• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Michael Harney, Laura Prepon, Kate Mulgrew
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
  • Creator: Jenji Kohan
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 12:00 AM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love this show!
    I'm always very cautious with Netflix Originals but this show deserves to be aired on TV because it's that
    I love, love, love this show!
    I'm always very cautious with Netflix Originals but this show deserves to be aired on TV because it's that good!

    It mixes drama and comedy very well, there's not one bad actor, each episode has been brilliant and I hope they keep this up in the future, because if they do this show may be around for a long time!
    Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    I see no reason NOT to rate this a perfect ten. This show is captivating, entertaining, and the plot is simply amazing. I have watched bothI see no reason NOT to rate this a perfect ten. This show is captivating, entertaining, and the plot is simply amazing. I have watched both seasons, and am anxiously awaiting the release of the third season in 2015! Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of theI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Collapse
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for theI did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for the next season. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black...when I first heard the copious amounts of praise i thought it was the same old with Mad Men, Breaking Bad and HouseOrange is the New Black...when I first heard the copious amounts of praise i thought it was the same old with Mad Men, Breaking Bad and House of Cards (all amazing shows) For some inexplicable reason, I thought OITNB would be boring; where the hell did I get that idea from?
    Piper Chapman, the character is an educated woman who is convicted of a crime that happened more than a decade ago; she says goodbye to her family and friends and enters prison which is the equivalent of Mean Girls except in jail. It's fun, never bores you, and the characters are crazy (they should be) It's easy to binge watch the whole season in a day, and i was shocked to find myself cheering for some of the inmates rather than the guards (particularly Pornstache) A great show! A-
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The show takes several episodes to hit its stride so don't give up after the unimpressive pilot. It's mostly a comedy, not a very subtle one,The show takes several episodes to hit its stride so don't give up after the unimpressive pilot. It's mostly a comedy, not a very subtle one, at first and then they go deeper to reveal the characters behind the stereotypes and the stories take on a more dramatic turn instead of an SNL series of skit about ladies jails.
    Don't watch expecting the darkness or grit of Oz though, you won't find it, but it's a pleasant watch once they exhausted all the clichés they could think of and start getting into the storytelling.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    OK been watching for 25min 30secs, not laughed once, not intrigued once, what exactly you losers see in this doldrum idiocy? **** dont impressOK been watching for 25min 30secs, not laughed once, not intrigued once, what exactly you losers see in this doldrum idiocy? **** dont impress me, girls smooching, whatever. Is this the cause for intrigue? **** in prison. Ok now im at 28:22 first episode. How long should I give it people? Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).