Orange is the New Black : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Orange is the New Black Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 764 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 110
  2. Negative: 12 out of 110
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    I'm truly hooked on Orange Is The New Black one of the reasons I watch it because it has my favorite actress Kate Mulgrew in it as Red, thisI'm truly hooked on Orange Is The New Black one of the reasons I watch it because it has my favorite actress Kate Mulgrew in it as Red, this show is also highly entertaining and over the top, the stories are amazing and this show is completely original and addicting.

    But OITNB is too sexual, is there any point to it? It doesn't add to the story or anything and rather pointless. Also I really hate Jason Biggs (Larry) both the actor and the character, bother are so annoying I cringe whenever he comes on, he's a terrible actor and has a baby face need I say more? He's definitely not acting material.

    But otherwise I highly recommend OITNB.
    Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it toI don't write many reviews for this site, but I just wanted to add my two cents: this show is pretty spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone that likes any or all of Weeds, Dexter, Damages, or Breaking Bad due to the show's mix of dark humor and drama. It sheds light on some issues you don't see commonly covered, and the acting among the entire cast is incredible.... which is a very rare thing to find! Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of theI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for theI did not expect much from the show but it turned out to be one Hilarious Show. Netflix hit the bulls eye with this one. I can't wait for the next season. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Orange is the New Black...when I first heard the copious amounts of praise i thought it was the same old with Mad Men, Breaking Bad and HouseOrange is the New Black...when I first heard the copious amounts of praise i thought it was the same old with Mad Men, Breaking Bad and House of Cards (all amazing shows) For some inexplicable reason, I thought OITNB would be boring; where the hell did I get that idea from?
    Piper Chapman, the character is an educated woman who is convicted of a crime that happened more than a decade ago; she says goodbye to her family and friends and enters prison which is the equivalent of Mean Girls except in jail. It's fun, never bores you, and the characters are crazy (they should be) It's easy to binge watch the whole season in a day, and i was shocked to find myself cheering for some of the inmates rather than the guards (particularly Pornstache) A great show! A-
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2015
    7
    This season was interesting and humorous, however Piper as a main antagonist gets plain annoying after the first few episodes. Its only in theThis season was interesting and humorous, however Piper as a main antagonist gets plain annoying after the first few episodes. Its only in the last five minutes of the finale did I finally regain my interest. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2014
    0
    Humor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn'tHumor is kind of subjective thing, but I don't see how this show is funny. The characters are unrealistic and uninteresting, and it didn't take me long before I decided I really didn't care what happened to any of them (ie. first episode). And though some people are calling the show heartwarming, to me it just seemed as trite and shallow as a dollar store greeting card. Ultimately Orange is the New Black is just another empty drama aimed at women, and seems to be the female counterpart of a mindless action flick. Zero out of ten. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows

    Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: May 11, 2016
    Find a guide to the most notable shows debuting this summer, including promising newcomers like Preacher and The Night Of and the returns of Mr. Robot, You're the Worst, Orange Is the New Black, and more.
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  4. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  6. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  7. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  8. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).