• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orphan Black Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Collapse
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This show is so amazing and addictive! I haven't seen anything like this for a very long time. Main characters are great, story is great and everything is great. I'm looking forward to the second season! Great recommendation for Orphan Black! Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This review will be short, because there's not much that needs to be said. This show speaks for itself. The brilliant writing, the balance of sci-fi and realism, the wonderful direction, and most of all, Tatiana Maslany's almost unbelievable septuple-role acting...nothing on TV now compares. There's a balance between "that's impossible!" and "that's exactly what would happen!" that lets even the most staunch critic suspend disbelief. There's an investment in the characters that makes us relate to every one of them (even the psychotic, homicidal ones), and even though we know it's Tatiana in all 7 of those title roles, when watching that becomes incredibly easy to forget. If Orphan Black doesn't win an award during its lifetime, then the television industry will surely be overlooking a gem. I am, and will forever be, proud to call myself a member of the Clone Club. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    i usually wait a while before i write an opinion of a new show but i'm afraid my head is gonna' spin off sometime during the next episode and you will all miss my bits of wisdom. i don't care about plot holes. i don't care about accent mistakes. when i find that i have to tell myself to breath or when i scream at the tv for taking a commercial break, it's a keeper. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    My wife and I are so impressed by Tatiana Maslany. The pacing of the show has been great, the focus has stayed on the characters, and I'm looking forward to next season! (So far away... Spring 2014) Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Fast-paced & unflinching, it rarely misses a mark. With so much that impresses, it’s Maslany’s multi-character performances that truly shine DE
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Cheap, derivative, generic show. Massively overrated, overhyped.
    or maybe it's just me growing too used to shows like Breaking Bad, LOTR, OZ,
    Deadwood, Sopranos Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).