Orange is the New Black : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 631 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) is sent to prison after being caught with a suitcase of a drug dealer's money in this drama based on the memoir by Piper Kerman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    In Jenji Kohan’s magnificent and thoroughly engrossing new series, Orange Is the New Black, prison is still the pits. But it is also filled with the entire range of human emotion and stories, all of which are brought vividly to life in a world where a stick of gum could ignite either a romance or a death threat.
  2. Orange is teeming with humor, heart and poignancy--all the elements needed to qualify it as one of the summer's must-see shows.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    90
    Kohen, basing her series on Piper Kerman's memoir, immediately gives us characters worth watching.... Orange is the New Black is TV that'll have you talking for days.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    80
    The show becomes more engrossing as is spins out from her story, fleshing out the inmates, their backstories, and their alliances. You may come for the culture-clash cringe-comedy; it’s the real human stories that will have you captivated.
  5. Reviewed by: Sohrab Ahmari
    Jul 16, 2013
    80
    The performances by the likes of Mr. Biggs, Ms. Mulgrew and, especially, Ms. Schilling are so convincing, and the dialogue so sharp, that none of this feels like prurience for its own sake.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Wolfson
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    While it's not apparent that the show's personalities add up to anything more than themselves at first, they ultimately prove to be compelling studies of people trying to work through glaring mistakes and obvious limitations to fashion some sort of livable present.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 8, 2013
    25
    An irritating comedy-drama. [15 Jul 2013]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 105
  2. Negative: 11 out of 105
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Great writing, amazing cast, intricate and compelling storytelling, Netflix has brought us one of the better shows of the year. DefinitelyGreat writing, amazing cast, intricate and compelling storytelling, Netflix has brought us one of the better shows of the year. Definitely can't wait to see what the next season dishes out. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    At the beginning, I was a little bit unsure if I wanted to watch this TV show because some of my friends told me "yeah but sometimes it is aAt the beginning, I was a little bit unsure if I wanted to watch this TV show because some of my friends told me "yeah but sometimes it is a little bit shocking"... But I was right to watch it! I wasn't shocked at all. The characters are really touching and when one of the characters has to leave, I guess I felt like the others characters : sad. For me, it is a real clever and funny TV show. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of theI have to admit, I didn't know quite what to expect from Netflix as a show producer, but if "Orange is the New Black" is representative of the caliber of the shows they're investing in, I'm really impressed! Both the writing and the casting are excellent, and the show manages to be really funny while also telling meaningful stories about a refreshingly diverse range of engaging and three-dimensional characters My friend and I decided to check out just the first episode, but ended up watching five in a row because we were so caught up in the different storylines. It's already one of my favorite new shows, and I'm thrilled that Netflix has already ordered a second season it's nice to know that they recognize a good thing when they see it!

    Side note: I would respectfully disagree with the reviewer who said the show made prison look not as bad as it really is, because the prison in the show is a medium security prison that does not house the most violent inmates. As such, it is actually a more realistic portrayal of life a typical women's prison than what we usually see on TV, though some of the characters may be unusually quirky!
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believableThoroughly enjoyable prison series that breaks the usual character archetypes through a clever use of back story, and believable story-telling. For a series that's billed as a comedy, expect a lot more than just cheap laughs with great acting and a superb script. Netflix do it again, superb. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Awesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidaysAwesome series. I already had planned to see this series last summer but due to other events i wasn't able to see it. These winter holidays let me have enough time to enjoy it calmly and i couldn't be more happy. It was a wonderful surprise. All actors/actresses performed greatly and each episode was watched with a true and sincere attention and the desire to watch the episode after that just watched constantly grew up with the evolving of the series. I hope the 2nd season will be so enjoyable to watch.
    Good work Netflix; finally.
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    I'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even aI'm only about halfway through the first season but I'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to see a predominately female cast (and even a transgender actress) made up of many different races and ages. It uses the same structure as LOST (one character's backstory per episode) but the similarities with that show end there. It's hilarious, bold, scathing, and just FUN to watch (I think some of the critics are overlooking that). If you're like me and couldn't stand Weeds, don't worry--this is MUCH better than that show. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2015
    0
    ok so i watched season one and season 2 , but 3 seemed to have more or a spanish touch and more parts where you just wanted to cringe ,ok so i watched season one and season 2 , but 3 seemed to have more or a spanish touch and more parts where you just wanted to cringe , especially when is seems to me its either more dark or getting more male dominating women ( owen and alex in the garden shed ) i really liked this show was so glad it was back on for it to fall flat

    im sorry after 1 episode i was bored and so i gave it more tries now it just seems like men are gona domme lesbians no one got time for that and no one wants to watch it

    also with them ambushing Sophia Burset in the salon im sorry had to turn it off it made me cringe that badly

    i will not be watching this again and had so much high hopes for it ............ time to hang it up ladies

    you gave it a good shot , unfortunately it not something im planing on watching again

    hope you do well but for me its turned into a men watch this show while the lesbians out there will turn it off

    sorry this season went from great to bad to worst to never watching it again

    it made me physically cringe that badly , sorry was a brave move its not for me
    Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season

    Orange Is the New Black: Reviews for the Complete 2nd Season Image
    Published: July 23, 2014
    Netflix's Emmy-nominated Orange Is the New Black has quickly become a critical favorite. Now that they've had a chance to watch all 13 episodes, here's what reviewers are saying about the dramedy's recently released season 2.
  4. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  5. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  6. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).