• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Parade's End Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: During World War I, Christopher Tietjens (Benedict Cumberbatch) struggles with decorum, duty, and his feelings for his socialite wife Sylvia Satterthwaite (Rebecca Hall), who may not be carrying his child and suffragette Valentine Wannop (Adelaide Clemens) in this five-part miniseries adaption of Ford Madox Ford's novels. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 22, 2013
    100
    Moment after moment the drama deepens, the rich complexity of Ford's characters make themselves felt in all their strangeness and variety.
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Vilkomerson
    Feb 22, 2013
    91
    You'll be pining for more once it's over. [1 Mar 2013, p.62]
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 26, 2013
    90
    The unfolding of the Parade’s End narrative has been directed (by Susanna White) and written to challenge--sometimes too much so. While you always understand the connections among the characters on “Downton,” you have to piece them together yourself in Parade’s End.... It’s the kind of demanding storytelling that differentiates “The Wire” from most other crime series.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 22, 2013
    70
    Stoppard's storytelling structure has an odd rhythm to it, and White's direction can be both majestically beautiful and transitionally jarring. But combined, their choices allow Parade's End to achieve an exquisiteness, a sense of high art.
  5. Reviewed by: Ross Langager
    Feb 26, 2013
    70
    Despite character-based faults and multiple narrative cul-de-sacs, [Parade’s End] does come around to revealing the consequences of maintaining public status and reputation at the cost of personal realization.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 26, 2013
    60
    Sometimes unwieldy, sometimes beautiful, Parade’s End is--like the turbulent new order it ushers in--a bit of a mess, with no easily identifiable good guys. This miniseries doesn’t tell you how to feel, and it’s not exactly bursting with charming, loveable characters. But there’s a poignance to its story of people realizing their orderly parade is breaking up all around them.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 20, 2013
    50
    Ultimately, though, the story boils down to its central love triangle, with the sides stretching out a little too long as viewers wait for Tietjens to return home and choose whether to pursue happiness and risk public humiliation, or remain in his shattered and unhappy marriage.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    I don't like watching series or movies based on the wars but I watched this because of Benedict Cumberbatch and I have fallen in love with this series. I have not read the novels or have any idea about the writer but if the books are even half as good as the TV adaptation, they must be a must- read. Christopher Teijens is a brilliant, very committed and decent gentleman. He has a wife who cheats on him and he is love with a girl. At the backdrop is the world war 1. If you are looking for a story, there is not much of it but the true star of the show is the direction, cinematography, amazingly poetic dialogues and unblemished acting by the whole cast. The music compliments the settings and the backdrop very well. Benedict Cumberbatch has shown the world how talented he is. Flawless acting, deep emotions and superb voice modulations. Rebecca Hall and Adelaide Clemens have made the characters of Sylvia and valentine unforgettable.

    Don't watch this if you are a fan of fast paced action. This is for patient, connoisseurs of literature and romantics. Watch it for intelligent viewership.
    Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    In spite of ravishing cinematography, beautiful dialog, and impeccable acting, this series will most likely have limited appeal in the US because of subtle character development and deliberative pace. For those such as myself who found Downton Abbey' a yawning bore, this series will represent a lush alternative. For the mainstream masses, the opposite will be true. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This is an extremely ambitious, loyal and high-end adaptation of Ford Madox Ford's tetralogy. In essence, it's about an old fashioned, eccentric—part Don Quixote, part John Keats—and gifted aristocrat who is self-destructively and at times comically out of his time. His moral code is constantly challenged and tested by those around him, which creates ample conflict and drama for us to feast on. Benedict Cumberbatch, Rebecca Hall and Adelaide Clemens' performances are exceptionally magnetic. Keep in mind, the miniseries plays like a literary novel in its narrative pace and character development; definitely not suited for the mass culture consumers. Collapse
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Beautiful, complex and engaging. Unlike another reviewer, I was captivated until the WWII scenes hit, where I felt like the action was slowed way down and I just wanted to get back to the "real story" of the relationships of the central characters. Overall, a great show though, perfectly cast, smart and passionate. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    This is something like Downtown Abbey, as nearly every reviewer mentions. I'd say it has less guilty-pleasure fun, and more smarrts and art to it. There are a few filmmaking devices that we're not generally accustomed to seeing on television that are pretty refreshing.
    Another way of contrasting it with Downton, as I've noticed from the user reviews for and against, is that this isn't the kind of story where one should necessarily choose a character to sympathize with. In Downton there are 15 characters and enough soap opera to go around. There it's hard not to pick a character to love or hate. Parade's End is more of a well-rendered look at complex characters from a particular time and place. You need not like Downton to enjoy Parade's End.
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    3
    Booooooooring. Although pretty to look at I couldn't care less about these very annoying people. I thought maybe once he went off to WWI I might see some real depth to character...well that lasted for two minutes. The only bright spot is Stephen Graham who can go from being Al Capone to a pathetic Scotsman, fun to watch which Parade's end isn't. Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    2
    In general i'm a period serial fan, but this imo, is shockingly poor, terrible acting, cumberpatch, lol lives up to his name cold and boring the plot is just lacking, seems to be relying on the 'in house' anglophile vote from our distant cousins. sad really, relying on the gullible. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews