• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be characterTatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    The last show that came this close to week to week quality was The Sopranos. Orphan Black is by far the most creative program of this decade.The last show that came this close to week to week quality was The Sopranos. Orphan Black is by far the most creative program of this decade. Without having to be overly abrasive, overtly sexual, or stuck in a type-cast predictable performance... Tatiana Maslany proves beyond any doubt that she will be an actress worth seeing in any ROLE, at where at anytime, because...she's playing them right now!

    BBC America/ Space TV were exactly the right place for this program to launch. It's cutting edge goes to prove that 50 somethings like me can find "High Quality Entertainment" that leaves in a cloud of dust of the RETREAD crap that the majors are tossing out to us in the Repackaged mold of "New"...

    Thank you for everyone behind the scenes and in front of the camera at this AWESOME show...the twists and turns, plot complications are exactly what we were not thinking (Garbage Disposal Death...yeah I could see that in Season 2 of the Sopranos, but not in Orphan Black, but that is how great it is!)...

    I am looking forward to next year and beyond.
    Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far the best series on television, Internet, anywhere - probably the best series ever made. Outstanding on every level - writing,This is by far the best series on television, Internet, anywhere - probably the best series ever made. Outstanding on every level - writing, acting, character development - such depth. Really explores the range of the human experience through such an inventive, and fully realized premise. A great artistic achievement, and again, ridiculously under appreciated by U.S. critics (the Emmys - what a joke). Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    After watching a couple of episodes, I really like this show. It's a "supernatural" thriller, but not a "horror" show. The plot twists areAfter watching a couple of episodes, I really like this show. It's a "supernatural" thriller, but not a "horror" show. The plot twists are intriguing, and the acting is uniformly excellent. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Simply brilliant! Performances and writing. Loving this so much, can't wait for season 2!! The production where 3 clones can interact, plusSimply brilliant! Performances and writing. Loving this so much, can't wait for season 2!! The production where 3 clones can interact, plus the performance of Maslany allow us to forget it's just one person.. Definitely worth a look. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    I've discovered this series last year, and i'm not disappointed!
    Tatiana Maslany is incredible, and plays the part of the different clones
    I've discovered this series last year, and i'm not disappointed!
    Tatiana Maslany is incredible, and plays the part of the different clones very well. I also like her brother in the series Jordan Gavaris even if there are too much gay stereotypes...
    It's interesting to see how relationships evolve over time between the sisters.
    I always try to guess what is going to happen but it's sometimes twisting!
    I look forward to see the next episode!
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    The only way to watch this series is to keep in your mind that it is a kind of British farce comedy. The writers are all over the place,The only way to watch this series is to keep in your mind that it is a kind of British farce comedy. The writers are all over the place, swerving from disaster to mayhem to stupidity to comedy and back. The two leads are fine, especially Tatiana Maslany who has real dramatic and comedic talents. Direction and production are adequate, but the arrogance of the writers insults the intelligence of viewers. Crap, really. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).