Outcasts Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is 2040, and humans have settled on a planet they named Carpathia. Led by President Richard Tate, the colony is now a decade in the making and is growing, but danger still lurks inside and outside.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 16, 2011
    60
    The show has some ponderous moments and its characters are sometimes guilty of not asking and answering direct questions that would give them valuable information. But eight episodes isn't too much of a commitment, and Outcasts at least has thematic and character-driven ambitions, as well as a gorgeously weird setting.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 13, 2011
    50
    Joining the story a decade into the colonists' stay does provide series creator Ben Richards ("MI:5") an opportunity to gradually putty in the backstory, but other than Tate--thanks mostly to Cunningham's commanding presence--it's difficult to determine who we should care about here, beyond the littler matter of the human race's collective survival.
  3. Reviewed by: Brent McKnight
    Jun 20, 2011
    50
    At times Outcasts degenerates into space melodrama, complete with teens regularly pissed off at their parents. The human community works through corruption, lust for power, and betrayal, but also shows love, dedication, and sacrifice.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    Despite strong production values and an intriguing premise, Outcasts lumbers along, perhaps done in by trying to tackle too many themes.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 20, 2011
    40
    These folks are misfit colonists on a planet that, as they keep telling us, they have only begun to understand; surely they have something better to do all day than chat about all the things that have happened, could happen and should happen. I know I do.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 16, 2011
    30
    With none of the flair or self-deprecating wit that have defined other British sci-fi imports ("Torchwood," "Primeval"), Outcasts strands a number of talented performers, including Mr. Bamber, Eric Mabius and Liam Cunningham, on a world of wooden dialogue and interplanetary cliches.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 17, 2011
    30
    Talky and grim, and more than a little bland, Outcasts almost entirely lacks humor, wonder and engaging characters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    Yet another British show that has a good idea to it. It kinda seems like a British Battlestar Galatica or that is why i remember i keptYet another British show that has a good idea to it. It kinda seems like a British Battlestar Galatica or that is why i remember i kept saying as i watched it.. This might be worth a watch if you like a good twist to Science Fiction on TV. It is not something I have seen done before which I liked. Collapse
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would really like for this show to succeed, but at the moment the plot lines and predicaments of the main characters don't seem to be that compelling. Disappointing to see Jaime Bamber exit stage right in the pilot, but at least it might free him up to do a "Battlestar Galactica" sequel, which is all I really want anyway. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    3
    Well crafted sci-fi can make for fantastic television; Battlestar Galactica for instance (the first two seasons in particular) brilliantlyWell crafted sci-fi can make for fantastic television; Battlestar Galactica for instance (the first two seasons in particular) brilliantly combined real human drama with epic space battles. Unfortunately it seems as though the creators of Outcasts have seen Battlestar Galactica and tried to recreate it without the budget or talent to do so.

    Outcast's plot, man-kind ruins Earth and looks for a new home, has been seen many time before both on the small screen and in cinema but could be forgiven if it weren't for the plethora of other faults. With few exceptions the acting is dreadful throughout, although to be fair to those involved much of the problems lie with the script. Combining clich├ęd sci-fi nonsense with dialogue as wooden as anything else seen on TV, prime time or otherwise, Outcasts is an embarrassment to BBC drama. The fact that the show lost its prime-time slot just five episodes into its eight episode run before being cancelled altogether speaks volumes for just how poor it was.
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    I wanted very much to like this show, but the level of agnst, and depressing scripts is just too much.
    There is no escape from the emotional
    I wanted very much to like this show, but the level of agnst, and depressing scripts is just too much.
    There is no escape from the emotional draining story line.
    There never is a moment in the series, that you can feel good about, or makes you glad you are watching.
    The show basically pisses you off every few mnutes with no redemption or hope.
    It could have been great, but it never breaks free of its constant depressing, angst ridden story lines.
    Too many black hats, no chance to rest, I just cant watch it anymore.
    Jesus, its depressing.
    Make the great recession look like fun.
    Give the audience a break.
    Most of the characters should have been killed off.
    Yeech.
    Expand