Orange is the New Black : Season 1

  • Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 632 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 632

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging andI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Funny, tense, fresh, fast-paced and mesmerizing the episodes can surprise you over and over, even when they are lacking. The season finale opens a sea of possibilities for improvement.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This show is meandering at best. I have watched 4 episodes so far and I do not know where it is going-which is good. But a bit boring. The characters are slowly revealing themselves but WAY too slowly. I do like the flashbacks to tell the back stories of the characters but cannot stand the boredom between events within each episode. Each episode is about an hour but could easy be toldThis show is meandering at best. I have watched 4 episodes so far and I do not know where it is going-which is good. But a bit boring. The characters are slowly revealing themselves but WAY too slowly. I do like the flashbacks to tell the back stories of the characters but cannot stand the boredom between events within each episode. Each episode is about an hour but could easy be told just as well in 30 minutes. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    Well worth watching. I was expecting "women in chains". I was very pleased with the character development. You could almost smell the prison food and the bathroom looked as nasty as it should.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    I wouldn't say it's one of the best series I ever watched, but I did enjoy watching the first few episodes. It got boring after a while, they had too many flashbacks so they could tell the character's stories, didn't really roll with me.

    I can see there's a lot of potential for lovable characters since you really get to know them, guess some people might really like this show.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I was quite surpirsed with the quality and caliber of 'Orange is the new Black' Jenji Kohan does a remarkable job and really connects with the viewer and takes you on an emotional journey with a good dose of humor. Great work Netflix!
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I was not sure that the show was going to be good because the premise seemed too simple. But I checked it out anyway and, man!, I would've regretted it so bad had I never seen this show. The cast managed to make me feel all depressed, happy, and frustrated. A definite roller coaster road! And honestly, I never thought Jason Biggs could act like he does in Orange is the New Black. Kudos!
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    I found this to be a Take It Or Leave It kind of show........somewhat interesting, but easy to walk away from and not really miss at all. I DID watch the first season, but was not compelled to watch the second. Kind of boring overall.
  9. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This show was the reason I joined Netflix. I have never been compelled to start an account with that site but after hearing a lot of rave reviews for this show, I decided to give it a shot. Now, not only am I hooked, I have become a die-hard fan in every aspect possible. The show embraces and showcases originality from start to finish. With a premise that has an all-female cast, most ofThis show was the reason I joined Netflix. I have never been compelled to start an account with that site but after hearing a lot of rave reviews for this show, I decided to give it a shot. Now, not only am I hooked, I have become a die-hard fan in every aspect possible. The show embraces and showcases originality from start to finish. With a premise that has an all-female cast, most of them unknown, it gives a breath of fresh air to the usual staple we get on network TV these days. On top of that, this unknown cast is beyond talented. It is a remarkable show that I hope does not end up going down the route of lacklustre plots in future seasons and continue bringing to the table fantastic story lines that keep you on the binge-watching bandwagon for long. Also, kudos to them for bringing women in TV shows to the forefront. It may be set in a women's prison but it does not stop short of showing a variety of women from different backgrounds, skin colour and sexuality. Expand
  10. Jul 13, 2014
    3
    I have to say so far i'm disappointed by season 2 given i'm only 7 episodes in it has turned into a chick flick and far away from the solid drama that i loved in the first season.
    Being a guy my fav shows being breaking bad / 24 /dexter i never thought i'd like this show but season 1 really impressed me however season 2 has just been a let down.. to be fair it maybe the fact that i binge
    I have to say so far i'm disappointed by season 2 given i'm only 7 episodes in it has turned into a chick flick and far away from the solid drama that i loved in the first season.
    Being a guy my fav shows being breaking bad / 24 /dexter i never thought i'd like this show but season 1 really impressed me however season 2 has just been a let down.. to be fair it maybe the fact that i binge watched fargo between the two seasons
    Expand
  11. Sep 18, 2014
    0
    Humor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn't take me long before I decided I really didn't care what happened to any of them (ie. first episode). And though some people are calling the show heartwarming, to me it just seemed as trite and shallow as a dollar store greeting card. Ultimately OrangeHumor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn't take me long before I decided I really didn't care what happened to any of them (ie. first episode). And though some people are calling the show heartwarming, to me it just seemed as trite and shallow as a dollar store greeting card. Ultimately Orange is the New Black is just another empty drama aimed at women, and seems to be the female counterpart of a mindless action flick. Zero out of ten. Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    Cette série est sensationnelle. Je suis très sélective et très compliquée sur les séries, il faut vraiment qu'elles me plaisent, mais Orange Is The New Black est une série hors du commun. Elle sort de l'ordinaire et est unique, globalement elle est parfaite. Je l'adore, mes amies l'adore, ma famille l'adore. J'esère que cette série comportera minimum 5 saisons, elle est génial, rendCette série est sensationnelle. Je suis très sélective et très compliquée sur les séries, il faut vraiment qu'elles me plaisent, mais Orange Is The New Black est une série hors du commun. Elle sort de l'ordinaire et est unique, globalement elle est parfaite. Je l'adore, mes amies l'adore, ma famille l'adore. J'esère que cette série comportera minimum 5 saisons, elle est génial, rend accro, et je n'ai en aucun cas envie qu'elle se termine, les personnages sont trop attachants. Les deux premières saisons étaient top. Tout est parfait, félicitations, continuez. Expand
  13. May 29, 2015
    2
    Why is this show so popular? Everyone in this awful series is a bloody moron and the "urethra revelation" episode proves it. I hope no one is rating this show because of the **** and **** sex, don't get me wrong, I love both of those things as much as the next person but damn people... Even porn has a better story.
