Orphan Black : Season 2

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Apr 22, 2014
    70
    Individual scenes are terrific, but a few plotlines strain credulity. If it weren’t for Tatiana Maslany, the show’s star, Orphan Black would be just a likable-enough thriller, with Toronto local color--enough to recommend it to a Canadaphilic sci-fi buff like me, but maybe not to you.
  2. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Brilliantly written and photographed, it's as thrilling, exciting and groundbreaking as The X-Files was in its era.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Weird and jagged, inventive and energetic, Orphan Black is a small blessing. While Hollywood is busy cloning, this show about clones is a singular pleasure.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 18, 2014
    70
    A reasonably entertaining though not exceptional science-fiction adventure series with a wild conspiracy plot whose hook is cloning.
  5. 80
    Yes, the conspiracy is well-crafted, and yes, it's an engaging critique of society in the way that lots of cool speculative fiction tends to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Apr 18, 2014
    80
    Orphan Black can be a little overly reliant on camera tricks and loud music to sell its action but it’s undeniably addictive in its plotting, pushing viewers from one revelation to the next with breakneck speed that doesn't allow for consideration of plot holes.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 18, 2014
    90
    Beneath the twists and turns of Orphan Black's increasingly deep and vivid story lines lie the even more basic theme of revelation: How would you react if you discovered that what you had come to know as your life was based on misinformation.... From the space between wreckage and rebuilding comes much of our great literature, music and art. And now, Orphan Black.
  8. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 18, 2014
    50
    The show is fun to watch, but only because Maslany delivers such diverse and precisely defined characters worth watching.
  9. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 18, 2014
    80
    Maslany’s performance is, however, a bit like truffle fries arriving in a Happy Meal: It is much more sophisticated than everything else around it.
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 18, 2014
    70
    I'm still not sure how much I buy of the overarching conspiracy that will have Sarah on the run from more than one set of bad guys--the action in Orphan Black doesn't leave a lot of time for overthinking these things--but for those up for a serious bioethics discussion, the openings are there.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2014
    80
    Through the first four episodes of the new season, Orphan Black maintains the terrific mix introduced in season one.
  12. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 18, 2014
    80
    This could and should be the season when Orphan Black graduates from cult curiosity and is adopted by the pop culture at large as the watercooler sensation it deserves to be.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 18, 2014
    70
    Orphan Black has apparently just scraped the surface--not only with the overall narrative arc but with the depth of character development in each of the clones that Maslany plays.... [However] It is chewing so voraciously through its story lines--at such a rapid pace--that it often verges on collapse.
  14. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Apr 18, 2014
    83
    Orphan Black has much on its mind, and maybe too much going on. But it knows to play to its amazing strengths--most of which are named Maslany.
  15. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 18, 2014
    80
    It’s a complex, multilayered show, with the writing and acting chops to pull it off.
  16. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Apr 18, 2014
    75
    Even if we find ourselves a bit lost, though, as we might early on in Season 2, there are many rewards in Orphan Black that have nothing to do with its mythology.
  17. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 18, 2014
    83
    This is a good, solid show that understands its strengths and keeps playing to them in season 2.
  18. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 17, 2014
    75
    Maslany shows no signs of running down during the very challenging assignment of playing a wealth of disparate characters. But Orphan Black’s twists, turns and veers are getting increasingly harder to keep down--and impossible to swallow whole.
  19. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 17, 2014
    75
    The show can be messy and confusing--a headlong rush to who-knows- where-or-why at times. But those clones keep it grounded.
  20. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 17, 2014
    70
    The weight of expectations on this new season were great, and if this plucky show staggers a little under that weight, that's understandable. I'm fully on board for Season 2, and I have every reason to believe Orphan Black will keep evolving in the direction of perfection. Science demands it.
  21. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Apr 17, 2014
    91
    Orphan Black is better than almost any show on TV at feeling like it’s constantly building toward something, no matter how perilous and rickety its structure becomes.
  22. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 17, 2014
    88
    It remains one of TV's most compelling series, period.
  23. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 15, 2014
    100
    Early returns from season two suggest that Orphan Black will be more compelling than ever, as it becomes more confident in its ability, buoyed by the acclaim, and its laudable understanding that a good story is just that--it doesn't matter that it be a straight, familiar drama.
  24. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Apr 15, 2014
    80
    It’s an inordinately intelligent sci-fi series in which the flaws only enhance its overall underdog appeal.
  25. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 14, 2014
    100
    As good as it was last year, it's off to an even better start in its sophomore year.
  26. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 14, 2014
    100
    This cult hit deserves mainstream success in its second season, which wastes no time diving back in to the heart-pounding action.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    Great start to what looks to be a great second season. The episode right where we left off from last years finale and the clone adrenalineGreat start to what looks to be a great second season. The episode right where we left off from last years finale and the clone adrenaline doesn't end until the credits roll. Alison has to be my favorite clone and after tonights episode you will see why. Get in on the clone club and buckle up. We are headed for something big. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Orphan Black keeps getting better! So much excitement right from the off and it continues to thrill. So many twists and turns, it will keepOrphan Black keeps getting better! So much excitement right from the off and it continues to thrill. So many twists and turns, it will keep you at the edge of your seat and will make you yell at your TV for it not to end. Can't wait to see what happens every week. I love each and every one of the characters - they are full of depth and have very interesting personalities, and combined are fantastic. Tatiana continues to wow with her outstanding acting (even if I've noticed her British accent slip a few times) and I'd love to see her in even more roles! An overall brilliant show. Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    Best show and season on the plant. Thanks heaps for creating this, its absolutely brilliant. I still binge watch my life outta this. So worthBest show and season on the plant. Thanks heaps for creating this, its absolutely brilliant. I still binge watch my life outta this. So worth the time. Full Review »