hilarious. The cast is stellar and at the top of their game. The writing is nearly flawless and more importantly, I find, incredibly original. But what makes this fast-paced comedy-drama a cut above the rest its huge heart.
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Damn!! To begin with I was not sure this was for me, even before it was released I didn't get the trailer (I don't know why.) But I gave it a shot. One after another I watched every episode, i was completely addicted it took me by surprise how dark it actually got, that by the end I was wanting more.
    Cannot wait for season 2. Loved it. Go watch!!
  8. Jun 11, 2014
    3
    I've watched 11 episodes of season 1 and to be perfectly honest, this is THE most uninteresting,bland,sleep-inducing show about life in prison! Firstly, the main character does NOT in any way possible,shows or remotely shows she has the ability to sell drugs ESPECIALLY herion! Secondly, the prison she's in DOES NOT EVEN REMOTELY RESEMBLE A FREAKING PRISON! How,is probably your question seeing as their in what can barley be called a prison,well its too clean,there's virtually no violence and pretty much every character comes off as an inmate with a heart of gold! Ive seen only ONE inmate hit someone and that was only one slap! A screw driver was taken from the workshop but its only used for masturbation,threats gets made left and right but 20minutes later,there back to being friends,crazy eyes gave me hope that she would actually show some craziness by doing something that would warrent people calling her crazy eyes but the craziest thing she's done so far is urinate on the floor but then,everythings all good after that....i hate empty drama and this crap show is full of drama that goes NOWHERE! They get your blood pumping thinking something will happen and boom!, nothing, and everyone is friends again! It took ten episodes before someone died andthat was bbasically suicde,no one murdered her, she just O.D! One inmate even walks around this college like prison with a freaking huge dog and...you guessed it,NOTHING! No one gets attacked by the dog! The main character insults the chiefs food and the worst thing that happens is a bloody tampon between bread and getting starved for 3 days. Prison life her is like heaven for these inmates when you look at hiw NOTHING happens here! Its a funny show but other then that, it has NOTHING to offer people besides pointless, go nowhere threats that ends with everyone being friends, NO violence,pathetic back stories that DESPERATEL tries to show these ccriminals as innocent angels who made a mistake,like that woman who worked as a cleaner but she kills a guy for beating a young girl..or the track star who had a promising future but let a guy talk her into stealing....its like watching grown people act like kids since the majority of every episode has the inmates crying and feeling sorry for each other...THIS SHOW FREAKING SUCKS! 3/10 just for the comedy since thats all its has going for it. Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    This show proves it can be serious and hilarious all at one time. An unpredictable journey through a women's prison that will give you characters that you love to hate or characters you hate to love.
  10. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    Good show. It feels a little small, but maybe that will change with future seasons. Great cast. Interesting stories. Really different. Love the character back stories.
  11. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    I am truly puzzled by the critics of this excellent show. I am a forensic psychologist who has been in plenty of prisons, including some women's prisons, and this show is the real deal. Sure, it probably condenses and dramaticizes events that more realistically occur over a period of years, but they DO occur, and the inmates are pretty realistic (for a women's prison...in my experience, the intelligence level is lower in men's prisons). The writing and acting are superb. Some professional critics are calling this the "new Mad Men" and I concur. I look forward to Season 2; it it keeps up with Season 1, the we are in for some phenomenal video-watching. Kudos to Netflix: two great shows (House of Cards being the other) in a year!! Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Im from México and i only have a question, when start the second season. I totally loved this original series. Good work, i really need the second season now!!!!!! Really very good Job...!!!!:)
  13. Jun 10, 2014
    3
    I really enjoyed the first season but I've gotten really bored with the second season. I'm much less interested in the characters and I'm tired of the narrative structure of the show.
  14. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best cast of supporting characters I've ever seen. Similar to shows like Thrones and House of Cards, there really isn't an all good or an all bad character which helps make them compelling. Great mix of comedy and drama and hopefully a bright future for many new actresses in this series.
  15. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone that likes any or all of Weeds, Dexter, Damages, or Breaking Bad due to the show's mix of dark humor and drama. It sheds light on some issues you don't see commonly covered, and the acting among the entire cast is incredible.... which is a very rare thing to find! Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    Original, entretenida y con buen guión, buen reparto y roles interesantes rozando a veces lo grotesco.
    Muy recomendable si estáis cansados de series de policías, médicos, etc.
  17. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This show is meandering at best. I have watched 4 episodes so far and I do not know where it is going-which is good. But a bit boring. The characters are slowly revealing themselves but WAY too slowly. I do like the flashbacks to tell the back stories of the characters but cannot stand the boredom between events within each episode. Each episode is about an hour but could easy be told just as well in 30 minutes. Expand
  18. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    I couldn't finish this show. It really got boring and repetetive and I was sick of listening to all the female characters complaining about numerous things.
  19. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    I wouldn't say it's one of the best series I ever watched, but I did enjoy watching the first few episodes. It got boring after a while, they had too many flashbacks so they could tell the character's stories, didn't really roll with me.