  14. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Sharp, engrossing & funny, this “Oz" like Netflix original dramedy about life in a women’s prison is filled with characters & storylines worthy of a 12-hour binge. -MN
  15. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Damn!! To begin with I was not sure this was for me, even before it was released I didn't get the trailer (I don't know why.) But I gave it a shot. One after another I watched every episode, i was completely addicted it took me by surprise how dark it actually got, that by the end I was wanting more.
    Cannot wait for season 2. Loved it. Go watch!!
  16. Jun 11, 2014
    3
    I've watched 11 episodes of season 1 and to be perfectly honest, this is THE most uninteresting,bland,sleep-inducing show about life in prison! Firstly, the main character does NOT in any way possible,shows or remotely shows she has the ability to sell drugs ESPECIALLY herion! Secondly, the prison she's in DOES NOT EVEN REMOTELY RESEMBLE A FREAKING PRISON! How,is probably your questionI've watched 11 episodes of season 1 and to be perfectly honest, this is THE most uninteresting,bland,sleep-inducing show about life in prison! Firstly, the main character does NOT in any way possible,shows or remotely shows she has the ability to sell drugs ESPECIALLY herion! Secondly, the prison she's in DOES NOT EVEN REMOTELY RESEMBLE A FREAKING PRISON! How,is probably your question seeing as their in what can barley be called a prison,well its too clean,there's virtually no violence and pretty much every character comes off as an inmate with a heart of gold! Ive seen only ONE inmate hit someone and that was only one slap! A screw driver was taken from the workshop but its only used for masturbation,threats gets made left and right but 20minutes later,there back to being friends,crazy eyes gave me hope that she would actually show some craziness by doing something that would warrent people calling her crazy eyes but the craziest thing she's done so far is urinate on the floor but then,everythings all good after that....i hate empty drama and this crap show is full of drama that goes NOWHERE! They get your blood pumping thinking something will happen and boom!, nothing, and everyone is friends again! It took ten episodes before someone died andthat was bbasically suicde,no one murdered her, she just O.D! One inmate even walks around this college like prison with a freaking huge dog and...you guessed it,NOTHING! No one gets attacked by the dog! The main character insults the chiefs food and the worst thing that happens is a bloody tampon between bread and getting starved for 3 days. Prison life her is like heaven for these inmates when you look at hiw NOTHING happens here! Its a funny show but other then that, it has NOTHING to offer people besides pointless, go nowhere threats that ends with everyone being friends, NO violence,pathetic back stories that DESPERATEL tries to show these ccriminals as innocent angels who made a mistake,like that woman who worked as a cleaner but she kills a guy for beating a young girl..or the track star who had a promising future but let a guy talk her into stealing....its like watching grown people act like kids since the majority of every episode has the inmates crying and feeling sorry for each other...THIS SHOW FREAKING SUCKS! 3/10 just for the comedy since thats all its has going for it. Expand
  17. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Intelligent, provocative and at times downright hilarious. The cast is stellar and at the top of their game. The writing is nearly flawless and more importantly, I find, incredibly original. But what makes this fast-paced comedy-drama a cut above the rest its huge heart.
  18. Jun 10, 2014
    3
    I really enjoyed the first season but I've gotten really bored with the second season. I'm much less interested in the characters and I'm tired of the narrative structure of the show.
  19. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    I couldn't finish this show. It really got boring and repetetive and I was sick of listening to all the female characters complaining about numerous things.
  20. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    This show proves it can be serious and hilarious all at one time. An unpredictable journey through a women's prison that will give you characters that you love to hate or characters you hate to love.
  21. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    Good show. It feels a little small, but maybe that will change with future seasons. Great cast. Interesting stories. Really different. Love the character back stories.
