• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orphan Black Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This show is so amazing and addictive! I haven't seen anything like this for a very long time. Main characters are great, story is great and everything is great. I'm looking forward to the second season! Great recommendation for Orphan Black! Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This is a phenomenal show. It has a fascinating sci fi premise about clones, secret organizations, and so on and so forth, and the acting and writing is really good. I can't praise Tatiana Maslany enough as all the characters she plays. I have three episodes left to watch in the first season, and I am already pumped for the next season. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    i usually wait a while before i write an opinion of a new show but i'm afraid my head is gonna' spin off sometime during the next episode and you will all miss my bits of wisdom. i don't care about plot holes. i don't care about accent mistakes. when i find that i have to tell myself to breath or when i scream at the tv for taking a commercial break, it's a keeper. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    I didn't know anything about the show when I first started watching it. I had seen a lot about it online but, I was completely in dark. I usually don't like 10 episode shows. I feel they are too short and they don't allow audiences to fully connect with the characters, but, needless to say this is not one of them. The show is gripping, and very interesting. It is very smart and well thought out.
    Tatiana Maslany who is the main actress plays multiple roles is the show, and does a fantastic job. As an audience you never doubt her performance and the uniqueness she brings to each character.
    If you have not seen the show just do it. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Orphan Black has been a great watching experience. I watched the entire first season just in 3 days. I want to praise, of course, Tatiana Maslany performance. She has done an amazing job playing all those different characters; I'm really amazed. To sum up: Orphan Black is a must see tv show! Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Cheap, derivative, generic show. Massively overrated, overhyped.
    or maybe it's just me growing too used to shows like Breaking Bad, LOTR, OZ,
    Deadwood, Sopranos Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).