• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Parks and Recreation Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Parks And Recreation: Entertainment 720
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Poehler and the writers have finetuned Leslie's character to be more sharp-tongued, less clueless, and more fearless.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    I will say that the show really has a handle now on Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler), who comes across as an overzealous but sympathetic bureaucrat, not a ninny. That it is doing an excellent job of finding things for its supporting characters to do, suggesting it may someday have the bench strength of a show like "The Office. "
  3. NBC did renew Parks and Recreation and, like a small miracle of second-act redemption, it comes back on Thursday as a fully realized and very funny sitcom.
  4. 75
    Overall, Parks appears to be headed in the right direction.
  5. Parks was disappointing in its first year but tonight's episode and one airing next week--with a storyline inspired by the Henry Louis Gates-cop kerfluffle--show that the program is making steady, funny progress.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    67
    There's so much to like here. Now, all P&R has to do is become consistently likable.
  7. 50
    While there is much talent associated with this show, Parks still feels pretty much like the pits, an uneasy and uneven clone that has yet to achieve a comedic purpose of its own.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. NathanS
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    This show is just great, I hated the first season, watching Leslie Gnope was torture. I don't know why it took so long to change her but This show is just great, I hated the first season, watching Leslie Gnope was torture. I don't know why it took so long to change her but she is now one of my favorite characters on TV. This show is almost equally as good as 30 rock and just short of the Office, Aziz Ansari is hilarious and the entire cast has really been upgraded this season Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I can't think of a show that ever so dramatically improved over its first season. Its second season was not only consistently hilarious, butI can't think of a show that ever so dramatically improved over its first season. Its second season was not only consistently hilarious, but was probably the most consistently funny show on all of television last year. The entire ensemble is fantastic, but Nick Offerman steals every scene he is in and was robbed of an Emmy nomination. "The Hunting Trip" was easily my favorite episode of the season, but all in all the season was firing on all cylinders. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely love this show. It is always so funny and I love the cast. Amy Poehler is so cute and hilarious. The show is always fun and isAbsolutely love this show. It is always so funny and I love the cast. Amy Poehler is so cute and hilarious. The show is always fun and is great on the NBC Thursday night lineup. I hope we continue to see this show on for along time to come. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2015
    9
    After it got its full-season pick-up, it could learn from season 1 and strike the right tone with the comedy and overall style. There's soAfter it got its full-season pick-up, it could learn from season 1 and strike the right tone with the comedy and overall style. There's so much charm to the characters as this unfolds too especially Leslie and Ron. I'm not so keen on Tom as a character but minor quibble. Love it overall Expand
  5. MartyS
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Wow! How this show has definitely impred since season 1. And it keeps getting better as the comedy tightens and the characters get more Wow! How this show has definitely impred since season 1. And it keeps getting better as the comedy tightens and the characters get more developed. It's a must watch of the season. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2016
    8
    ‘Parks and Recreation’ continues to impress – and season 2 shines with its weird personalities, embarrassing characters and hilarious moments.‘Parks and Recreation’ continues to impress – and season 2 shines with its weird personalities, embarrassing characters and hilarious moments. Characters are finally given more time to develop and show their true self and less zombie-alike like what we saw in S01. We finally get to know them, and it really is a ride of fun! The show is full of positivity, not only due to the awesome characters but also due to the clever story! Sure it’s not always funny nor got a very interesting plot – but it’s the beloved characters that counts!

    Overall personal rating for each episode: 73.8/100

    Personal rating: 80/100
    Critical rating: 80/100
    Expand
  7. KF
    Sep 26, 2009
    2
    If the critics think this show is funny and deserves your attention for 30 minutes each week then they have never sat through an entire If the critics think this show is funny and deserves your attention for 30 minutes each week then they have never sat through an entire episode. The show is terrible. Period. Whoever conceived the bit about playing an "air shovel" should be fired immediately. It's a shame because Amy Poehler can be very funny, just not in this not-funny disaster. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale

    Episode Review: Parks and Recreation Series Finale Image
    Published: February 25, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about last night's series finale for NBC's Parks & Recreation.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  3. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  4. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.