    I can see there's a lot of potential for lovable characters since you really get to know them, guess some people might really like this show.
  20. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I was curious about this show due to Jenji Kohan's involvement but didn't have high expectations after Netfilx's last offering, Hemlock Grove. I immediately became hooked on this great new series. It somehow manages to be funny, outrageous, audacious, provocative, poignant, insightful, and frightening all in one episode. The back story of each character and the way the characters interact is so engaging and fun to watch. The acting is superb and the show's writing is extremely sharp. I love the Netflix format which allowed me to watch the entire season in four days. However I almost wish they would release individual or perhaps pairs of episodes at intervals to keep binge watchers like myself from using up a good thing too soon. Now I'm left to wait for season two. I hope it's not a long wait!! Collapse
  21. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Orange is the New Black is one of the best things to have been broadcast, ever. If you don't watch this show, you're missing out on sheer brilliance. With the right balance of drama & comedy they broach real issues spanning from racism, to politics, to homophobia without boring or lecturing the viewers, and they have a stellar cast & a stellar crew to bring it to us & keep us on the edge of our seats right till the last second.

    TL;DR: WATCH THIS SHOW.
    Expand
  22. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Impressive program. It started out a bit light, seeming like a light and fluffy version of prison dramas. But the characterizations were excellent, and the stories were well told. However, the season finale was quite surprising. I'm looking forward to season 2.
  23. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This show was the reason I joined Netflix. I have never been compelled to start an account with that site but after hearing a lot of rave reviews for this show, I decided to give it a shot. Now, not only am I hooked, I have become a die-hard fan in every aspect possible. The show embraces and showcases originality from start to finish. With a premise that has an all-female cast, most of them unknown, it gives a breath of fresh air to the usual staple we get on network TV these days. On top of that, this unknown cast is beyond talented. It is a remarkable show that I hope does not end up going down the route of lacklustre plots in future seasons and continue bringing to the table fantastic story lines that keep you on the binge-watching bandwagon for long. Also, kudos to them for bringing women in TV shows to the forefront. It may be set in a women's prison but it does not stop short of showing a variety of women from different backgrounds, skin colour and sexuality. Expand
  24. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    I agree that the show has no authenticity (the communication between inmates and prison officials is a complete fantasy it's like they are counselors at a rehab or something), but this isn't The Wire either. It's very funny, has a few great storylines and my vote for cliffhanger ending of the year.
  25. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love this show!
    I'm always very cautious with Netflix Originals but this show deserves to be aired on TV because it's that good!