  22. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    I am truly puzzled by the critics of this excellent show. I am a forensic psychologist who has been in plenty of prisons, including some women's prisons, and this show is the real deal. Sure, it probably condenses and dramaticizes events that more realistically occur over a period of years, but they DO occur, and the inmates are pretty realistic (for a women's prison...in my experience,I am truly puzzled by the critics of this excellent show. I am a forensic psychologist who has been in plenty of prisons, including some women's prisons, and this show is the real deal. Sure, it probably condenses and dramaticizes events that more realistically occur over a period of years, but they DO occur, and the inmates are pretty realistic (for a women's prison...in my experience, the intelligence level is lower in men's prisons). The writing and acting are superb. Some professional critics are calling this the "new Mad Men" and I concur. I look forward to Season 2; it it keeps up with Season 1, the we are in for some phenomenal video-watching. Kudos to Netflix: two great shows (House of Cards being the other) in a year!! Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Im from México and i only have a question, when start the second season. I totally loved this original series. Good work, i really need the second season now!!!!!! Really very good Job...!!!!:)
  24. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great! its a heartwarming, funny, and well mad show! The one thing I don't like is how they make prison look not as bad than it looks. Other than that, its a great show!
  25. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone that likes any or all of Weeds, Dexter, Damages, or Breaking Bad due to the show's mix of dark humor and drama. It sheds light on some issues you don't see commonly covered, and the acting among the entire cast is incredible.... which is a veryI don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone that likes any or all of Weeds, Dexter, Damages, or Breaking Bad due to the show's mix of dark humor and drama. It sheds light on some issues you don't see commonly covered, and the acting among the entire cast is incredible.... which is a very rare thing to find! Expand
  26. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    Original, entretenida y con buen guión, buen reparto y roles interesantes rozando a veces lo grotesco.
    Muy recomendable si estáis cansados de series de policías, médicos, etc.
  27. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The show takes several episodes to hit its stride so don't give up after the unimpressive pilot. It's mostly a comedy, not a very subtle one, at first and then they go deeper to reveal the characters behind the stereotypes and the stories take on a more dramatic turn instead of an SNL series of skit about ladies jails.
    Don't watch expecting the darkness or grit of Oz though, you won't
    The show takes several episodes to hit its stride so don't give up after the unimpressive pilot. It's mostly a comedy, not a very subtle one, at first and then they go deeper to reveal the characters behind the stereotypes and the stories take on a more dramatic turn instead of an SNL series of skit about ladies jails.
    Don't watch expecting the darkness or grit of Oz though, you won't find it, but it's a pleasant watch once they exhausted all the clichés they could think of and start getting into the storytelling.
    Expand
  28. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I was curious about this show due to Jenji Kohan's involvement but didn't have high expectations after Netfilx's last offering, Hemlock Grove. I immediately became hooked on this great new series. It somehow manages to be funny, outrageous, audacious, provocative, poignant, insightful, and frightening all in one episode. The back story of each character and the way the characters interactI was curious about this show due to Jenji Kohan's involvement but didn't have high expectations after Netfilx's last offering, Hemlock Grove. I immediately became hooked on this great new series. It somehow manages to be funny, outrageous, audacious, provocative, poignant, insightful, and frightening all in one episode. The back story of each character and the way the characters interact is so engaging and fun to watch. The acting is superb and the show's writing is extremely sharp. I love the Netflix format which allowed me to watch the entire season in four days. However I almost wish they would release individual or perhaps pairs of episodes at intervals to keep binge watchers like myself from using up a good thing too soon. Now I'm left to wait for season two. I hope it's not a long wait!! Expand
  29. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Orange is the New Black is one of the best things to have been broadcast, ever. If you don't watch this show, you're missing out on sheer brilliance. With the right balance of drama & comedy they broach real issues spanning from racism, to politics, to homophobia without boring or lecturing the viewers, and they have a stellar cast & a stellar crew to bring it to us & keep us on the edgeOrange is the New Black is one of the best things to have been broadcast, ever. If you don't watch this show, you're missing out on sheer brilliance. With the right balance of drama & comedy they broach real issues spanning from racism, to politics, to homophobia without boring or lecturing the viewers, and they have a stellar cast & a stellar crew to bring it to us & keep us on the edge of our seats right till the last second.

    TL;DR: WATCH THIS SHOW.
    Expand
  30. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Impressive program. It started out a bit light, seeming like a light and fluffy version of prison dramas. But the characterizations were excellent, and the stories were well told. However, the season finale was quite surprising. I'm looking forward to season 2.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Quibbles aside, watching this superb cast working together remains a pleasure, and it makes Season 2 of Orange Is the New Black an irresistible summer viewing choice.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    Orange has graphic scenes that aren’t for kids. But they aren’t played for cheap gags, either, and that attitude serves the production well. With Schilling in top form, this Orange tastes fresh.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.