Orphan Black : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Orphan Black Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 444 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be characterTatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. May 28, 2014
    10
    Seriously, one of the best shows on TV in the last 10 years. Tatanya Maslany is an absolutely incredible actress who plays so many differentSeriously, one of the best shows on TV in the last 10 years. Tatanya Maslany is an absolutely incredible actress who plays so many different roles masterfully. Plot is well constructed and interesting, it moves at a good pace that keeps the story progressing without losing the viewer. It's intelligent, but not overly complex and best of all it's a unique concept which is very rare these days. I cannot recommend this show highly enough. Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    10
    There isn't bad language, no T&A, no lurid sex, it's just high voltage, very hip and modern television. It also has great music andThere isn't bad language, no T&A, no lurid sex, it's just high voltage, very hip and modern television. It also has great music and mind-twisting story lines mixed with witty dialog. I recall ever being as captivated by a television program as Orphan Black just one time Each has very unique mannerisms, vocabularies, accents, confidence levels, etc. The personalities among the clones are vast, from the orphaned Brit Sarah, to the psycho-killer Helena. Other clones include: the repressed suburbanite Allison; the dread-locked PhD student Cosima, the drab cop Beth and still others. For a young actress (28), Ms. Maslany ranks in my estimation with acting greats such as Helen Mirren and other classically trained actors with extensive, big theater experience. It is noteworthy how the egos of the clones have been shaped by nurture (or lack thereof) more predominantly than by nature.
    So Well worth a view!
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    The stellar performance from Tatiana Maslany and its cast, brilliant writing and perfect balance of comedy, sci-fi and drama makes OrphanThe stellar performance from Tatiana Maslany and its cast, brilliant writing and perfect balance of comedy, sci-fi and drama makes Orphan Black an underrated, yet one of the best new shows of 2013 that has been overlooked by the suits of the Emmys. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I reviewed this after the pilot and gave it an 8, the show is good, they have built on the premise and Tatiana Maslany is doing a great jobI reviewed this after the pilot and gave it an 8, the show is good, they have built on the premise and Tatiana Maslany is doing a great job for such a strange character. I raised my rating to 9. I'm actually looking for this actress in some other stuff now.

    This idea was a windfall for the writers, they have so much to work with.
    Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Fast-paced & unflinching, it rarely misses a mark. With so much that impresses, it’s Maslany’s multi-character performances that truly shine DE
  7. May 3, 2015
    0
    A typical example of the 'new standard' which conflates artistic merit with discussion about 'social issues'. The issues discussed areA typical example of the 'new standard' which conflates artistic merit with discussion about 'social issues'. The issues discussed are completely one sided radical feminist ones. The straight male characters are portrayed as one dimensional wallflowers or incompetent buffoons while women are portrayed as strong, independent leaders with complex lives and issues. I have no problem with feminist TV shows (see my review of Masters of Sex season 2), just completely unbalanced debates which shove a political agenda down everyone's throats like this one.

    The plot is transparent and is clearly being used as a vehicle to drive what should have stayed a (poorly conceived and unbalanced) gender studies essay. To anyone who is not already a radical feminist - don't bother with this show. It is preaching to the converted. To anyone who still believes that exploring social issues does not enhance a work's artistic merit - this is a waste of time as it is all that it does.

    To those who I haven't convinced - take for example relatively undisputed works full of artistic merit - William Shakespeare's plays, Rembrandt's paintings, JS Bach's music - conducting a feminist analysis of these may tell you an awful lot about women's roles and status 500 years ago. But it will tell you nothing about how beautiful the works are as pieces of art.

    In conclusion, this TV show only derives appeal to a limited (and rather already brainwashed) audience for reasons only to do with discussion of social issues. As I do not award points for that (and if I did, I wouldn't award many as they are badly discussed), and this show has no other artistic redeeming qualities, I award it zero score.
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).