    It mixes drama and comedy very well, there's not one bad actor, each episode has been brilliant and I hope they keep this up in the future, because if they do this show may be around for a long time!
  26. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Unlike Oz, this show is actually watchable. It is more akin to the early years of Weeds. Heartfealt, story with actual meaning and depth. The first episode feels like a bit of fluff, but the show kicks it in to gear in episode 3 with characters and stories that really do make you feel, regardless if its centered around a junkie, murderer or one time retard.
  27. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    GUTSY, in a realm of next generation of Drama escalation. Taylor Schilling quantifies her emotions in such a unique atmosphere as Federal Prison. That I got the feeling of loss, betrayal and epic powerful emotions, but on the same note soft laughs and humor to fill the gaps between downtime's. Jason Biggs brought me to even tears at his volumes of hardships to Taylor. That far surpass his earlier work in anyway. The cast was magnificent and I could number them off. So I will, Kate Mulgrew really brings the sense of nourishment to others as well as the hate for betrayers. Michelle Hurst, with her dark and mirrored past, but holds her spite on the ones who don't piss her off. What an amazing cast, thank you Netflix!!! Expand
  28. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Amazing show, It is funny and can also be serious and emotional. The characters are very interesting and make you want to learn more about them, Waaattcchh itttt.
  29. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    I just finished watching season one of Orange is the New Black and I was surprised with how good the show was. The cast of characters are all interesting and well acted. The production is top notch and the directing is flawless. The writing isn't cliched at all. The protagonist is so real and imperfect that the show isn't predictable but there are hints at plot points early on showing how well the show was planned out. Taylor Schilling plays the main character and she does an incredible job. I'm not too familiar with her as an actress but there are times when she looks almost like a blonde Katy Perry. I also really like the way the show's story is told. It takes almost a Lost approach by introducing you to characters through their past, via flashbacks. The show is crude and sometimes obscene so it isn't for everyone but I think most people would quite enjoy it. Expand
  30. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    So one day it occur me, hey i should watch a new series. Dug for info and found this one and i watch the WHOLE Season in a Weekend. Oh my God it is so Good. I love the whole love triangle, the fact that Pipper completely lost her track facing the reality of her situation, does Alex deserve to be forgiven?, Larry and Pipper are meant to be?. I want all my questions answered next season. Now lets talk about the women, those girls are nuts and I love them to death, they are so funny, the show itself its outrageous, Definitely a MOST watch. So exited for next season. Expand
  31. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Holy eff. This show is the Characters, writing, story lines, back stories, everything thing is magic and who doesn't like watching a bit of magic? I heard the actually book is crap, and not at all this entertaining, but thankfully Jenji knows all about inventing a bit of fiction. I was watching this with the bf (boyfriend, not best friend) and he said, quote, "I kinda wanna go to women's prison." And truth be told, now you, me and all who want can go to women's prison with "Orange is the New Black." Expand
  32. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Not the best show I've ever seen, but it's certainly engrossing. I wouldn't necessarily say it's funny as I haven't found many instances where it was laugh worthy, but it's still good as a drama.
  33. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Great writing, amazing cast, intricate and compelling storytelling, Netflix has brought us one of the better shows of the year. Definitely can't wait to see what the next season dishes out.
  34. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must say that this show is great! Each episode is a bit different from the previous one in that you get to know each character's history and their current situation in the prison. I loved the big black girl who was released after multiple attempts at parole. She was so funny and was definitely my favorite character. But, each lady has her own personality and brings something to the show that makes it all the more enjoyable to watch. Netflix is really doing great with their exclusive shows and this is one of the top this year! Expand
  35. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black...when I first heard the copious amounts of praise i thought it was the same old with Mad Men, Breaking Bad and House of Cards (all amazing shows) For some inexplicable reason, I thought OITNB would be boring; where the hell did I get that idea from?
    Piper Chapman, the character is an educated woman who is convicted of a crime that happened more than a decade ago;
    she says goodbye to her family and friends and enters prison which is the equivalent of Mean Girls except in jail. It's fun, never bores you, and the characters are crazy (they should be) It's easy to binge watch the whole season in a day, and i was shocked to find myself cheering for some of the inmates rather than the guards (particularly Pornstache) A great show! A- Expand
  36. Jun 15, 2014
    5
    4 episodes in and I'm not really interested. The stories are kind of boring and the general events are pretty dull. The back stories are kind of interesting, but they're very short. Ironically for a show that's called Orange is the New Black there isn't much orange in it - but there's a whole lot of beige.
  37. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    Well worth watching. I was expecting "women in chains". I was very pleased with the character development. You could almost smell the prison food and the bathroom looked as nasty as it should.
  38. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believable story-telling. For a series that's billed as a comedy, expect a lot more than just cheap laughs with great acting and a superb script. Netflix do it again, superb.
  39. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    I forgot how good Jenji Kohan can be making television shows. Weeds was incredible for the first 3 seasons. After that it was absolute garbage. This show is already better than Weeds and I've only watched 6 episodes so far. This show has the potential to be one of the most important television shows of our generation. If I had to point out this shows biggest strength it would be the perfect acting, especially by Taylor Schilling. Other than Hemlock Grove, Netflix is batting a thousand with it's exclusive shows. Expand
  40. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    It's probably the best show Netflix has ever produced. It's funny and cover's a wide range of characters and story element's. The main character is interesting and the way we go into different inmates backgrounds is great. All in all it's a fantastic show. Highly recommend. Warning though this is as much a drama as it is a comedy. It's quite interesting.
  41. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Insane! I watched the whole first season in 2 days. It's crazy good. The plot, the characters, everything. Pretty much perfect. It's funny but at the same time it is dead serious. It's the perfect blend of all the aspects that make up a great TV show. I cannot think of one way to improve this show. It's amazing, you have to watch it no matter what you like.
  42. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Orange is the New Black is very entertaining. The comedy can be a little flat at times but the overall, every episode is very satisfying. I don't think there is a single bad actor in the show. Especially, Taylor Schilling. She's just amazing in every way. The character Piper Chapman fits her perfectly and she can dance to Michael Jackson!
  43. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The show takes several episodes to hit its stride so don't give up after the unimpressive pilot. It's mostly a comedy, not a very subtle one, at first and then they go deeper to reveal the characters behind the stereotypes and the stories take on a more dramatic turn instead of an SNL series of skit about ladies jails.
    Don't watch expecting the darkness or grit of Oz though, you won't
    find it, but it's a pleasant watch once they exhausted all the clichés they could think of and start getting into the storytelling. Expand
  44. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    OSTNB is the must see show of 2013. Netflix hit a home run with it. It's a lot better than the newer Arrested Development.

