• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 83
  2. Negative: 6 out of 83
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Holy eff. This show is the Characters, writing, story lines, back stories, everything thing is magic and who doesn't like watching a bit of magic? I heard the actually book is crap, and not at all this entertaining, but thankfully Jenji knows all about inventing a bit of fiction. I was watching this with the bf (boyfriend, not best friend) and he said, quote, "I kinda wanna go to women's prison." And truth be told, now you, me and all who want can go to women's prison with "Orange is the New Black." Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Amazing show, It is funny and can also be serious and emotional. The characters are very interesting and make you want to learn more about them, Waaattcchh itttt. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for the next season. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Awesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidays let me have enough time to enjoy it calmly and i couldn't be more happy. It was a wonderful surprise. All actors/actresses performed greatly and each episode was watched with a true and sincere attention and the desire to watch the episode after that just watched constantly grew up with the evolving of the series. I hope the 2nd season will be so enjoyable to watch.
    Good work Netflix; finally.
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    I'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even a transgender actress) made up of many different races and ages. It uses the same structure as LOST (one character's backstory per episode) but the similarities with that show end there. It's hilarious, bold, scathing, and just FUN to watch (I think some of the critics are overlooking that). If you're like me and couldn't stand Weeds, don't worry--this is MUCH better than that show. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    How do you get views on your tv show when there is no depth? Sex scenes! yay! Hmmm but thats not quite enough.... what is a very taboo subject lately? something that could draw in some more views..... Lesbians! yes! its revolutionary! That way the people that watch this show are either horny dudes or lesbian women. I think we have a hit series on our hands... Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).