• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Orphan Black Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This show is so amazing and addictive! I haven't seen anything like this for a very long time. Main characters are great, story is great and everything is great. I'm looking forward to the second season! Great recommendation for Orphan Black! Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Most sci-fi writers seem to view their material as existing on some plane that doesn't appear in the viewer's reality. That is why so much of sci-fi is dismissed by the masses. They can't identify with it. That is why I was very pleasantly surprised to see the ORPHAN BLACK writers focus more on elements that ground the characters in reality as opposed to hitting us over the head with the weirder stuff.

    Sure, there is weird stuff in this show. Hell, there is some really weird stuff in this show. But because we actually care about the characters and because every performance is so solid, we believe in the world even when things get goofy. Great story telling makes suspension of disbelief easier. Great performances along with great story telling make all problem areas disappear. You are just along for the ride and willing to go wherever the writers steer the show.

    And then, obviously, there is Tatiana Maslany. If nothing anyone has said about the fantastic story telling moves you to check this show out, do it for the love of talent. She has so much of it.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    i usually wait a while before i write an opinion of a new show but i'm afraid my head is gonna' spin off sometime during the next episode and you will all miss my bits of wisdom. i don't care about plot holes. i don't care about accent mistakes. when i find that i have to tell myself to breath or when i scream at the tv for taking a commercial break, it's a keeper. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Orphan Black has been a great watching experience. I watched the entire first season just in 3 days. I want to praise, of course, Tatiana Maslany performance. She has done an amazing job playing all those different characters; I'm really amazed. To sum up: Orphan Black is a must see tv show! Collapse
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    My wife and I are so impressed by Tatiana Maslany. The pacing of the show has been great, the focus has stayed on the characters, and I'm looking forward to next season! (So far away... Spring 2014) Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    The only way to watch this series is to keep in your mind that it is a kind of British farce comedy. The writers are all over the place, swerving from disaster to mayhem to stupidity to comedy and back. The two leads are fine, especially Tatiana Maslany who has real dramatic and comedic talents. Direction and production are adequate, but the arrogance of the writers insults the intelligence of viewers. Crap, really. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).