    You won't be disappointed. Anyone who rates it lows, just dislikes it on a personal level because the show has a lot going on and dosent ever seem to get boring.

    One small flaw is the flashbacks. They do them for almost all the main characters, its warranted
    and needed but I dont always feel interested when they are happening. Expand
  45. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I watched the entire 13 episodes in 2 days. it was addicting. When I wasn't watching it, I was thinking about it. I hope to get to see it ongoing I can't wait to find out what happens next!
  46. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    At first, I was incredibly unsure about even the idea of the show. I watched the first episode, and still couldn't decide if I liked it. So, I gave it one more shot and fell in love! This show is great. I've actually spent the entire day watching it. I can't wait for season 2!
  47. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Definitely hooks you in once you start watching it, love the way it keeps moving in multiple directions just when you think its all said and done it moves again!! excellent viewing, great casting.
  48. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Ótima série, o padrão de produção das séries próprias da Netflix está sendo tão bom, ou até melhor, que o da HBO, como sempre sendo comparada! Vale a pena manter assinatura.
  49. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    A pleasant surprise. So far, I've enjoyed this and Lilyhammer (another original Netflix show). Each episode provide a great story line that slowly built the whole season towards the season finale. The ending made sure you wanted to watch for air time for Season 2!
  50. Jul 26, 2013
    5
    I find the show very entertaining. Women prison is an interesting setting for a show, and the writers do a good job of making the characters interesting. They go into common backgrounds of broken families and heartbreaking upbringings sometimes, and then balance that with some characters who just make bad decisions. The pace of the show keeps you watching episode after episode. I give it a medium score for two reasons. One, prison is not that fluffy. One in 25 people are sociopaths in the real world, and I would bet that number is much higher in prison. The show portrays the inmates as having hearts of gold. I don't mind the hearts of gold perspective, but sometimes the show really loses me because it is so unrealistic. Also, the worst inmate is a Jesus freak, and I really hate that they make her the bad guy. Religion does a lot for addiction and ex convicts, and this show does a supreme disservice by portraying religion in prison in a bad light. That alone makes the rest of the show seem mediocre. Expand
  51. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    This series is just too good! Character driven, it has a interesting storyline, good sense of humor, good actors, good cinematography. It's all there. Very entertaining!
  52. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    I'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even a transgender actress) made up of many different races and ages. It uses the same structure as LOST (one character's backstory per episode) but the similarities with that show end there. It's hilarious, bold, scathing, and just FUN to watch (I think some of the critics are overlooking that). If you're like me and couldn't stand Weeds, don't worry--this is MUCH better than that show. Expand
  53. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    This was a great first season. Loved the writing, characters, and I was so engrossed in the series that I binged watched the final 5 episodes. Looking forward to season 2.
  54. Jul 30, 2013
    5
    Based on the pilot alone, I can't say I'm terribly impressed by the show. I felt at one point I was watching what would happen if one of the cast of Friends had to go to prison. Orange also wants to appeal immediately to the demographic that is still shocked or entertained by models as lesbians who eventually realize they want to marry a man, the lure used with Kissing Jessica Stein in the past.

    The supporting characters are written so flat it would suggest the writers wanted to make sure you understood who everybody was immediately based on characters you've seen in countless television shows before.

    Even the minor surprise for the episode would have been better if it had been delayed.

    Some of the aspects of prison life are fairly accurate, but others are strange. I'll revisit my review after subsequent episodes.
    Expand
  55. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    When I first saw this show I had no idea what I was watching, but I was hooked. It's funny, edgy and thought provoking. What made this show even better to me was learning that it was based on the very real experiences of the writer/author Piper Kerman's one year in prison.

    At a time in my life when I was unsure of what career move I was going to make this show has inspired me to work in
    the female correctional facility in my country, something I never believed would've been possible with just my undergrad degree. Expand
  56. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word: AMAZING!!
    Funny, hilirious, awesome this Show I loved it and can´t wait of season 2! A great show, so don´t stop production, then I infected all my friends with it and allmost all loved too
    Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Netflix made a good move with this show. It's not quite on par with House of Cards, but infinitely better than Hemlock Grove. I enjoyed the first season, but I have mixed feelings about it and probably will not watch any subsequent season.

    This show isn't a realistic depiction of women's prison. Read the book by the real Piper Kerman if you want that. There's no tampon sandwiches, no guards impregnating inmates, no staged suicides, no brutal violence, an no lesbian sex taking place in every nook and cranny of the institution. But all that stuff is what makes good TV, and keeps you hooked in. The show does a good job of conveying the surreal experience of the main character, even if it borders on absurd at times.

    The reason I have mixed feelings about the show is this: this show's target audience is privileged, white liberals. And it does a FANTASTIC job of tickling all the political erogenous zones of said target audience. Not only does the show aim to confirm progressive beliefs about prison, but manages to shoehorn liberal dogma into nearly every episode. Allow me to elaborate.

    There's the basic Hollywood playbook stuff: Non stop lesbian sexual encounters, the plight of the transgendered in prison, and a comedic depiction of prison racial tribalism as seen through the lens of white privilege. Actual gangs do not exist in the show. Then there's the hardcore dogma...

    The prison is run by corrupt administrators who are drunk on the job, embezzle money, have sex with the inmates, deal drugs, stage suicides, and are arguably bigger criminals than the women they are in charge of. This applies to almost every guard, counselor, and administrator in the show. There is one guard who is deliberately kept "clean and pure", so that she can approach the main character and proclaim that they are only different because one of them got caught. The guard professes to have also made "bad choices" in life a euphemism frequently used in place of "committed crime" in the show.

    The inmates' back stories are explored, via sob-story flashbacks, usually showing that they are victims of circumstance or committed justifiable crimes. There's one who murdered a rapist, one who accidentally shot a kid on her property, the street kid who wants to payback all the victims of her shoplifting, a host of substances abusers, and the protagonist who was busted for muleing drug money a decade earlier just barely making the statute of limitations. There are no hardened criminals who get flashbacks.

    There's the obligatory scene where an inmate explains how prison is preferable to working minimum wage If that doesn't scream "privileged white liberals believe this, but very few minimum wage workers do" then you probably found it equally plausible that a bunch of inmates would spend their money on pocket radios to listen to NPR.

    Then there are the "Christians" in the show. One is a nun who chained herself to a missile silo or something. She is the "good Christian". The rest of them are violent methamphetamine abusers with horrible teeth. The leader of the "Christians" is a meth-head who has had multiple abortions, but unwittingly gained the support of a "pro-life" organization after gunning down a clinic worker on the day of her fifth abortion. She even had the aforementioned "pro-lifers" literally cheering for her at trial. That's how she came to the Lord, you see.

    They even wrote in a scene where the Christian meth heads tee up the protagonist for a slam-dunk monologue that made evangelical atheists everywhere climax in their pants. Piper declares herself a champion of science, explains that religion is a crutch, ponders the fate of non-Christians in foreign lands, and even manages to work in a reverent incantation of the name Neil deGrasse Tyson.

    At some point during the show, almost every villain charter, from guard to meth-head, will make it clear that they are a "conservative" by complaining about liberals, Obama, or dropping some other hint. The writers probably thought they were being subtle there, but it's pretty obvious.

    In spite of being full of so much liberal dogma, they actually managed to make the show funny and entertaining. And it really does hold your attention, and keep you wanting more. That's why it gets a five and not a zero.
    Expand
  58. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    When I first heard about this show I thought it was going to be a US version of the UK show Bad Girls, I heard that jenji kohan created the show and it had the storyline of taking drugs over the border, I thought that it was going to be like weeds, so I wanted to watch a little bit so I seen the trailer and it looks like a good show and it is, considering the fact that it's a true story (it's hard remaking a story that happened in reality) as soon as it came out I had a marathon of all the episodes, it's very sharp sometimes grossing and sometimes really uncomfortable. Expand
  59. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    Congrats Netflix! Best show of the summer. Great writing, amazing performances, and no agenda except to show that folks in prison are mostly unbalanced and/or good people who did dumb stuff. Neither group should be in prison. Its time to empty prisons of non-violent offenders and lower taxes.
  60. 423
    Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Watched the whole series in 1 weekend. Its outstanding. It humanizes prisoners and is hilarious (and totally unrealistic). At the same time you're watching a rich sweet hispter chick slowly lose everything and become hardened.
  61. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I was a bit ambivalent about this show. It wasn't what I thought it would be, and yet, it was. I think there are some truisms here, but hyperbole also.

    On a scale of 1 10, I give it a 6.

