• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 564 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 99
  2. Negative: 10 out of 99
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love this show!
    I'm always very cautious with Netflix Originals but this show deserves to be aired on TV because it's that
    I love, love, love this show!
    I'm always very cautious with Netflix Originals but this show deserves to be aired on TV because it's that good!

    It mixes drama and comedy very well, there's not one bad actor, each episode has been brilliant and I hope they keep this up in the future, because if they do this show may be around for a long time!
    Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    This really was a surprise for me. The term "Netflix Original" was enough to put me off, however I gave it a shot and oh boy, I simply cannotThis really was a surprise for me. The term "Netflix Original" was enough to put me off, however I gave it a shot and oh boy, I simply cannot wait for another series. The storylines are quirky, the characters are original and memorable, the guards are well represented and pornstache is.... well.... pornstache.

    I recommend anybody to watch this series and dare not to enjoy it. Another bonus, it is very nice to see Jason Biggs having nothing to do with any type of pie.
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of theI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believableThoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believable story-telling. For a series that's billed as a comedy, expect a lot more than just cheap laughs with great acting and a superb script. Netflix do it again, superb. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Awesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidaysAwesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidays let me have enough time to enjoy it calmly and i couldn't be more happy. It was a wonderful surprise. All actors/actresses performed greatly and each episode was watched with a true and sincere attention and the desire to watch the episode after that just watched constantly grew up with the evolving of the series. I hope the 2nd season will be so enjoyable to watch.
    Good work Netflix; finally.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    Well worth watching. I was expecting "women in chains". I was very pleased with the character development. You could almost smell theWell worth watching. I was expecting "women in chains". I was very pleased with the character development. You could almost smell the prison food and the bathroom looked as nasty as it should. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    OK been watching for 25min 30secs, not laughed once, not intrigued once, what exactly you losers see in this doldrum idiocy? **** dont impressOK been watching for 25min 30secs, not laughed once, not intrigued once, what exactly you losers see in this doldrum idiocy? **** dont impress me, girls smooching, whatever. Is this the cause for intrigue? **** in prison. Ok now im at 28:22 first episode. How long should I give it people? Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  4. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  5. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  6. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).