Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 364 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sarah (Tatiana Maslany), a British orphan now living in America, witnesses the suicide of a woman named Beth, who looks exactly like her. Assuming Beth's identity brings Sarah a new apartment, a nice boyfriend, and trouble that includes a deadly conspiracy.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Slowly, a smartly constructed epic is taking shape.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    It is, flat out, one of the most intriguingly entertaining new series of the year, and it’s so much more than pure entertainment. For a sci-fi series, there’s some real heft to it.
  3. 80
    [A] gritty, visceral, and emotionally engaging thriller.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    An intriguing new series.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Orphan Black has the same plain club soda flavor you get in most cable action dramas now, but I have to say that I’m enjoying some of its fizz.
  6. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Mar 29, 2013
    70
    The beginnings of answers do appear by the end of the episode, and they are definitely compelling enough to encourage continued viewing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Other than enjoying Maslany in multiple characters, wigs and accents, there’s nothing so distinctive about the plot as to provide an incentive to hang around long enough to sort out all the gory details regarding who might want to eliminate them.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be characterTatiana Maslany dazzles. Good mix of suspense, humor, and heart. Definitely going to stick with it as I'm curious how much will be character vs conspiracy. Was impressed and entertained. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    Best show I've seen in a long time. It takes a couple of episodes to get going, but the payoff is enormous. the themes are broad andBest show I've seen in a long time. It takes a couple of episodes to get going, but the payoff is enormous. the themes are broad and controversial. We as a society have no idea what is happening in the background of our lives. This is a taste. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far the best series on television, Internet, anywhere - probably the best series ever made. Outstanding on every level - writing,This is by far the best series on television, Internet, anywhere - probably the best series ever made. Outstanding on every level - writing, acting, character development - such depth. Really explores the range of the human experience through such an inventive, and fully realized premise. A great artistic achievement, and again, ridiculously under appreciated by U.S. critics (the Emmys - what a joke). Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Tatiana Maslany is unreal. The show starts off slow, but, by the third episode you will be hooked. This is one of the best shows i have everTatiana Maslany is unreal. The show starts off slow, but, by the third episode you will be hooked. This is one of the best shows i have ever seen. I cannot wait for next season. Maslany should be a lock for the Emmy. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2015
    9
    Brilliant show with fantastic Tatiana Maslany. Waiting for new season now! Alison, Cosima, Sarah, Helena, Rachel, Paul, Felix, Kira and CalBrilliant show with fantastic Tatiana Maslany. Waiting for new season now! Alison, Cosima, Sarah, Helena, Rachel, Paul, Felix, Kira and Cal are all coming back. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Orphan Black has been a great watching experience. I watched the entire first season just in 3 days. I want to praise, of course, TatianaOrphan Black has been a great watching experience. I watched the entire first season just in 3 days. I want to praise, of course, Tatiana Maslany performance. She has done an amazing job playing all those different characters; I'm really amazed. To sum up: Orphan Black is a must see tv show! Expand
  7. May 3, 2015
    0
    A typical example of the 'new standard' which conflates artistic merit with discussion about 'social issues'. The issues discussed areA typical example of the 'new standard' which conflates artistic merit with discussion about 'social issues'. The issues discussed are completely one sided radical feminist ones. The straight male characters are portrayed as one dimensional wallflowers or incompetent buffoons while women are portrayed as strong, independent leaders with complex lives and issues. I have no problem with feminist TV shows (see my review of Masters of Sex season 2), just completely unbalanced debates which shove a political agenda down everyone's throats like this one.

    The plot is transparent and is clearly being used as a vehicle to drive what should have stayed a (poorly conceived and unbalanced) gender studies essay. To anyone who is not already a radical feminist - don't bother with this show. It is preaching to the converted. To anyone who still believes that exploring social issues does not enhance a work's artistic merit - this is a waste of time as it is all that it does.

    To those who I haven't convinced - take for example relatively undisputed works full of artistic merit - William Shakespeare's plays, Rembrandt's paintings, JS Bach's music - conducting a feminist analysis of these may tell you an awful lot about women's roles and status 500 years ago. But it will tell you nothing about how beautiful the works are as pieces of art.

    In conclusion, this TV show only derives appeal to a limited (and rather already brainwashed) audience for reasons only to do with discussion of social issues. As I do not award points for that (and if I did, I wouldn't award many as they are badly discussed), and this show has no other artistic redeeming qualities, I award it zero score.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).