    Terrible, terrible ending to Season 1, and I most likely won't return.
  62. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    I was scared to develop a lot of my time watching this series but in the end, it was a great time spending with Piper, Alex, Red, and all the other memorable characters developed throughout this well-thought out drama. This isn't just a normal drama but has every single thing you would want in a hit TV-show premise. It's story, which doesn't dissappoint in it's twist and turns that always leaves you in shock after each episode. Next, it's comedy, which was surprisingly not dull at any moment and always had me laughing. Finally, its romantic part. There were many parts of these romantic parts that always had me loving each bit of it suprisingly. Season 1 of Orange is the New Black was an original piece of entertainment that will be remembered for years to come. Expand
  63. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Went into this show apprehensively, didn't seem like something I would enjoy, but friends said to go for it. I'm not sure I've been more pleasantly surprised about a show before. It picks up quickly, all the characters are interesting and there's hardly a dull moment. It's funny, it's gripping, and so what if it isn't completely true-to-life... it's a television show, not a documentary, though it is based off a real person's story and their book of the same name. The only con is in the way Netflix releases their shows, I binge-watched and now I'm going through withdrawals waiting for the next season. Expand
  64. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for the next season.
  65. SSV
    Sep 2, 2013
    9
    In this series, allot of genres are being covered. There are allot of funny moments, moments of excitement, of sadness, moments of utter ridiculousness, and the occasional R Rated scenes, which personally I do not mind at all! These characteristics make this series an overall plus in my opinion and seeing all of the other reviews here I think most of you (us) agree.
  66. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    The title does not serve the show right. The show is amazing, I've never been so addicted to a series. Alex and Piper, pure electric romance. All the stores are captivating. Funny, dark, and yet very real. I can't believe I have to wait for Season 2 and I hope it'll be just as good. This show makes me reflect on so many topics about the justice system, personal identity, homophobia, etc. All without you knowing it! You'll be on the ride and in complete disbelief that it's over. Bring on Season 2, please. Expand
  67. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollo o y mi votación es de 8. Un saludo.
  68. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I was quite surpirsed with the quality and caliber of 'Orange is the new Black' Jenji Kohan does a remarkable job and really connects with the viewer and takes you on an emotional journey with a good dose of humor. Great work Netflix!
  69. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    It is much better than I expected. The actresses really get to their characters. The show is always surprising because they use all the story-lines not only the main one. It is exciting see what a female prison like that works, and is refreshing how they talk about lesbianism and human relationships. A must see Tv show. You wont regret it.
  70. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Great show. It has good writing, has a cast that works well together, has amazing performances (both female and male save one), is heartwarming and is as sharp as a shiv. The actress that plays the main character does not seem to have a hard time keeping up with all of the perfect performances going on around her. All-in-all it is smart-cute-creepy-funny-sexy-fun.

    I can do without the
    guy from American Pie or watch the writers and directors fail at the OZ-like flashbacks. The rest of the show makes up for these small problems. The Pie-pooftah has a family that is very open and embarrassing (go figure he is playing the same character) is flat and could make a better comedic straight man in a show that was not as smart as this one. Some of the cuts, back to various inmates' pasts, do not transition as seamlessly as I would like causing more of a disconnect when a few lines of dialogue could keep me in the moment or some narration (over the flashback) could keep the story on track. Expand
  71. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    REVOLUTIONARY MAGNIFICENT AND ALL ROUND FREAKING AMAZING. 910 FOR ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 1. GREAT WRITING AND GREAT CHARACTERS. PERFORMANCES ARE TOP NOTCH.
  72. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    Because a lot of people have made a buzz about this series, I spent a night downloading all the 13 episodes for season 1. Until now, I still haven't watched episode 10. I am busy watching other TV Shows. I just don't find the same fondness others have found about the show. I could see that the stories are great but it is not necessarily a standout series. The settings are new but the rest about it are normal. Expand
  73. May 26, 2014
    9
    The freshest show out there. Listen this show is wildly original with great acting and writing. Orange is the new black brings humor and drama together so well it's almost scary. Of course this is not a kids show but OTITNB Is great watch the show you won't be sorry
  74. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I was not sure that the show was going to be good because the premise seemed too simple. But I checked it out anyway and, man!, I would've regretted it so bad had I never seen this show. The cast managed to make me feel all depressed, happy, and frustrated. A definite roller coaster road! And honestly, I never thought Jason Biggs could act like he does in Orange is the New Black. Kudos!
  75. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    I found this to be a Take It Or Leave It kind of show........somewhat interesting, but easy to walk away from and not really miss at all. I DID watch the first season, but was not compelled to watch the second. Kind of boring overall.
  76. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Awesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidays let me have enough time to enjoy it calmly and i couldn't be more happy. It was a wonderful surprise. All actors/actresses performed greatly and each episode was watched with a true and sincere attention and the desire to watch the episode after that just watched constantly grew up with the evolving of the series. I hope the 2nd season will be so enjoyable to watch.
    Good work Netflix; finally.
    Expand
  77. Feb 17, 2014
    5
    The show is interesting enough, but feels like much of the same that is currently on network TV (With the exception of the lesbian love making). After a whole season of character development and I feel we are still back at square one. The back and forth character sways that create much of the drama this season seem over done and got boring near the end. I look forward to see what changes in season 2. Expand
  78. Apr 22, 2014
    6
    While this show certainly gave me countless laughs, I was often put off by the clearly political undertones. The acting is great, the characters (at least the main ones) are solid, and I loved the unique female prison setting that it uses. Although like I said before, the political undertones were not my favorite, and they would often halt any laughter or excitement I had with continuing the show. This show is a good one, and kept pulling me back in despite the rather biased political content that is constantly shoved in your face. This is a great show that is plagued with politics. If I wanted to have an internal dispute based on biased politics, I would watch Fox News. Please don't give us what we already have enough of in this country. Long story short: Good show that could have been great. Expand
  79. May 15, 2014
    10
    I'm truly hooked on Orange Is The New Black one of the reasons I watch it because it has my favorite actress Kate Mulgrew in it as Red, this show is also highly entertaining and over the top, the stories are amazing and this show is completely original and addicting.

