• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 2, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Parenthood   Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the 1989 film of the same name, 'Parenthood' is an hour long comedy-drama produced by Jason Katims and Ron Howard. The show addresses the modern challenges of raising kids in this post-technological world, addressing issues that affect both kids and parents.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. The continued ooey-gooey goodness of TV's best family drama is particularly satisfying tonight, spotlighting story lines from the underutilized Joel (Sam Jaeger) and the oddly interesting Crosby (Dax Shepard).
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 16, 2011
    80
    This well-constructed drama is something to treasure on the TV schedule--it's a show that respects our everyday experiences and emotions and yet also manages to entertain.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best drama on TV, bar none! I have never seen an episode that is less that first rate.
    The dramatic situations are written
    This is the best drama on TV, bar none! I have never seen an episode that is less that first rate.
    The dramatic situations are written extreemly well which makes it easy to empathize with the characters.
    Expand
  2. May 7, 2011
    10
    Parenthood is a fantastic family show. The entire cast is amazing and the stories are really relatable. You just want the Bravermans to beParenthood is a fantastic family show. The entire cast is amazing and the stories are really relatable. You just want the Bravermans to be happy! Watched and love this show!! Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    The storyline's need to be boosted, but Monica Potter gives it a huge boost. Amazing. I really did fall in love with the show, along with halfThe storyline's need to be boosted, but Monica Potter gives it a huge boost. Amazing. I really did fall in love with the show, along with half the world. The whole cast, including of-course Potter, are amazing actors, byt again, the storyline's need to be improved! Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This show is not telling people how to raise their kids, this is an amazing show and can go from deep to hilarious, it has a very wide range.This show is not telling people how to raise their kids, this is an amazing show and can go from deep to hilarious, it has a very wide range. A masterpiece is what this show is. Monica Potter, Peter Krause, Lauren Graham and Dax Shepard are amazing and I really think that other networks will have to boost their game, because here comes Parenthood! Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Love it, so enjoyable and really funny, the actors are amazing and the show gives you a warm fuzzy feeling, and at times can really make youLove it, so enjoyable and really funny, the actors are amazing and the show gives you a warm fuzzy feeling, and at times can really make you feel for the characters, only a. few shows can do that.....and this is one. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2010
    4
    What is wrong with Parenthood this season? New writers? Most scenes this season involve conflict and are rather chaotic. And the ending ofWhat is wrong with Parenthood this season? New writers? Most scenes this season involve conflict and are rather chaotic. And the ending of episode 1 seemed so contrived and unrealistic. Where is the warmth and realism of last season? Parenthood season 1 was my favorite TV show. My girlfriend and I looked forward to it each week. Not this season. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.