Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Orphan Black Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Orphan Black
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 64
  2. Negative: 8 out of 64
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be characterTatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. May 31, 2015
    10
    Tatiana Maslany is awesome! She captures the nuances of the identical sisters brilliantly. And moreover she portrays the subtle differenceTatiana Maslany is awesome! She captures the nuances of the identical sisters brilliantly. And moreover she portrays the subtle difference when one sister is imitating another. The story takes amazing twists and turns so you're never sure what's going to happen next. Sometimes you're not sure what just happened until it becomes clear later in the episode or in the next episodes. A welcome contrast to most TV where you can see what's coming a mile away. This show is up there with the best TV ever. Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    10
    There isn't bad language, no T&A, no lurid sex, it's just high voltage, very hip and modern television. It also has great music andThere isn't bad language, no T&A, no lurid sex, it's just high voltage, very hip and modern television. It also has great music and mind-twisting story lines mixed with witty dialog. I recall ever being as captivated by a television program as Orphan Black just one time Each has very unique mannerisms, vocabularies, accents, confidence levels, etc. The personalities among the clones are vast, from the orphaned Brit Sarah, to the psycho-killer Helena. Other clones include: the repressed suburbanite Allison; the dread-locked PhD student Cosima, the drab cop Beth and still others. For a young actress (28), Ms. Maslany ranks in my estimation with acting greats such as Helen Mirren and other classically trained actors with extensive, big theater experience. It is noteworthy how the egos of the clones have been shaped by nurture (or lack thereof) more predominantly than by nature.
    So Well worth a view!
    Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    A British Punk Rocker, a Suburban house mom, a Scientist, a self mutilated murderer and other characters played by one woman, the amazingA British Punk Rocker, a Suburban house mom, a Scientist, a self mutilated murderer and other characters played by one woman, the amazing Tatiana Maslany. For a science fiction series this show is excellent and very entertaining, what I enjoy most about the show is Tatiana and all the cloned characters she plays, it blows my mind how talented she is. I am looking forward to season 2 which is starting tonight and cant wait to see what the writers have in store for Orphan Black. I have to rate this show at a nine because of all the amazing characters Tatiana plays. If you have not watched this show you're definitely missing out, watch at least one episode and I guarantee it will leave you wanting more. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2016
    9
    Well written, well acted, brilliant and absorbing Sci-Fi-Drama-Thriller series out of Canada made for the BBC. Kudos to Tatiana Maslany forWell written, well acted, brilliant and absorbing Sci-Fi-Drama-Thriller series out of Canada made for the BBC. Kudos to Tatiana Maslany for her spectacular chameleon-like qualities as lead actress playing multiple characters and the special effects/ editing crew for making it look all so believable. I have waited years to see such a smart, cutting edge, earth- based near future sci-fi series like this which is not only science based but full of moral and ethical arguments. As a plus we get good cops, bad guys you love to hate..secret societies, body hackers, evil geniuses , blonde assassins and a really cute kid! Perfect for binge- watching on Netflix. Expand
  6. BKM
    Aug 19, 2013
    7
    I can't figure out if Orphan Black is science-fiction, satire, thriller, drama, comedy or some bizarre gumbo of all the aforementioned genres.I can't figure out if Orphan Black is science-fiction, satire, thriller, drama, comedy or some bizarre gumbo of all the aforementioned genres. Here's what I do know: Orphan Black is a lightning paced series that barely gives you time to think about how ridiculous the whole thing is. It may not be built for the long haul, but for the time being it's a blast. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2017
    0
    As a gay man i find the homo sex scenes offensive. This show is representing gays in a negative way and it should be cancelled. Dont wasteAs a gay man i find the homo sex scenes offensive. This show is representing gays in a negative way and it should be cancelled. Dont waste your time watching. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer

    21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 9, 2017
    Get details on the top new and returning shows debuting this summer, including the returns of Twin Peaks and Game of Thrones.
  2. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).