    But OITNB is too sexual, is there any point to it? It doesn't add to the story or anything and rather pointless. Also I
    really hate Jason Biggs (Larry) both the actor and the character, bother are so annoying I cringe whenever he comes on, he's a terrible actor and has a baby face need I say more? He's definitely not acting material.

    But otherwise I highly recommend OITNB.
    Expand
  80. May 15, 2014
    10
    Even if the plot is somewhat hard to believe, it's the acting that has me hooked. Taylor Schilling is pure gold in this role, and excellently weaves together aspects of a character that you both hate and love. Whether or not you're a fan of Jenji Kohan, the jokes are funny, the conflicts tense, and the show worth watching. At least give it a try.
  81. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    I like it hadhidjisjdskdmskndskndksmdskcmskfmekdjskfnkenfekfnekhfekhfkefhkevjixjeifhekjdkemce kcendkenwjnwfdkwfn. Kfjelkfepfkpeifodfeoifoejfoejfoej
  82. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    I have just finished watching series one, this program is fantastic and very addictive. It is not what I expected at all, it's very touching and I love how you slowly get introduced to the characters. It had my in tears at times and laughter at other times, it was truly an experience to watch. Can't wait to see series 2. Well done to the writers and the cast. Fantastic.
  83. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Never watch shows like this normally but totally hooked now can't wait for series 2. A lot to take in but one you know the characters you soon get into the show. We'll written and well acted!
  84. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    How do you get views on your tv show when there is no depth? Sex scenes! yay! Hmmm but thats not quite enough.... what is a very taboo subject lately? something that could draw in some more views..... Lesbians! yes! its revolutionary! That way the people that watch this show are either horny dudes or lesbian women. I think we have a hit series on our hands...
  85. Jul 13, 2014
    3
    I have to say so far i'm disappointed by season 2 given i'm only 7 episodes in it has turned into a chick flick and far away from the solid drama that i loved in the first season.
    Being a guy my fav shows being breaking bad / 24 /dexter i never thought i'd like this show but season 1 really impressed me however season 2 has just been a let down.. to be fair it maybe the fact that i binge
    watched fargo between the two seasons Expand
  86. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    I recently started watching this show and wow is it good! The show focuses on Piper Chapman as its main character but through its extensive use of short-segmented flashbacks, we learn the past lives of mos of the other convicts. This adds depth to the show and allows us to have a more detailed opinion on each character. The acting could be better however is acceptable enough to provide more than sufficient entertainment. I rate this highly for a Netflix produced show. Expand
  87. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    OK been watching for 25min 30secs, not laughed once, not intrigued once, what exactly you losers see in this doldrum idiocy? **** dont impress me, girls smooching, whatever. Is this the cause for intrigue? **** in prison. Ok now im at 28:22 first episode. How long should I give it people?
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Quibbles aside, watching this superb cast working together remains a pleasure, and it makes Season 2 of Orange Is the New Black an irresistible summer viewing choice.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    Orange has graphic scenes that aren’t for kids. But they aren’t played for cheap gags, either, and that attitude serves the production well. With Schilling in top form, this Orange tastes fresh.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.