Orange is the New Black : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 730 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 109
  2. Negative: 12 out of 109
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    Even if the plot is somewhat hard to believe, it's the acting that has me hooked. Taylor Schilling is pure gold in this role, and excellentlyEven if the plot is somewhat hard to believe, it's the acting that has me hooked. Taylor Schilling is pure gold in this role, and excellently weaves together aspects of a character that you both hate and love. Whether or not you're a fan of Jenji Kohan, the jokes are funny, the conflicts tense, and the show worth watching. At least give it a try. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it toI don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone that likes any or all of Weeds, Dexter, Damages, or Breaking Bad due to the show's mix of dark humor and drama. It sheds light on some issues you don't see commonly covered, and the acting among the entire cast is incredible.... which is a very rare thing to find! Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of theI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believableThoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believable story-telling. For a series that's billed as a comedy, expect a lot more than just cheap laughs with great acting and a superb script. Netflix do it again, superb. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Awesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidaysAwesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidays let me have enough time to enjoy it calmly and i couldn't be more happy. It was a wonderful surprise. All actors/actresses performed greatly and each episode was watched with a true and sincere attention and the desire to watch the episode after that just watched constantly grew up with the evolving of the series. I hope the 2nd season will be so enjoyable to watch.
    Good work Netflix; finally.
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    I'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even aI'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even a transgender actress) made up of many different races and ages. It uses the same structure as LOST (one character's backstory per episode) but the similarities with that show end there. It's hilarious, bold, scathing, and just FUN to watch (I think some of the critics are overlooking that). If you're like me and couldn't stand Weeds, don't worry--this is MUCH better than that show. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2014
    0
    Humor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn'tHumor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn't take me long before I decided I really didn't care what happened to any of them (ie. first episode). And though some people are calling the show heartwarming, to me it just seemed as trite and shallow as a dollar store greeting card. Ultimately Orange is the New Black is just another empty drama aimed at women, and seems to be the female counterpart of a mindless action flick. Zero out of ten. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows

    Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: May 11, 2016
    Find a guide to the most notable shows debuting this summer, including promising newcomers like Preacher and The Night Of and the returns of Mr. Robot, You're the Worst, Orange Is the New Black, and more.
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  4. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  6. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  7. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  8. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).